Scott Alexander Candoo’s Reviews

Scott Alexander Candoo

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Meh. Skip him.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Scott Candoo.
    • I hired Scott 1-6 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Child Custody matter.

    In the beginning, Scott was very informative and kept me well informed. As the case dragged on, he began to neglect me. At his hourly rate, he began to charge me when I checked in with him. Finally, he missed a very time sensitive filing that would have sealed a win. After I fired him, he billed me for the time I spent on the phone firing him! I believe that Scott has good intentions and enjoyed the beginning of the fight but did not have the follow through to complete it. If you have an open/shut case, the may be able to assist you. In my case, with a lengthy process that needed attention to detail, he could not.

  2. Amazing Man!

    Posted by Cindy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Candoo.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Everytime I thought I was going to lose my mind during my custody fight, he kept me focused, gave me my reality checks when I needed them and always made sure I knew exactly what was and would be happening at all times, as well as his paralegal Maryanne. I needed that kind of security considering I was fighting for my children. I have worked with Scott twice and my mother worked with him as well. I would trust him for anything. Hes a realistic, no nonsense Attorney that has a heart and is always looking out for your best interest. Hire him TODAY!

  3. The Best

    Posted by Linda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Candoo.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We hired Scott in January 2011 to get my daughters son back from his father in Alaska, from the moment I talked to Scott I knew he was the one that was going to get the job done! He has been so caring and compasionate about the whole case, and he honestly cares about his clients, we always knew what was happening with the case. He is very professional and has the biggest heart, he truly has made my daughter feel so secure in her case and his expertise about his job. We truly cannot say enough good things about Scott and his help that he has given us and will continue to give us until this case is done. Scott, Thank you for everything.
    I would reccomend Scott Candoo for anything, and he also has the best office staff.

  4. Current Client

    Posted by Sherry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Candoo.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I find Scott to be a very personable and knowledgeable attorney. He has handled all of my law issues with the utmost respect and professionalism. I trust him to always make the right decisions and advise me on what course would be the most beneficial to me and my situation.

  5. I am very grateful that Mr. Candoo took my case after my former attorney passed away and accomplished the best I could have.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Candoo.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Candoo was recommended by my firend's friend. I was very happy and pleased he was my attorney. I recommend to anyone who need an attorney.

    I went to my 1st meeting with my trustworthy friend and I was nervous. When Mr. Candoo introduced himself, I knew immediately he could help me. I liked his well mannered gesture. I was deeply impressed by Mr. Candoo's professionalism.

    I was surprised to know that he was organized and prepared for my case. I understood it was not easy to take over from someone's work. After all, he had to study my case from May 2007 to October 2009.

    At the 1st meeting he impressed me by his fast pace work, typing fast and at the same time, he could listen to our questions. He pointed out and made a list what I could do and what the possible outcome would be.

    When I had questions no matter what kind, I did not have to hesitate to ask him. He paid attention to my smallest question with respect. Since last year November until it was over, Mr. Candoo and his assistant kept me informed what was happening. It was so nice to have such contacts/relations because my previous attorney didn't.

    What I admire and respect Mr. Candoo was that he always kept and pursued what the best for me. We had lots of talking both pros and cons. When it came to make a decision, we did it together. He never pushed what he thought the best for me.

    I'm glad my 3 yers 2 months of waiting to be free was over. I truly believe that I couldn't do it without Mr. Candoo.

  6. Scott Candoo it!!!

    Posted by Tonya, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Candoo.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recommend Scott Candoo with the HIGHEST PRAISE. Before I hired Scott Candoo, my divorce case was on a fast track down hill. I attempted pro se (representing myself) for the first few months; by this point the court had a skewed perception of my case and I was at risk of loosing my 3 children to my domestically violent husband. I felt beat down and scared to death that everything was going terribly wrong.

    I interviewed several more attorneys…but when I met Scott Candoo, EVERYTHING “CLICKED”. Scott’s legal knowledge, experience and professionalism are such a wonderful addition to his great sense of intuition and personable character. In a matter of moments he understood significant details of my situation…and had ideas on how to get things back on track. I immediately felt COMFORTABLE and CONFIDENT with Scott…and I still feel that way today.

    I have continually been IMPRESSED with Scott’s rapport with the court and other professionals. His FLUENCY in presenting and expressing my case to the court is FASCINATING to observe. His staff is just as professional and helpful. They are efficient and knowledgeable and keep the office running smooth.

    In addition to legal guidance, Scott’s quick comical wit is always there in a time of need to lift my spirits! Scott’s valuable WISDOM and INSIGHT also helped me gain new perspective which helped shape the “new me” during my divorce journey.

    Scott Candoo did an AMAZING job turning my case around in the right direction. I came to him in fear of losing my 3 children, and left with my divorce settled and sole custody! 6 months after my divorce being finalized new disturbing happenings regarding my children and their father became known…which has required legal action. Having Scott Candoo to turn to for help again felt an answer to a prayer…he quickly jumped right in and knew exactly what to do. Scott Candoo protected my children and has given us the opportunity to live joyful, peaceful lives…in which I am FOREVER GRATEFUL.

  7. Compassionate, Knowledgable, and Professional

    Posted by Donna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Candoo.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Candoo was highly recommended to me through an Anchorage associate and I have never once looked back in askance at this hiring decision. The case was made more complex since I was in Anchorage and Mr. Candoo was in Tacoma, however, he kept me well informed on progress, was persuasive on all issues with opposing attorney, and while I realize others have been in the same situation I came through my lawsuit with strength from my attorney when I needed it most. Mr. Candoo was professional and courteous with the opposition, extracting necessary information through both these means. His depth and breadth of knowledge of the legal issues was and is simply impressive. I can only strongly recommend an attorney who will keep to a high standard of excellence and provide encouragement and much needed compassion to his clients.

  8. Ego is #1 with Scott Candoo

    Posted by Vanessa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Scott Candoo.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would hate to see someone else suffer the misery i did at the hands of this attorney. Before you give him your money, and let him settle the details of your life in a divorce, please please PLEASE email me at [email address removed]. This attorney was simply unable to look after my best interests, cannot put up a fight, and gives in under the slightest bit of duress from the opposing attorney. I lost EV ERYTHING because of Scott Candoo. Don't do it, keep walking, this guy wants the easy way out, will not work diligently on your behalf. He attempted to get me to accept a settlement under complete stress and duress, failed to put the brakes on when he could see that I was unsure, allowed the opposing attorney to make SEVENTEEN unagreed changes in the settlement agreement and backed out when presented with the evidence of the other attorney's ethics breach. His assistant was so rude, and extremely inefficient. He took money from me to go to court to fix lapses and mistakes that he ALLOWED to occur in this supposed agreement. he billed me almost $2000 worth of costs to fix mistakes caused by his inability to reconcile what happened in the settlement versus what the unethical attorney wrote up. This guy is not your advocate. He tries to make it seem like he knows it all, he has everything under control, but HE WILL NOT FIGHT FOR YOU when the going gets tough. He will sell you down the river. to maintain cameraderie with the other attorney as well as the judge. The opposing attorney did a lot of legal research and won our case due to being prepared. Scott goes in, attempts to smile, and twiddles his thumbs, Please email me. I will share further details. Do not let this guy fool you. I lost everything, I lost my home, MY HOME, and I do not want this to happen to another vulnerable woman.

253-272-7274