Larry James King’s Reviews

Larry James King

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Just because he was a judge does not make him a good lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry more than 3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I thought this one time Judge and no attorney would be helpful in my case. I was very wrong, all he wanted was money with out doing the work. He spoke as if I had a case and this wouldn't be a problem. I asked him about if I should turn in items I had into evidence to help me, he said it wasn't needed. He was late or didn't even show up to court on more than one occasion. It was the prosecutor that told me more than once that court dates had been changed. He is so bad we went into one of many little court appearances only to find out the judge hated him so much he would not even hear the circumstances of that day. Then when we walked out he took it out on me, very unprofessional. The prosecutor had a PowerPoint presentation for closing arguments, he had flip paper (the kind you use in meetings or classes) and markers. He Never did what the judge asked him to help me. Due to all of this and more I was found guilty, I told him I wanted an appeal filed immediately he stated ok he would. He never did, when I asked him to meet me in jail ( yeah a whistle blower case and I ended up in jail). I asked him where was the appeal he stated he didn't do it cause my psychologist was worried about my health if I didn't get house arrest. I had already gone into shock and stayed that was for over 2 years. I trusted the law, which was very foolish of me, which was point proven on the lawyer I picked. Unless you can do all the leg work yourself, forget about it, cause he sure as hell won't. DO NOT HIRE THIS SO CALLED LAWYER. Not unless you want to lose.

  2. no trust in him

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry more than 3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    not prepared at all, did not know the case or the law it turned out, and the judge never listened to him, and nothing made sense to me either, so i do not think Larry King even read my case. very odd experience, non-caring, and he demanded! more money from me when he told me it would be a set price for all, he did nothing but show up and seemed to be sleeping while waiting for the judge to hear the case. so i am left very disappointed in the legal system based not on the loss, which was sad of course, but on Larry Kings behavior

  3. Incompetent and unprofessional

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry more than 3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Larry King mismanaged our case badly. He was all reassurance before but did not actually sit down and assess the case until THE NIGHT BEFORE the hearing, then phoned up and said "You don't have as strong a case as I thought you did at first," which shot everybody's confidence down, thanks a bunch. He could have told us that a bit sooner so we could reassess the situation. In retrospect a different attorney could have done much better.
    Then, when the settlement wasn't as much as we had all hoped for, he decided his 1/3 wasn't enough and tried to hit us up for more money. He said we should think about how much this might possibly benefit us in the future and pay him 1/3 of that possible future amount! He even threatened to sue us for it. Of course that's ludicrous and he never would have been able to collect, but still it was shocking that he would try to bully us into volunteering more money that way.

  4. Rating from an experience of his service.

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry 1-3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Oddly it was not obvious to me that he gains from the lessons of his experience as he claims, but I had to use him for reasons beyond my control. He was very poorly prepared in court even after paying him on time and well, and he might have shown confusion. He was writing the notes and from his poor memory that he would use in court right there that hour and he had brought nothing of record with him! He then even made suggestions to the court that seemed to help lose! It was amazing and he could not have tried seemingly any harder that I should lose. Smugness from both the lawyer and his assistant Omad, or was it just humanly expected of them from losing, again. Well, my partner and especially I should have learned from reviews elsewhere. I had thought that it must have been a mistake those reviews [oddly they do not show on those other Web pages anymore and that makes me wonder] but I know for myself now. 

  5. Former Judge King is an ok attorney...

    Posted by Malissa, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry more than 3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hey Attorney King is ok people with me. I have utilized him several times in my life am I am usually happy with the results of his representation.

  6. Diligent, commands respect and very helpful.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry more than 3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Larry helped my husband with a legal issue that was resolved in a very positive manner. He really knows his stuff. I would recommend him to anyone.

  7. Larry was very helpful

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry more than 3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We had a contract issue that Larry helped us with. He was very professional and helped us a lot. The matter was settled in a timely manner to our benefit.

  8. Employment Law

    Posted by Bryan, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry more than 3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Larry helped me several years ago and I was impressed with his care through the process. The case was substantial and was settled out of court.

  9. Don’t waist your time and money!!!‎

    Posted by a Residential client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Larry King.
    • I hired Larry more than 3 years ago.
    • Larry handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He is obviously has more interest in your money than providing services he agrees to. This guy is a crook! We never got his business card or a copy of the service contract, took our money and showed up LATE for the hearing, hardly spoke 3 words before judge shut him up….he is worthless! WHAT DID WE PAY FOR???!!! We also found other victims of this brilliant attorney. Don't be stupid! Don't bother!