Carlos Mariano Lastra’s Reviews

Carlos Mariano Lastra

Average Rating

Based on 43 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr. Lastra's vast experience made him the right choice to represent my case

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos 1-6 months ago.
    • Carlos handled my Family matter.

    Mr. Lastra and his team performed an outstanding job at representing my interests and achieving a favorable outcome in both divorce and custody matters. Mr. Lastra is extremely successful at leveraging his knowledge, experience and contacts to achieve positive results for his clients. I would highly recommend him.

  2. Call him before the other party does!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    During my lengthy divorce fighting and post-divorce entanglement with my ex-wife I have worked through several attorneys, but none of them is like Mr. Lastra. When I started to talk to him in our initial consultation I could immediately feel the difference. Mr Lastra has up-to-date knowledge to the very detail of the laws, and a clear and logical mind that he saw my problems and concerns right to the point. After meeting with Mr Lastra everything becomes clear and makes sense to me. He is that kind of lawyer that you can confidently know that he really understands your case and is trying to give you the best possible advice.
    Mr Lastra is sure expensive, you would expect that for such a fine lawyer. That is the only reason I may not hire him this time because financially it makes no sense to do so; but for major / critical cases, he could be your best bet.

  3. Peace of mind

    Posted by karen, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I came to Mr Lastra with a complicated child custody case. Mr Lastra was thorough, sensitive and very effective in solving our case in a very timely manner. What could have been a very traumatic time in our lives, Carlos Lastra finally gave our family peace of mind.

  4. You would want him in your corner

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos 6-12 months ago.
    • Carlos handled my Child Custody matter.

    I located Carlos Lastra while browsing for attorney's for my son, who is going through a custody battle. Carlos Lastra was very informative and knowledgeable. We have not retained him but met him for two hours for consult. It's a bit hard financially right now, but working on obtaining his retainer so that he can represent my son. I highly recommend him as an attorney.

  5. Superb attorney; Highly recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos more than 3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Lastra about two years ago to handle my divorce case. My divorce was an amicable one after a long marriage and my main concern was to go through the whole process with grace and dignity, and in a manner that would be least painful for me and my wife. I assume most attorneys are used to dealing with contentious divorce, and since he is the first attorney that I have ever dealt with, I was not really sure what to expect. I found him extremely knowledgeable and up to date in divorce laws, property division matters, and child custody issues. More importantly, he understood my sensitivity and desire to go through the process honorably, professionally, and in a low key manner. He was always available for consultation and communicated back promptly. He articulated my case very well in the courthouse and my divorce proceedings were successfully completed recently. Mr. Lastra is also very knowledgeable in dealing with post-divorce court orders that can be quite complicated to follow through without proper legal counsel and he has provided me with excellent advice in these matters as well. As a bonus, he and his clients are well supported by a highly professional, helpful, and very courteous office staff. Mr. Carlos Lastra is a superb attorney and I whole heartedly recommend him to anyone with divorce matters.

  6. Awesome! Glad he was on my side!

    Posted by Gene, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Lastra truly is a "super lawyer!" He successfully navigated me through the most difficult and challenging year of my life. His expert legal advice came in handy at certain phases of the process, especially when my ex blind-sided me and abruptly deserted me and moved to California. Her intent to establish residency there, and pursue lifetime alimony, was squashed by him. He and his legal team then prepared me for mediation, and if necessary, divorce court. Opposing counsel delayed the separation agreement process for seven months, much to my dismay. In the end, our divorce was settled in mediation, thanks largely to Carlos Lastra. I owe him a lot, and I would highly recommend him to clients in need.

  7. I strongly endorse Mr. Lastra

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I choose Mr. Lastra because of his reputation in being a skilled and well-respected lawyer. My divorce case was unique and he was able to offer me the best options in moving forward. Once my complaint was filed, Mr. Lastra and his assistants pretty much took care of the legal proceedings and brought a smooth closure to my case. Yes, my case did end up in a trail. Mr. Lastra’s performance before the Judge was superb. He was well prepared and organized; most importantly, he conveyed the right message and presented the judge with the best pieces of evidence in winning my case. I found Mr. Lastra’s advices realistic. Because he was transparent in communicating his roles and responsibilities, I was able to trust him in handling my case. I would definitely recommend Mr. Lastra for his expertise in Family Law and for being an eloquent trail lawyer.

  8. You Will Not Find an Attorney Finer Than Carlos Lastra

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I required the services of a top-notch lawyer for what became an ugly divorce. I had wasted $1000's on another attorney who produced zero results. After an exhaustive search, I called Carlos Lastra. Reviews suggested that in Mr. Lastra, I would find someone ethical, focused, strategic, honest, hard-working and successful—qualities I sought. I was, however, a tad skeptical he could live up to the accolades bestowed upon him. After our initial consultation, I felt confident he would meet my expectations. But over the course of working with him, I learned he was so much more than what I had hoped for.
    One review stated Mr. Lastra anticipated the opponent’s “next moves.” This was significant to me since I had failed to recognize the behavior of a spouse who’d been deceptive, clandestine, abusive, devious and spiteful. While Mr. Lastra was spot-on in predictions of action and assessment of motives, he never engaged in name-calling, pettiness or denigration.
    My former spouse was pro se, so I witnessed his interaction with Mr. Lastra, who was polite and deferential while uncompromising in the protection of his client. His respect for others was most evident in the courthouse where everyone from judges to security officers greeted him with warm, positive regard. Clearly, he has earned the respect of the court.
    Having worked with many lawyers over the years, I can easily state Mr. Lastra is among the best. His knowledge of the law is beyond reproach; his judgment sound and strategic. I could always trust him to make smart decisions. At the same time, he consistently sought my input and kept me well-informed. He listened to my concerns and opinions, taking into account what I had to say before making his recommendations. Yet, when I deferred to his judgment, I was never disappointed.
    In addition to being highly professional, Mr. Lastra proved to be a sensitive, compassionate and sympathetic advocate for my children and me. In times of distress, he provided the balance of support and conviction I needed to move confidently forward. When engaged in a “legal campaign,” I know it’s most important to achieve one’s goals. For me, however, the relationship with my attorney matters nearly as much. I wouldn't want to be represented by someone who knew every detail of the law but did not actually care about the people he was defending. In my case, protecting my two minor children was more important to me than anything in the world. Knowing that Mr. Lastra truly cared about my children’s safety, well-being and future meant more to me than successful negotiations or motions to compel.
    Legal representation is costly, no question. The issue is whether the representation is worth the cost. In this regard, Mr. Lastra was worth every penny. I am by no means wealthy. In fact, for the first time in my life, I have been unemployed for over a year. Mr. Lastra was up-front with me from the start regarding costs. He explained my “worst-case scenario”—as well as how we would avoid “going there.” He promised to be efficient with time and resources, assigning some tasks to colleagues to lower my fees. Mr. Lastra was sensitive to my financial status but never let my limited resources get in the way of his doing a first-rate job. He saved me money when possible and was agreeable to working out a financial arrangement manageable for me.
    Finally, I want to say that Mr. Lastra has a wonderful sense of humor—essential when going through a painful event. He made me laugh while expressing compassion and concern. He made me feel that “everything was going to be fine.” For my on-going legal needs, there is no doubt whom I will choose. I recommend Carlos Lastra without hesitation, for I know, from experience, that the family who retains his firm will be a happy one. And there is nothing more perfect in life than a happy family. Thank you, Mr. Lastra.
    If only we could vet prospective spouses the way we can legal services!

  9. A lawyer with a good heart and a good mind

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Carlos Lastra was highly recommended to me by a friend. I was fortunate to have a friend who could give me a recommendation for such a competent attorney. My situation revolved around domestic abuse in several states, which complicated my case. Mr. Lastra's knowledge provided me with a solid position regarding jurisdiction. He anticipated the opposition I might have encountered and developed a strategy to block it quickly and effectively. In court he competently presented my position because he was fully prepared and well organized. He explained his charges clearly and described some actions he took to minimize my costs. During my meetings with him, I felt he always focused on what was best for me during and after the divorce. Mr. Lastra is an attorney with a good heart and a good mind. Having worked for attorneys, I recognized Mr. Lastra's skill, organization and integrity. I recommend him without reservation to anyone needing a family law attorney.

  10. You want this guy on your side!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Lastra.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are in need of an attorney specializing in family law, hire Carlos Lastra. You won’t be disappointed. I had an unusual case that had the potential to be complicated. Carlos Lastra made sure I was fully prepared and confident by the time we walked in the courtroom. I could not be happier with his services, and I was thrilled to have him on my side.

Top Divorce Attorney -Washingtonian Magazine. I'll Help You Protect What Matters Most

301-951-9371