Skip to main content
Ann Michaela Carey

Ann Carey’s reviews

     5.0 stars 21 total

Review Ann Carey
  • Ann Carey is kind, knowledgeable and helpful

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Daniel

    I've met quite a few lawyers in my life (some who I feel ripped me off), and I have to say Ann is one of the kindest and most generous lawyers I have met. She's extremely intelligent and truly knowledgeable in the areas she advertises--and others such as divorce. Ann is also doing my will. I honestly think she could handle any type of case...

    Ann also has excellent assistants who are knowledgeable and caring, and give you a warm feeling.

    Ann did some pro-bono work for me, and I didn't have to ask! I got more than I paid for. Needless to say, I was pleasantly shocked.

    Ann has also helped children.

    Hiring Ann gave me confidence once again in lawyers. Try her out first--you won't be sorry.

    More 
    Hired attorney
  • Juvenile Justice System expert with caring and compassion

    5.0 stars

    Posted by PMT

    Ann Carey helped our son and family through a very difficult situation. Her legal expertise and knowing the Juvenile Justice System inside and out was key to her obtaining a successful outcome for our son. Ann knows and understands that sometimes even good kids make mistakes and Ann knows the importance of keeping a juvenile incident off a teen’s permanent record. Her thorough investigation, meetings with our son with caring, compassion and honesty, along with keeping us apprised of the matter has been priceless. She is truly an attorney of utmost integrity and caring. We wouldn’t hesitate recommending Ann to anyone who is in need of a legal expert in the area of defending a minor in the Juvenile Justice System. Our thanks and appreciation to Ann and her staff.

    More 
    Hired attorney
  • Ann Carey, Attorney

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Betsy

    I have known Ann Carey for almost 20 years. We first met when she offered services in the Juvenile Detention System and I was a Chaplain there. She was available and always responsive and she has not changed over the years. I have referred her, most recently to a young man in our parish. I don't have details but his case was satisfactorily resolved. I had occasion to contact her myself, in the last month, regarding a criminal case for a family member. She responded quickly and with the information and advice I needed. Hers is the only Attorney phone number in my personal directory and she is the first person I recommend if someone asks me about legal services. If you want someone straightforward, knowledgeable, ethical, and caring, Ann Carey is definitely your lawyer.

    More 
    Consulted attorney
  • Clear, clever, compassionate and kind attorney

    5.0 stars

    Posted by a client

    Ann Carey helped make very complex legal issues clear. She had to read through enormous amounts of angry writing from my former husband that was laced with illogical language. She helped me keep calm and carry on. She knew when to wait and when to use the legal system. I trust her completely and am grateful for her help.

    More 
    Hired attorney
  • Around $19,000 for special education related due process request that was dropped before 1st hearing.

    1.0 star

    Posted by Shai

    I had to pay around $19,000 for a due process request related to special education that I dropped even before the first hearing.
    God didn't showed any mercy on me. I ended up spending my whole budget even before the 1st due process hearing.

    I retained her based on 16 AVVO reviews which are all 5 star listed below in chronological order of dates as below-

    July 23, 2013 - 5 star
    July 23, 2013 - 5 star
    July 24, 2013 - 5 star
    Aug 20, 2013 - 5 star

    Nov 6, 2013 - 5 star
    Nov 6, 2013 - 5 star
    Nov 6, 2013 - 5 star
    Nov 8, 2013 - 5 star
    Nov 9, 2013 - 5 star
    Nov 12, 2013 - 5 star
    Dec 22, 2013 - 5 star

    Mar 10, 2014 - 5 star
    Mar 12, 2014 - 5 star
    Mar 17, 2014 - 5 star
    May 16, 2014 - 5 star

    I wanted to resolve all the special education related concerns that we were having with the school for my daughter but my decision going with her was a big mistake on my part as I retained her even though I knew that I could have retained some other attorney at may be lesser billing rates but at that time I was just thinking that it will be better for my case.
    I ended up paying around $19,000 for roughly below tasks-
    * Attending one IEP meeting
    * Going over the documents,
    * Communication with us over the phone/email/in-person
    * Communication with school for getting student school records,
    * Communication with school for sending the prepared documents
    * Opening a due process request for our concern.
    * May be few others if any.

    Just to mention,
    * There were no hearings involved.
    * There was mediation meeting which I asked them not to attend.
    * School district denied providing all the records for some reason therefore not all the records/documents were even present for review.

    I had to drop the case as the charges seemed to me exponentially high for a due process request for which no hearing ever happened.

    I didn't find the attorney knowledgeable to provide a concrete guidance about my case but by the time I realized all that, I already had a big invoice in front of me.
    I didn't experienced any good value added to my case for the money I spent during this time. Many of the clues were brought up by me only that I thought will give us a positive edge against the school district.

    I had to pay $19,000 for a case related to education for which no administrative hearing ever happened.

    Thankfully, I was given heavy discount otherwise this could have been over 30,000. No doubt, I was provided a invoice on monthly basis that justified the charges. Overall, the cost was $600 (2 hours) for initial consultation, ~$10,000 for the 1st month, soon after getting that invoice, I tried to trim down their services but ended up getting an invoice of ~8000 for the 2nd month at which point I asked them to drop my case and then terminate our contract.
    FYI, I retained the attorney on hourly basis.

    This is my 1st review on AVVO but hoping it will show up on the site.

    More 
    Hired attorney
    Ann Michaela Carey’s response: “We always go over billing expectations in advance and when there are questions review the bills with clients.”
  • Professional, Knowledgeable, Kind

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Brian

    Ann and her team were fantastic. They were attentive to our needs and very good at negotiating on our behalf with the opposing party. They were also a pleasure to meet and work with. Thank you Ann, Nicholas and everyone at the firm.

    More 
  • Very capable and honest

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Rhonda

    During a very difficult time in my life Ann represented me with passion and a thoughtfulness which enabled me to remain focused and ultimately win.

    More 
  • She cares about her clients

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Edgar

    Ann Carey did a wonderful job on my case she was very helpful. She worked along side another case I had going on she works hard with her clients I would recommend her to any body

    More 
  • More Than a Great Lawyer - A Woman of Valor and Compassion

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Michael

    Ann Carey is more than a lawyer. She is a person on a mission to help her clients through some of the most difficult moments they will ever face. She is kind and compassionate, but also honest. She pulls no punches, and can provide "tough love" when needed. All that aside, she is highly skilled as an attorney, and is always thinking several moves ahead. We trusted her with our son's liberty and his future, and she did better than we thought possible. I cannot recommend her enough.

    More 
  • Knowledgeable and Thorough

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Renee

    Ann Carey's knowledge of the law, thorough research into my specific case and kind, considerate counsel helped me weigh my options and come to a very important decision with regards to a serious matter which helped me obtain the legal protection I needed.

    More