William T Bly’s Reviews

William T Bly

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very Impressed!!

    Posted by Ryan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.

    I was charged with a DUI after exiting my vehicle one night in Bangor, ME- Mr Bly was all over this case from the first time we spoke, he was upfront and explained how the process would work and was very clear communicating what I could expect to happen throughout the entire case which put me at ease. During our court hearing, Mr Bly's knowledge of the DUI laws was very impactful, he actually caught the officers off guard on many occasions and at the end of the hearing my case was thrown out due to the officer not having probable cause to approach me that night.

    If you want a lawyer that will fight tirelessly on your behalf and is very polished in the court room than I would highly recommend Mr William Bly.

  2. I Highly Recommend Attorney William T Bly

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am delighted to write this recommendation for attorney William Bly. Before hiring William Bly to represent me I had worked with another lawyer which resulted in a warrant out for my arrest. Being out of state I had to thoroughly research attorneys online to handle my case, and came across William Blys great reviews! He not only got the warrant dropped immediately but also was able get the “no contact order” between me and my husband dropped, without me flying to Maine or having to be present which is actually unheard of. I never had to make one appearance in the court thanks to Attorney Bly! Being charged with domestic violence assault could of resulted in 364 days in jail , a fine up to $ 2,000 dollars, 2 year probation, a 12 week batters course, and also not being able to possess a fire arm ! With attorney Blys extensive experience and knowledge of the court and law and also with his sharp intelligence my case resulted in a FULL DISMISSAL!! With no fines, no jail time, no probation, and no 12-week batters coarse! Maine takes domestic violence very seriously, I couldn’t of hoped for a better outcome, thank you William Bly! I couldn’t recommend him anymore! Attorney Bly is not only knowledgeable, straight-forward and professional, but he's also very pleasant to speak with. If you have any questions he will get right back to you and his office staff is very knowledgeable as well and extremely helpful! William Bly tells you exactly how it is and will fight and defend your rights as a citizen ! He would not stop working on my case until it was the best it could be under the circumstances. Bill knows the law! The results I achieved under his guidance speak for themselves.

  3. Not a DUI!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To someone who made it 53 years with nothing worse than a couple ordinary traffic violations, being charged with a felony over a lapsed registration was pretty scary. I'd like to think a reasonable DA would recognize I had a good excuse and certainly wasn't a danger to society, and would spend their energy prosecuting real criminals. But it doesn't always work like that, and the potential downside was a felony record, or worse, time in jail. I'm extremely pleased that I put the case in Bill's capable hands; he made it disappear. I recommend him highly.

  4. State of Maine VS You???

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had William Bly as my attorney for 3 separate cases over the past 2 yrs. This man has saved me from total devastation. In my experience with the law, it seems like your guilty until proven innocent. William Bly worked hard in my defense and kept me from falling further into the legal system. I highly recommend William Bly as he is an Honest and Great attorney that will fight hard for you, as he did for me. Top Notch Attorney.

  5. Expert DUI case lawyer

    Posted by Dave, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thank you Bill for your expertise and professionalism. Your knowledge and efforts secured a positive outcome ( case dismissal ) for our daughter who was charged DUI when the vehicle she was riding in ran out of gas. The arresting police officer took the word of the young man who was actually driving (and intoxicated), and arrested my daughter in lieu of the person who actually drove the vehicle prior to it running out of gas. Receiving a case dismisssal was the best possible outcome. Thank you again for all your guidance and assistance in resolving this case.

  6. Professional

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Bill kept me informed and updated on my situation. I felt well represented and he handled my case with professionalism and vigor. I highly reccomended William Bly if you need a lawyer.

  7. Outstanding service

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In September of 2012, I was arrested and charged with OUI in Millinocket, ME. The arresting officer indicated to me that this would likely result in a fine and 90-day suspension in ME.

    In October, the DA elevated the charge to criminal OUI with aggravating circumstances, and offered plea deal of jail time and fines. I was not prepared for this.

    I hired Attorney Bly in November and we met to discuss my case at his office. I could tell I was dealing with an expert--the best in his field at dealing with these sorts of cases. He has gone to trial (and won) more than any other Maine attorney specializing in OUI defense, and his record speaks to his reputation as best of the best. He explained every step of the process and every possible scenario I could imagine.

    At the pre-trail conference in January 2013, Attorney Bly managed to negotiate a regular OUI charge and plea deal with the DA that would involve no jail time or alternative sentencing.

    Attorney Bly was also fully prepared to go to trial, as we had a strong case against the breathalyzer results. I suffer from acid reflux and GERD, and Attorney Bly has successfully argued many cases by establishing breathalyzer results as unreliable for clients with acid reflux and GERD. However, I decided to avoid the trial and accept the lesser charge of OUI, and Attorney Bly was fully supportive of my decision.

    Attorney Bly is a consummate professional. There was not a moment in my experience when my confidence in his ability wavered. He is also personable and makes himself available to talk at a moment's notice.

    Attorney Bly understands that bad things happen to good people, and he is committed to fighting injustice. He will tell you that this is not a 9-to-5 job for him--it's more serious than that. As a client of Attorney Bly's I can confirm the sincerity of his statements. If you've been charged with OUI in Maine and need a defense attorney, I strongly urge you to meet with Attorney Bly.

  8. A True Professional

    Posted by Jim, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In the prosess of moving from Maine to Florida I had a legal problem. Being a senior citizen with limited income traveling back to Maine for a court appearance would have been expensive and stressful. Bill handled everything in Maine for me to my satisfaction. I will always remember his help and compassion.

  9. OUTSTANDING PROFESSIONAL

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr William T Bly and his excellent staff, Miss Ann, were OUTSTANDING in handling my OUI case! They were very understanding, prompt in there communications and extremely knowledgeable in assisting me with my case. In the end, Mr Bly managed to have the case dropped - a consummate professional in every sense of the word!!! Thank you again for helping restore my life and giving me a sense of peace; I am forever in debt to you and your staff. Happy Holidays!!!!

  10. dui

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Bly.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    bill is a professional , clear communicator and will put all efforts to defend his client. After being charged with dui with 0.17 bac, bill dug up info on the officer who claimed that he administered the test. It was found that the officer was not qualified to render the test. As a result the dui was thrown out and the charge was reduced to Driving to endanger