Joseph Robert Schmitz’s Reviews

Joseph Robert Schmitz

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Wonderful attorney

    Posted by September, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It's hard to find an attorney that is both qualified and caring. I've had the good fortune to use Joe Schmitz and found him to have both of those qualities. His hard work and dedication helped make a difficult case much easier. I truly appreciate everything that he has done for me and couldn't have asked for a better attorney.

  2. Excellent

    Posted by Tonya, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe was very knowledgeable about our case and he also helped us tremendously by staying in the office late one evening to help us get our documents completed. Thanks so much!!

  3. Complete & Thorough

    Posted by Katie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joe Schmitz was an excellent attorney, aiding me in a custody dispute. Joe was knowledgable of the custody laws and the court systems in my area. He was forward with his assessment and didn't leave me in the dark about what was what and what could and couldn't be done. Joe took the time to sit and speak with me, answering all my questions, addressing my concerns and making certain I understood every aspect. All in all, Joe handled my dispute the best out of three lawyers I had hired with him being the third and final and I would go back to Joe.

  4. A cut above the rest

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am very pleased with the end results of my case. Joe listened to my concerns and showed compassion. Anything that I didn't want as part of my separation agreement he made suggestions and gave me information that ultimately would be in my best interest. Being a newly single mom I made Joe very aware of my financial situation to which he was understanding and very conscious of my concerns. He was very kind and helped me tremendously. I will certainly do business with Hartsoe and Associates again when I do my Will.

  5. Strongly recommend this firm.

    Posted by Cindy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.

    Joe Schmitz was extremely knowledgeable about my case. I could not have been happier with the services this firm has provided.

  6. highly recommended

    Posted by Braydon, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Joe Schmitz is someone I would highly recommend. He is knowledgeable and honest. He always made time to respond to any question/concern and made sure my case was a priority.

  7. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I loved the attention and knowledge provided by the staff. They made me feel comfortable with the entire process.

  8. Extremely professional

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.

    Joe Schmitz was informative and very knowledgeable about our particular case. He handled everything very professional and we would recommend him to others.

  9. Review of sewrvices from Joe Schmitz and Hartsoe and Associates

    Posted by Greg,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Schmitz.

    Joe and his team were trusting from the first time I met them. When I had questions Joe gave me straight, plain spoken answers. I chose Hartsoe their Christain based background. I wanted things to be fair. When I asked early on could you still play in the court system as tough as needed even though the Christian label is there they repsonded with a confirming yes. Joe was great to work with. I would recommend him and his tem to anyone.

  10. Not a Specialist

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joseph Schmitz.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I cannot recommend him. I feel my case was not a priority to him and was ill prepared. He frequently got the names of the plaintiff and defendant and respective spouses confused, not to mention , long, uncomfortable pauses in his speech leaving everyone to wonder if he lost his train of thought or did not know what to say.From the moment the trial began ,I felt it was already decided, I feel he did not fight hard enough for my cause. The case was lost. Mr. Schmitz does not feel he has any room for improvement that he represented my case perfectly, even though he lost it,as we all know there is no such thing as perfection, everyone has room for improvement.
    Mr. Schmitz frequently gives spiritual advice, if you are like me, I prefer to receive such advice from my own religious leader, not the attorney I hired. I feel he is a jack of all trades a master of none. If you are looking for an aggressive attorney, he is not him.

336-725-1985