John Albert Abom’s Reviews

John Albert Abom

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr. John A. Abom - Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was recently arrested for my second DUI. I hired Mr. John A. Abom and I am very happy with my choice. Mr. Abom handled my case and was very professional and was able to put me at ease with my worries, concerns and fears I had. On my first visit I left the law firm with a sense of peace, I was a nervous wreck going in. His support staff are very pleasant, polite and quick to return any of my calls and/or emails, and answer any of my questions I had.

    Mr. Abom took the time to completely explain all of the procedures, anticipated events, and the entire legal process from a layman's point of view. Mr. Abom went as far as scheduling an appointment with the work release center so we(I) could ask questions; see the facility to help ease my anxiety. Mr. Abom’s professionalism, demeanor, and knowledge of the law had a calming effect on me and I cannot thank him enough.

    Thank you for helping me. I am so grateful and appreciative. Gracias.

  2. John (Jay) is a knowledgable and successful attorney who really cares about the clients he represents.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John (Jay) is one-of-a-kind. An accomplished attorney, Jay treats each client with respect and takes the time to get to know "you and your case". Faced with a retail theft M1 criminal charge, I wasn't sure where to start. I knew I needed an attorney, but was not sure who to turn to. I began researching online, getting quotes for fees (these vary widely from hourly, flat, retainer...) and asked a few respected professionals in the community for referrals. Jay was on the list. After meeting with two attorneys (one via phone and another in person), I met with Jay. Opening up and discussing what I had done was a difficult process. I felt guarded, anxious, afraid, and just plain sick in my stomach. I was embarrassed at what I had done and felt my life as a professional was over. I felt my integrity and self worth were gone. Opening up to Jay over the course of office visits, phone calls, and emails; made me realize I am not a bad person. I made a bad choice and needed to reach out for support. Jay helped me take steps to start this process and be accountable for my thoughts and actions. Throughout the court process, Jay helped me feel comfortable with the outcome. I am facing the consequences of my actions, but feel I now have a very different outlook on life and others than before meeting him. I used to be quick to judge others, but not anymore. We all have our challenges in life and if faced with the challenge of a legal matter-I would highly recommend Jay. The saying goes "you get what you pay for". Jay is worth every penny!

  3. Highest respect for Attorney Abom

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Federal Crime matter.

    When I met Jay I had some very serious federal charges I was facing. When my mom & I met him for the first time we had no idea what to expect he would have to say. To say the least I was very upset & scared. We walked away from that meeting relieved & confident we found the best lawyer to represent me. Jay is extremely kind, caring & understanding. He is a phenomenal person. Extremely genuine. He has always been available for any questions at any time. My family has expressed how blessed we have been to have found him. My case is still open & I can confidently say whatever the outcome I am more then thankful for the representation I have received. Thank u Jay from the bottom of my heart for everything u have done for me! I speak for my whole family.

  4. John A. Abom, Esq.

    Posted by Kim,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.

    My experience with Jay, both professionally and personally, has always been positive. His clients are treated with the utmost respect and dignty as they may face tough life issues. Both Jay's candor and honesty are unparalleled. As such, he has my highest recommendation as well as having earned my respect. His partnership with clients is unparalleled. Jay also gives time back to the community in various endeavors which is admirable in its own right. I would not hestitate to recommend Jay to clients, friends or family as I know that they will be presented with a strong advocate for their needs.

  5. John (Jay) Abom is the bomb (highly committed and professional)

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Education matter.

    Seeking legal counsel during a discipline process against our son at Dickinson College, the firm Abom & Kutulakis came highly recommended from a local administrator at the college. The firm is conveniently located in the heart of Carlisle, PA, right next door to the college. Our family interviewed Jay Abom by phone and decided that his personality and knowledge of the state laws and the college court systems made him a perfect fit.

    Jay’s skilled expertise and experience with college misconduct cases was evident throughout the process. He became deeply engaged and intensely involved in uncovering every detail of the case. He is able to process information and synthesize it immediately. He does his homework to research laws and other cases that were relevant to our case and share that information with us. Weighing issues and looking at every angle, he presented the options to us in a coherent and understandable manner. I appreciated his candidness, wit and compassion. Not only did he possess a thorough knowledge of the law, he has a heart and developed a caring relationship with my son, who felt Jay’s genuine concern for his well-being.

    Jay was always available, that even while travelling on a family vacation he took on calls in the wee hours of the morning. Giving us sound advice to avoid litigation, he put his personal interests aside. Had we gone to court, he would have benefited from a long legal process entailing more legal and emotional expenses. He recommended us the best possible outcome according to his knowledge of the risks involved. He kept our son’s and our family’s best interest in heart and mind.

    We highly recommend Jay Abom as a lawyer. Due to our experience working with Jay, we developed an even greater respect for lawyers!

  6. I strongly recommend Jay Abom

    Posted by Rob, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jay represented my 19 year old son, a college student at Shippensburg Universtity, who was charged with a felony possession of marijuana and two misdemeanor counts. Not being from the area we were clearly concerned with the legal process in Cumberland County as well as the fact that we knew no one in the area to even find a lawyer. Through some due diligence, we were directed to Jay as he was recommended by more than one person and by his peers. Jay kept us well informed about how the law works in Cumberland County, the legal challenges, and the options. He was always available to take a call or would promptly return a call and this helped us to process and understand this intimidating and scary circumstance. Jay was able to break down the case and exploit the mistakes made by the police during the investigation. During the preliminary, hearing his masterful questioning opened up other areas of inconsistency in the police officer's handling of the traffic stop and subsequent investigation. The outcome was that the County's case was weakened and my son was able to plead down to two misdemeanors. This was the best possible outcome and has positioned my son for a second chance. Jay's handling of the case and his dealings with my son and our family were excellent.

  7. Recommendation for Jay (John) Abom

    Posted by Steve, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was arrested on a DUI, 18.8%, in April of last year. In November we pleaded to 2 misdemeanor charges, case closed with no DUI charge. In all likelihood I probably could have not accepted the 'deal' and there would have been no charges filed (and I would have sued New Cumberland PD and been successful). I chose not to gamble because had I lost, the sentence for a DUI in the highest blood alcohol category would have been devastating for my family.
    Years ago I had a DUI and paid an exorbitant sum of money to an attorney who was a big advertiser, billboard and all, and who spent almost no time on my case. My advice to anyone who finds themselves in a similar situation to give Jay (he prefers that over John) a call. The final cost was about the same but the big difference was that Jay worked every hour that he billed. He knows the law and does the necessary research to support a plea. I was a very pressing client to which he was most responsive. I have no hesitation to recommend Jay Abom to provide excellent legal representation.

    1. John Albert Abom

      John Albert Abom

      Lawyer Comment:

      For clarification purposes:
      1. The BAC was a .188% and the client was facing a mandatory minimum 90 days in prison and an 18 month license suspension.
      2. We filed a motion to suppress asserting the officer did not have legal grounds to stop this client. The officer's conduct in grabbing this client as he walked in his own driveway was, in my opinion, a violation of my client's constitutional rights. The District Attorney, instead of risking a complete dismissal of all possible charges, dropped the DUI and accepted a plea to two SUMMARY grade offenses for which this client paid a fine and did not lose his license. Thanks for this positive review! Pressing client or not, we strive to be responsive to all requests.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Highly recommended Criminal Defense Lawyer

    Posted by Fred, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Abom was very prompt, courteous, attentive, understanding and professional at all times during this legal process. He allowed us all of the time that we needed to ask questions and provided detailed explanations to allow us to make the most educated decisions throughout this legal process that we were going through.
    Although this was not an easy time for us, Mr Abom was compassionate and understanding while delivering a tough message.
    We would recommend Mr Abom for anyone needing legal counseling. He was a pleasure to deal with in these tough circumstances.

    1. John Albert Abom

      John Albert Abom

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Client "Fred," Based on your written comments, your experience was a good one. However, you rated me in 4 categories as a 1 out of 5 (the worst rating possible). Is it possible that you made a mistake?

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

    2. John Albert Abom

      John Albert Abom

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for correcting the ratings. I am happy we were able to help you.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  9. Highly recommend him

    Posted by Luann, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I got into a bit of a 'tangle' last year with the Federal Government. Mr. Abom was court-appointed to defend me. I'm very fortunate that he was! I was very fearful that, since I had to have a court-appointed attorney, he wouldn't really fight for me. This was never the case with him. Suffice it to say that all charges against me were subsequently dropped & I can now breathe much easier & return to my normal life! I can't thank you & your staff enough, Jay!

  10. Wonderful Attorney

    Posted by Angie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Abom.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hello: We received your letter. WE LOVE YOU!!!! The 3 of us didn’t get any sleep last night for fear of Trooper Strayer showing up at our door in the wee hours of the morning again. Ron slept on the couch that’s right beside the front door. Chris slept in his clothes and kept jumping in his sleep hitting his injured arm on the wall next to his bed. I kept jumping awake thinking I heard the door bell. His visit Monday morning really traumatized us. Now tonight thanks to your letter, we can sleep. You are a blessing to us. Ang