George Mark Gilmer’s Reviews

George Mark Gilmer

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent service from a great person!

    Posted by Jason, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have known George for over 5 years. His work is exceptional, and he really cares about his clients. I had a very difficult divorce, and George was able to assist me with having this process completed in a timely matter. I highly recommend George to assist with any legal related issues.

  2. Pleased with Mr. Gilmer

    Posted by Aruna, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Child Custody matter.

    My case was a custody case. Mr. Gilmer was knowledgeable in this area. He was prompt on court days and reassuring that this case would be in my favor. He provided professional advice throughout the case and was available via phone each time I had concerns. Even after the case I was able to reach out to him to seek professional guidance on a completely different matter.

  3. Best lawyer in New York!!!

    Posted by Olga, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I first retained Mr. Gilmer's services when I was getting divorced from my husband. He did not only represented me in court but he was very supportive throughout my ordeal, he kept me informed and made the process clear and easy to understand. A few years later, after my divorce I needed him for another case and once again Mr. Gilmer was available to provide his professional advise and dedicated services. I am more than happy to recommend George Gilmer as your lawyer.

  4. Fair and knowledgeable attorney.

    Posted by FM, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.

    Mr. George Gilmer has been a great asset to me in handling a bankruptcy case. His staff and himself were very knowledgeable in dealing with this of type situation. They sat down with me and my family and made us feel comfortable about the case. I recommend George for upfront honest legal representation that will work diligently in getting results in your favor.

  5. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • George handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.

    Mr. Gilmer handled complex civil litigation matters for me, including for a case against the City of New York. It involved the litigation of my Chapter 11 bankruptcy and a number of other ancillary issues related to my case. Mr. Gilmer was excellent in court and was aggressive when he needed to be. He was also very tactful in general.

    Mr. Gilmer also represented me in the Second Circuit Court of Appeals and impressively made oral argument in front of now Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor.

    My company has benefitted greatly from Mr. Gilmer's representation. Mr. Gilmer was available to speak to me when I had concerns and was not aloof like some attorneys can be. He was always upfront about his billing and never made money the centerpiece of our relationship. I highly recommend Mr. Gilmer and I am currently using him for other legal matters. Thank you Mr. Gilmer for your kindness, compassion and dedication.

  6. An Exceptional Lawyer

    Posted by Jesse Farraj, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Litigation matter.

    My experience with George came as a result of a litigation I wanted to initiate against a business partner who was defrauding a business we started together. George was recommended by a friend of mine who had used him in the past on another legal matter and who said their experience with him was wonderful. After having met with George during my initial consult, I immediately realized he was an extremely knowledgeable lawyer with great interpersonal skills. After my meeting with him, I hired him to represent me on my case and it was the best decision I've ever made. George was amazing in court and his ability to negotiate and litigate were instrumental in helping me save my business. I highly recommend him to anyone needing a tenacious lawyer who is honest and has his client's back.

  7. Great Divorce Lawyer

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Gilmer handled my uncontested divorce matter which ended last month. I shopped around for quite some time for a lawyer that would not charge me an arm and a leg for a simple divorce. I was going to do the divorce myself but the first time I submitted the papers the clerk rejected them because I omitted information concerning my custody arrangement with my soon to be ex husband. I called Mr. Gilmer and he was very helpful. He gave me a free consultation on the phone and assured me that he could fix the mistakes on my divorce papers quickly and get my divorce processed.Prior to speaking with him I was very skeptical about the low fee that he charged and thought this was just a tactic to get me in the door. He told me straight up that he would not charge me anymore than what he quoted initially. He lived up to his promise, corrected the papers within two days and got me my divorce. I am very happy with the services he provided to me. I highly recommend him to handle any legal matter.

  8. Attorney George Gilmer

    Posted by JZ, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my Child Abuse matter.

    This law firm is very knowledgeable, trustworthy, responsive, and has always kept me informed of my case. The also consider the clients to the utmost respect. I highly recommend this law firm.

  9. I endorse this lawyer. George is passiionate, intelligent and caring attorney. He is a pleasure to work with .

    Posted by Mostafa, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George more than 3 years ago.
    • George handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    George has proven himself to be an outstanding litigation attorney. I would highly recommend his services as he is prompt, knowledgable and professional.
    In my time of need he was always there for me, providing all the answers to all my questions and helping me to get a great result. Thanks George.

  10. Great ACS attorney

    Posted by Doug, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend George Gilmer.
    • I hired George more than 3 years ago.
    • George handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Gilmer represented me in an ACS case (Administration for Children Services) case. Completely false charges were filed against me sometime back and in the beginning I did not retain a lawyer because I thought I could handle it on my own. Much to my surprise ACS indicated the case against me with no evidence. It was more a personal thing than anything. I am a Health Care professional that works with children and having an indicated report against me was the worst thing that could happen to my career. I was faced with losing my job and losing the ability to make an income. Mr. Gilmer quickly returned all of my phone calls and charged a very reasonable rate for his services. I am so grateful for him because he got that indicated report against me overturned and now I do not have to worry about not being able to work with children. I am so very grateful to Mr. Gilmer for all his help.