Edward L. Fiandach’s Reviews

Edward L. Fiandach

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great team of Lawyers that deliver results!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    One late evening I found myself in the unfortunate situation of being arrested for DWI. During the process I asked for a lawyer and Ed answered the phone in the early hours of the morning. Talked me through what I needed to do and followed up with me the next day. He and his team took me through the legal process and were always professional, responsive and worth every penny. I was in a bad spot and Ed got me through with very favorable results. I highly recommend him for DWI defense.

  2. best money i ever spent

    Posted by Robert, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward 6-12 months ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Ed and his team made a very difficult and life changing event into something equal to a bad tail light.
    His close relationships with everyone in the court system is invaluable and not something you would get from an out of town attorney. SO glad i picked him.

  3. the experts

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward 6-12 months ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    mr fiandach represented me over the last couple of months in my DWI common law case. i had been speeding, failed to signal a turn, refused to blow the breathalyzer at the roadside and "barely failed" the sobriety tests according to the officer. i got back to the station and blew a .05. i went into Ed's office for the consultation and he immediately was confident he could not only help me but quite possibly get all charges dismissed. i could feel that he was outraged at these charges. i got the impression that he was the expert in NY DWI law and there was a reason he has the reputation as the best. his knowledge about the law was impressive. as a bonus he said he would take my case personally and appear at all court hearings. when court came around the DA offered me a 4-point speeding ticket that we immediately took. if the offer was anything less than that we were prepared to go to trial and i have no doubts in my mind that Ed could have gotten everything dismissed. he worked with me in terms of logistics because i live in CT and seemed to take a personal interest in my case. at the settlement hearing there was a slight misunderstanding with what the judge had said and what we thought the offer was and the firm quickly rectified the situation like the professionals they are. hopefully i dont have to but they are now officially my DWI lawyers in the future

  4. Outstanding Attorney! Don't Waste Your Time Going Anywhere Else!

    Posted by Stephanie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    When I got my DWI charge about 8 months ago, I was beside myself. I heard tons of commercials on the radio about different DWI attorneys and really didn’t know who was the real deal and who wasn’t. Lucky for me, I found and retained the real deal, Fiandach & Fiandach. When I first met with Ed Fiandach I was overwhelmed. I had met with a couple of other attorneys too, but Ed really made me feel comfortable. He understood my anxiety, my disappointment in myself and the seriousness of how this charge could affect my entire future. He fully explained all aspects and even that I had an option to retain him exclusively, which I didn’t. Long story short, I was acquitted at trial and yes, Ed Fiandach even did the trial at no extra charge! He blew the arresting officer and breath test operator out of the water! I think even the judge was stunned at his stellar cross-examination! It was like watching an episode of Perry Mason or Boston Legal where it looks the case is a complete loser and at trial the lead attorney just turns the whole thing around! I got to admit along the way I was nervous. I had never been in trouble with the law and am not familiar with the legal system, but I found I just needed to trust Fiandach & Fiandach and let them do what they do best, defend me against a DWI charge! Awesome! I can’t tell you how happy I am!

    1. Edward L. Fiandach

      Edward Fiandach

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank-you Stephanie, it was a pleasure to be of service!

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  5. The Difference Between the Guys that Read the Book and the Guy Who Wrote It

    Posted by Rich, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    At or around this time last summer, a careless night out with a buddy left me confronted with two misdemeanor DWI charges. Getting those charges resolved was of the utmost importance to me because I'm in college and, to be candid, on course to attend one of the best law schools in the country. A criminal conviction of any sort would deal a serious blow to my competitiveness. But as a Massachusetts resident my whole life, I had (and still have) little knowledge of the Rochester area. Looking for the best way out of a sticky situation, I did a ton of research on DWI law and DWI lawyers in NY...To my unqualified good fortune, I came across Ed's website. Amidst a wealth of helpful information on DWI law, I learned that Ed is ABA-approved as a Board Certified DWI specialist and former Dean of The National College for DUI Defense, to boot. I also saw that he had written two treatises on DWI law. Being a skeptic of all things, I hopped on to LexisNexis to check the legitimacy of Ed's credentials. My find was that Ed's name is plastered over pretty much anything DWI-related – whether it be a law review adducing to his research or the brief of an actual case that he litigated. I pored over a number of publications crediting Ed and it became apparent to me that Ed’s understanding of DWI law extends far beyond the garden-variety grasp of statutory provisions you would expect from a typical lawyer. Ed knows virtually everything about DWI law. He is a noted expert on topics ranging from the metabolization of alcohol to the physiological linkage between a breath test and the quantity of alcohol contained in the blood...After browsing through a few reputable sources for attorney reviews (Avvo, Best Lawyers, Martindale-Hubbell, US News & World Report), I noticed that only a handful of lawyers consistently ranked at the top in DWI defense throughout the whole of NY. Predictably, this handful included Ed. Determined to cover all the bases regardless, I dug up everything that I could find on the qualifications of each likewise ranking lawyer. Not one had accumulated distinctions that came anywhere close to commensurate with Ed’s...Hiring Ed to represent me was a no -brainer. Before I finalized my decision, however, I had to do some price shopping. Most of the Rochester area attorneys that I spoke with quoted me at a flat rate within a similar range. As you might well be aware, being strapped for cash is the college student’s perennial condition. Appropriately, I solicited estimates from several firms, supposing I might eventually come across an asking price too economical to pass up. I didn’t. While the least reputable practices generally charged the least, their rates were at best a few hundred dollars better than the rates of established firms, like Ed’s. Considering both the decided impact of a conviction and the murky water beleaguering the alternative options, paying a bit more for a distinguished contender was the only prudent way to go. A couple hundred bucks seems like nothing when it determines whether you’ll be represented by an attorney who is unmitigatedely proficient in DWI defense or just another run-of-the-mill schmuck...Opting for Ed was one of my brighter moments. Ed advised me that the best chance for a favorable outcome in my case would follow from a bench trial. He was right. Ed had located an error in the sobriety field tests that were administered to me as well as the breathalyzer used on scene. The result: I WAS ACQUITTED OF BOTH DWI CHARGES...I cannot say enough about the quality of service delivered by Ed. Irrespective of his superiority in the courtroom; Ed worked with the judge to accommodate my unique circumstances, minimizing my number of trips to and from the state. I believe, with the firmest conviction, that anyone charged with a DWI offense in western NY (or perhaps any NY area) should enlist the services of Ed Fiandach. It’s the difference between the guys that read the book on DWI law and the guy who wrote it.

    1. Edward L. Fiandach

      Edward Fiandach

      Lawyer Comment:

      Rich raises a point that I never lose sight of. A DWI conviction in the State of New York means a permanent criminal record. As I tell the high school students when I speak to them in health classes, if you are applying for a job and you have been convicted of Driving While Intoxicated, you will have to declare that you have a criminal record for the rest of your life. Given the shaky state of our economy, this declaration can have devastating consequences.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  6. Mr. Fiandach is the BEST!!!!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was charged with DWI last summer. I was leaving a concert and made the biggest mistake. I went into Mr. Fiandach's office still upset with what I have done. Mr. Fiandach met with me for over an hour and told me my possible outcomes. He took my case personally and told me that we were going to get through this together. He was at everyone of my court appearances and called me back with the answers to all my questions. I couldn't tell you how many appointments I have made and Mr. Fiandach was always so patient with me. The day of the trial I was more scared than I have ever been in my entire life. I remember sitting there thinking about what was going to happen to me. I remember listening to the DA and cop talking about the night and then Mr. Fiandach screaming OBJECTION! He ruffled through some papers and showed them to the Judge. Mr. Fiandach cross examined the cop and the Judge needed some time to make a decision. What felt like hours were only a matter of minutes. The Judge came back and found me NOT GUILTY!!! I remember hearing those words and tears running down my face. When I looked at Mr. Fiandach all he had was the biggest smile on his face. I don't know how he did it but he kept his word of sticking through it with me until the end.
    If you are ever put in the situation and being charged with a DWI go to Fiandach & Fiandach. There is no other choice. The staff are wonderful, even though Mr. Fiandach handled my case personally I met the other attorney's who are wonderful as well. I talked to one of the Paralegals there named Emily who was always so patient with me and knew what to say to calm me down. Fiandach & Fiandach was worth every single penny.

    Thank you Mr. Fiandach for everything!!!!

  7. Need an excellent lawyer he is the man to call!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He was very knowledgeable and helped me out tremendously! Would absolutly suggest him to anyone in need of an excellent lawyer as i was!

  8. Ed Fiandach super fan

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I've known Ed since I was 18 he helped me when I was hit by an oil tanker. Then in 97 I got a DWI. Ed defended me and I learned not to drink and drive. Ed's job is to defend but, he is always stressing the importance of one poor decision. To the 20 year old I dont believe that story first of all you have to have representation when you go to court I believe? How could your pals defend themselves. I only know Ed, but he would not hire people that did not share his values. Everyone is only one night away from a true hollywood story I hope mine are in the past. For people in a situation you already made one mistake try not to make a second one by not getting the best representaion hire Ed. Thanks Ed you have always been a class act and more than fair which is what prompted me to write.

  9. BAC 0.15 and NOT GUILTY!!!!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ed Fiandach recently represented me in my first (and only) DWI case. I blew a 0.15 and thought for sure there was no way out of this. I work in healthcare and hold a professional license in NYS, so it was especially important for me to get this knocked down to a DWAI (driving while ability impaired) or found not guilty. Ed Fiandach is professional and charismatic in the courtroom. He puts the focus where is needs to be to make you look as innocent as possible to the court. Ed knows exactly what to say and when to say it. Not only did Ed get my 0.15 BAC thrown out of evidence, he convinced the judge to find me NOT GUILTY!!!! I highly recommend Ed Fiandach. He's worth every penny!

  10. Best decision I ever made

    Posted by Rick, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Fiandach.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From the start, Ed's advice and reassurance is superb. He shares information in a clear and concise way that anyone should understand. He and his staff are extremely patient and will take whatever time is necessary to insure your questions are fully answered. In court, or out, the Fiandach team is professional, knowledgeable, calm, and courteous. After all is said and done, I wouldn't even consider giving my business to anyone else. Every penny was well spent. They go out of their way to set your mind at ease and calm your fears. Great Job, Ed!!!

For more information, visit our website, nydwi.com

585-244-8910