John Gerth Merna’s Reviews

John Gerth Merna

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thanks John. You're the best!!

    Posted by Kelly, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very impressed with John Merna when we first met. He was professional, but cool and casual and friendly. I immediately felt comfortable and confident that my bankruptcy would be over and done with as soon as possible and that I was doing the right thing. I already have and will continue to recommend The Merna Law Group to my friends and neighbors. I really liked how simple John made everything and I was surprised and impressed at how quickly it all happened. I expected my whole experience to be a big headache and instead I felt immediate relief as soon as I first met with John. Thanks :)

  2. Outstanding service and reliability

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    " Thank you for the patience and understanding shown through some of the most difficult times. I could not have found a better team and law firm. After trying other firms this one comes highly recommended when others said no and didn't have the time the Merna Law Group said life doesn't have to be that way let me show you why and they were right. "

  3. This Law firm is what others strive to be

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I cannot think of anything else that would be an improvement, I actually have so much confidence in the Merna Law Firm and Mr. Merna that I refer my customers from Portsmouth and Chesapeake

  4. A lawyer who makes a difference...

    Posted by Christine,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John put me totally at ease from the start. I left the office secure in the knowledge that he would win my bankruptcy case. It was resolved within a very short period of time, even though I was so busy I sent some of the paperwork in late! Thanks John for your patience!

  5. Thank you John Merna!

    Posted by Dawn, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have recommended friends and family to this firm. I didn't expect when dealing with the two legal matters that I would receive the level of service that I did.

    Considering I'm not a lawyer, (but I play one on tV haha) I was nervous going into both situations and the knowledge and friendliness of the staff really put me at ease. Thank you John Merna and team for all you've done.

  6. John Merna Law

    Posted by Mitzi,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired the firm of John Merna for some business matters. I found everyone in the office to be pleasant, friendly and very knowledgeable. My matters were handles very quickly, and professionally. I would definitely use again, and reccomend this firm to anyone that needs a professional, excellent attorney.

  7. Excellent service for bankruptcy filing

    Posted by Pamela, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Merna and his staff were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and responsive as they walked me through my bankruptcy case. I am very grateful for their commitment to me and for their high level of service.

  8. An Honorable Law Firm

    Posted by Janice, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The Merna Law Group is one of the best law firms I ever experienced. I went to them at a stressful time where I had just gone through divorce, lost my job and financial distress in the same month. John Merna was not only professional and informative, but compassionate. This is a quality that not all attorney's have. He took the time to answer all of my concerns. I never felt rushed, he assured me that know question was insignificant. I was filing bankruptcy and felt overwhelmed when I went in but so confident and assured when I left his office.

  9. Great bankruptcy attorneys, highly recommend

    Posted by Bessie C., a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used John Merna & The Merna Law Group for both a bankruptcy and negotiating a loan modification. I found their services to be excellent. They are very laid back and made me comfortable in an uncomfortable situation.

  10. Excellent, sympathetic attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Merna.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Merna took time to understand our situation and explain to us our options. Everything he said would happen did and worked out great. I would highly recommend him.

Call now for a free consultation.

800-662-8813