Scott Carl Athen’s Reviews

Scott Carl Athen

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Well prepared and experienced lawyer

    Posted by Philip, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • Scott handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Scott did an excellent job handling my case. He was very knowledgeable and experienced through the whole process. I felt comfortable knowing he was involved with my traffic citation. Although the judge agreed with my view quickly, I thought Scott was prepared to fight many key points proving my innocence if needed. It was a great experience, and would definitely recommend.

  2. Great Lawyer

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott is an excellent lawyer. He got me a JUDGMENT OF ACQUITTAL verdict on my over speeding ticket without me appearing in court.

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for the glowing review! I won’t soon forget the excitement in your voice when I called to give you the good news!

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  3. Thank you Scott

    Posted by Tyler, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott 1-6 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Scott Athen is top flight service I never consider anyone else when I find myself with a ticket. I am very confident in Scott and recommend him to my friends family and clients.

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Tyler, thanks for the kind words!

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  4. Scott Athen is great!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott was very in-tuned with my case. He already had information on my arresting officer before I even had my initial meeting with him. He is extremely knowledgeable of DUI cases and confidently guided me through each step of the process. He took my particular case to trial and got all my charges dropped. Scott is worth every penny!

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for the comments! Although you were offered what most would consider a “good” deal, we pressed on and got the result that you were looking for!

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  5. A successful vindication

    Posted by Rob, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This was a scary, expensive and frustrating experience. But Scott Athen made it informative, calm as possible with a result of all charges thrown out at the end. This occurred because Mr. Athen was knowledgable, understood what the steps are and kept me informed about each part along the way. His knowledge of the process the police utilize and his association with experts kept the pressure on the prosecution to do their proper homework and have the truth come out. At the end, I also received a thorough education to ensure this never occurs again.

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks Rob, it took more trips to the Courthouse prepared for trial than we wanted, but in the end, you were vindicated!

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  6. Great attorney and person. Would highly recommend to anyone.

    Posted by Jonathan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I've hired Scott on several occasions for the different cases I have had over the past 7 years. Anytime I have had questions or concerns, Scott has always addressed my issues immediately and kept me feeling comfortable.
    I have recommended Scott to family and friends. Anytime someone that I know needs some sort of legal assistance, I have always passed on Scott's contact info. Whether or not he is able to personally help someone with their issues, he will always point you in the right direction.
    Scott is without a doubt the first and last person I would call whenever I or someone I know is in some sort of legal assistance.
    Lastly, Scott has always explained to me the different potential outcomes that came along with my charges. Every time, I have always tried to prepare myself for the worse. Yet with Scott's knowledge, expertise, and confidence he has always done better than expected for me and the outcome of my case.

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Jonathan, thank you very much. We’ve known each other for many years, and I am glad to be able to call you a friend!

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  7. Amazing Attorney

    Posted by LT, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Scott walked me through every step of my DUI proceedings. He kept me informed and alleviated many of my fears and concerns. He is thorough in looking at every angle of the situation. He is proactive in helping his clients prepare the best defense, again considering all of the information available. He has thoroughly educated himself on multiple aspects of DUI proceedings in Maryland, from the field tests to the breath test machines. His book is a wonderful resource I highly recommend to anyone facing DUI charges, or even before it happens!

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks, LT! I’m glad we were able to get all of your charges dismissed!

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  8. Review for Scott Athen

    Posted by J.A.D, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Athen has been my one and only legal representation for my entire life. He is very knowledgeable on the state of MD traffic laws and moving violations. He represented me twice. My first case resulted in a PBJ. My second case I was found NOT GUILTY with a breath test of .23. Outside of representing me legally, Scott took the time to counsel me morally. He is very invested in his clients, and that shows from beginning to end. It is without reservation or hesitation that I would recommend Scott to anyone for legal representation.

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks, J.A.D! Your kind words mean a lot to me - I’m happy things are going so well for you!

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  9. Mike's Motorcycle Mania Case

    Posted by Michael, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Transportation matter.

    Scott represented me in traffic court on charges accumulating NINE points and fines of almost five hundred dollars. Not knowing the court system, I'm sure I could have managed to get all nine points and doubled the fines. On our initial consultation Scott didn't make any promises but assured me could help. I felt much better after talking with him. His knowledge of court systems and procedure is obvious due to the outcome of my case. The total fine and court cost was reduced to $85.50 and PBV on only two of the nine points. I could not be happier with this outcome. Thanks Scott.
    Sincerely, Mike Allen

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks, Mike - I’m glad I was able to accomplish what we set out to accomplish in your case. The PBJ, of course, keeps the citation off of your driving record, so no points, either!

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  10. Great lawyer!

    Posted by David, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Athen.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Mr. Scott Athen is a great lawyer. I had got a speed ticket and he won my case, verdict: not guilty and no fines to pay! He had kept me informed and called me just after the hearing. I highly recommend him and his service.

    1. Scott Carl Athen

      Scott Carl Athen

      Lawyer Comment:

      David, thanks for the review! I’m glad I was able to keep the 90/55 from being reported to New Jersey!

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

Contact Scott to discuss your DUI or traffic ticket

443-471-1250