George A. Terezakis’s Reviews

George A. Terezakis

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A dynamic attorney

    Posted by Carol S.,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.

    Mr. Terezakis is truly the greatest and most efficient lawyer I have ever met. For many years my brother tried to obtain legal residency but because he has a criminal background, he was denied on 2 occasions and was even asked to leave the country. During that period we retained 2 different lawyers but of course had no success with either. Thankfully, a friend recommended Mr. Terezakis who we were told was very efficient. Although his practice is in New York, he was still able to represent my brother who resides in Florida and flew in for the actual interview. Mr. Terezakis did an excellent job of explaining to the immigration Officer the mistakes my brother made in his past but presented the facts of his new and much improved lifestyle.
    Our family will forever be grateful for the work he did for my brother, and would most definitely recommend Mr. Terezakis to anyone needing the service of an outstanding Attorney. To us, he is truly a miracle worker.

  2. By far, the best!

    Posted by Melissa, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am writing an update from a review that I had posted about a year ago which I left off at how after George Terezakis won my husbands case, the government was now trying to charge my husband with a different charge. I am happy to say that with George's hard work, knowledge and determination, we ultimately won! These last 2 years have been some of the hardest years that we have ever had to face, but choosing George Terezakis to be my husbands lawyer has been by far the best decision that I have ever made for my family. George is not like any other lawyer that I have ever met. Along with his wisdom and dedication he has compassion, not only for his clients but for their families. He understands that people make mistakes, he doesn't judge.
    To be honest, when I first met George, I wasn't sure that he would be the best lawyer for our case. Even after I hired George I was still researching other lawyers because I wanted the best, WE NEEDED THE BEST! I think it was the first or second time that I went to my husbands court hearing, while waiting for George in the waiting room was when I heard another lawyer recommend George Terezakis for their client. That's when I knew that if George couldn't save my family from being torn apart, no one can. He was there for us every step of the way and never let us down. George always prepared us for the worst, but expected the best. He gave us hope and in the end he prevailed. I will always be grateful to George and his incredible staff for everything that they have done for my family.

  3. Criminal/ Immigration Case

    Posted by Diana, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George 1-6 months ago.
    • George handled my Immigration matter.

    My husband and I worked with George and his team throughout a 3 year criminal/immigration case. Throughout the entire time George and his team were extremely thorough and told us the expectations. What we most liked about George is that he told us the reality of the situation, he did not sugar coat things to tell us what we wanted to hear. At all times we felt that we understood what was going on with the case and what George's expectations of the outcome were. After the 3 year process we won both our criminal and immigration case and could not be happier that we found George as our lawyer. For someone who is looking for a Criminal/ Immigration lawyer, I would HIGHLY recommend George. Only thing I will say is to be patient, they have many clients and cannot always answer all questions right away, many times questions require research and they really do take the time to look into your case and give you the right answer the first time. George took the time to understand our particular situation and to prepare us for court. I was 100% satisfied that he did his homework to be the best representation of us. I am so thankful for all he has done for us.

  4. Very competent and trustworthy lawyer!

    Posted by grateful client, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    George Terezakis is an immigration lawyer that I would recommend to my best friend or family member. In fact, I retained George to help my sister who was at that time under ICE custody. It was a very complicated case involving child custody and criminal arrests. He managed to get my sister out of custody in one week, worked with her criminal lawyers to get a deal that would have the least effect on her eligibility for an immigrant visa and, at the end, got her deportation proceeding terminated and her visa approved.
    I recommend George for the following reasons:
    - he is also a criminal lawyer and, therefore, has more experience and a better understanding of the criminal law than many other immigration lawyers.
    - he and his staff (thank you Sumi Hayashi-Maxted and Lorena Alfaro!) are every competent, organized and meticulous.
    - he and his staff show empathy towards not only their clients but family members as well that are dealing with difficult situations.
    - he gets along with and is very well regarded by his peers, DAs and judges, having the reputation of an ethical and competent lawyer.
    I could go on and on describing the amazing service provided by George Terezakis and his office. At the end of the day, when we are dealing with immigration ordeals, all we want is for our loved ones to come home quickly and move on with their lives in this country, and that's what George provided to my family and, for that, I am forever grateful!

  5. I highly recommend George Terezakis, he can handle the most difficult cases and got my Deportation Proceeding terminated

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George 1-6 months ago.
    • George handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It is with genuine pleasure that I recommend George Terezakis's office. I was referred to George's office by another lawyer while in ICE custody. My case was complicated, I had many serious criminal cases pending, had no legal status and the worst of all I am a single parent - with my incarceration I would lose my child's custody, my worst nightmare. My first contact with him was in the prison, I felt immediatly safe and confident for the first time after the imprisonment; he never gave me false hopes, he was extremely patient and caring. It took only one week to be released after having George in my case. During many months following my release from ICE custody, I still had to go through a long legal battle in the criminal, immigration and family courts. George and his legal team were always available, doing an amazing and meticulous job, working closely with my criminal defense attorneys to be certain that the criminal case outcome wouldn't hurt my immigration application. Not only I could have my USCIS application accepted and a Work Permit issued but also my deportation proceeding terminated. Thanks to George and his amazing team's indefatigable work I am now free, able to work and provide for my child.

  6. Amazing Lawyer - Great results!!!!

    Posted by Ronald,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    George is a very professional and effective lawyer. I fully recommend his service.
    He can take your case from felony to a dismiss. I am very Thankful and happy with the results of my case.

  7. Excellent attorney

    Posted by Leslie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    We highly recommend Mr. Terezakis because he is an excellent lawyer. He did an amazing job representing my husband who was accused of some very serious charges. George is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He is very professional and very dedicated. I can't thank him enough. I also need to thank his secretaries, Sumi and Jen who were very helpful and dedicated as well. I will certainly recommend him to anyone who needs an attorney because he is great.

  8. After George Terezakis GREAT Service, My Family couldn't Ask For A Better Lawyer !!!! =]

    Posted by Thais Laguna, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Immigration matter.

    I highly recommend Mr. Terezakis because he is an excellent criminal and immigration lawyer. My dad had a DWI Case that was affecting his Immigration status greatly. My dad had seen Mr. Terezakis great reviews on the newspaper and decided to give him a call. Well I can honestly say that phone call made a large impact on my family. After listening to my dads case and reviewing it attentively Mr. Terezakis was able to win my dads criminal case and not just that but also won my dads immigration case that was opened shortly after the criminal. My dad has now won his residency thanks to Mr.Terezakis great job. I being my dads oldest daughter greatly appreciate Mr. Terezakis hard, honest, and kind job for my dad and my family. Without his help my dad would've probably been deported and my little sisters would not have had a dad role model in this country so once again Thank You Very Much for helping my family stay together. <3 =)

  9. Thank you George!

    Posted by Melissa, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George more than 3 years ago.
    • George handled my Immigration matter.

    Due to unfortunate circumstances, I have had the pleasure of having George Terezakis as my husband's lawyer for an immigration case. My husband had a criminal conviction from 2004. We have consulted with several different lawyers over the years with the fear that immigration might try and deport my husband since he is a legal permanent resident. But no one thought he would have a good chance at winning. My husband was picked up by immigration last year and was detained for 4 months. It was a very difficult case, but with George's hard work, knowledge and dedication, we won. The government appealed and we won again. Now the government is trying to charge my husband with a different charge to get him deported. The case is still ongoing, but at least he is home. George is a wonderful lawyer and I thank him and his assistant's Sumi and Jen for all of their hard work to help keep my family together. I could not of picked a better lawyer than George Terezakis and I will always recommend him to anyone who is in need of a criminal/immigration lawyer. Thank you George, thank you!

  10. George is great!

    Posted by Jairo, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Terezakis.
    • I hired George more than 3 years ago.
    • George handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had an excellent experience with Mr. Terezakis.

    I am a legal permanent resident who has lived in the US for 30 years with my wife and daughter who is now 25. Many years ago, the government decided to seek deportation for a conviction I had in the past. It was then, that i was referred to and retained Mr. Terezakis to represent me in my case.

    For 10 plus years, Mr. Terezakis was very diligent and stayed with the case. Our immigration judge was very hard and wouldn't treat me fairly but George still stuck with the case. Our judge placed a deportation order 2 times, and both times George was able to stop the deportation. Trial after Trial, appeal after appeal, until we finally won our case and immigration granted the waiver.

    He handled himself very well in court, and was very knowledgeable about the legal issues. It also helped that he was fluent in spanish, so an interpreter was not needed.

    George answered our questions professionally, and was easily accessible. We'd like to give a special thanks to George's office staff, especially his assistant Sumi. She was very respectful and was always willing to help. She is a very caring person and often had comforting words when we needed to hear it.

    I would recommend George to a friend, if they ever needed of an attorney! Thank you for everything. Our family appreciates it very much!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

516-742-3838