Dana Rae Brown’s Reviews

Dana Rae Brown

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Falsely accused of child abuse

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana 1-3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Child Abuse matter.

    I hired Dana as my lawyer after a prominent hospital in my area falsely accused me of child abuse. Subsequently CPS filed a petition for a dependency involving my children. Dana quickly started work on my case. Dana's high level of attention to detail and professionalism saved my children from ever being involved in a dependency. My case was complex and often times overwhelming with the amount of medical records involved but I always felt Dana was right there fighting with me the whole way. She has great resources and knowledge of the legal system. Her presence is not missed in the court room. She will get you the result you deserve. Dana always kept me informed as soon as new information became available and always worked with me on making decisions regarding my case.
    With her guidance I was able to overturn the "founded" ruling from CPS and clear my name. I couldn't have done it without Dana and am extremely grateful for her expertise.

  2. Want an "unfounded" from CPS? Retain Dana Brown.

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana 6-12 months ago.
    • Dana handled my Child Abuse matter.

    Upon my first meeting with Dana I felt a great sense of relief that I had found a competent, knowledgable attorney. She has the ability to retain a large amount of conflicting information and narrow it down to the pertinent facts. She offered excellent advice and acted as a buffer between me and CPS. Her discussions with the caseworker and a very pointed, succinct letter to CPS ultimately resulted in an "unfounded" for me.

    I would not hesitate to recommend Dana to anyone in the unfortunate situation of dealing with CPS.

  3. UW Discipline and King County Drug Diversion Court

    Posted by Daniel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana 1-3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Having come highly recommended to me, I can certainly say Dana Brown is an excellent attorney. I was being charged with possession with intent to sell and was facing, an almost assured, jail time for several years and three felonies on my record. Within the first meeting with Dana much of my anxiety was relieved. It becomes immediately clear that not only does she want to help people any way she can, but also that she is more than capable of doing so. She had previous experiences with the UW Discipline system and was able to use her knowledge of the system to significantly reduce the initially proposed sanctions. Dana was even able to get two of the directors/administrators of King County Drug Diversion Court to come and speak on my behalf, as well as a letter written by the lead prosecutor, at my hearing with the disciplinary board.

    Furthermore, she was able to help me get into the King County Drug Diversion Court. Under her guidance I quickly went from having no knowledge that such a program even existed, to understanding the ins and outs of seemingly every aspect of the system, as well as a full understanding of my responsibilities and the ensuing repercussions of disobeying the rules of KCDDC. It was always reassuring, and even a bit humorous, to witness Dana enter the court room and know all of the staff on a first name basis. As if it were not enough to hear her intimate knowledge of the Drug Court and explain everything I needed to know regarding my involvement with it, my confidence was only further bolstered upon seeing and hearing her describe the program again in the informational video that is shown during the trial phase of Drug Court. Dana was able to guide me through the whole experience while routinely checking in on me to make sure that all was well and remind me of upcoming court dates and hearings.

    In sum, Dana Brown is a fantastic attorney whose understanding of, and previous experience with both KCDDC and the UW Discipline system becomes abundantly clear within your first interaction with her. She makes sure to let you know exactly what all of your options are and what the potential outcomes of those options are. She makes sure to keep you informed regarding what is going on and is very quick to let you know when something changes. Having never doubted her level of care for her clients while working with her, it is made even more clear now that she will still occasionally check in on me (after the case has ended) just to make sure that I am doing well.

    There is not a doubt in my mind that hiring Dana Brown was the right choice. Upon finishing working with her, all charges against me have been dropped, I have been reinstated to the University of Washington, I have a deep understanding of both KCDDC and the UW Discipline system, my life has taken an entirely different and more positive direction, and, if I or anyone I know is ever in need of legal help or advice, I know exactly who I will call or recommend.

    Dana can and will help you. Do not hesitate to contact her.

  4. Thorough, knowledgable, dependable.

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana 1-3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had referred a case involving a CPS investigation to Ms. Brown, which concluded with CPS having no findings/unfounded. Ms. Brown explained the entire process, was very professional, and detail oriented. She was careful and diligent in protecting my rights as a parent. Dealing with Ms. Brown helped me stay calm in what otherwise could have been a potentially scary scenario. I'd gladly recommend Dana without hesitation to parents if they're under investigation by the CPS.

  5. CPS: CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES

    Posted by Everett, WA, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana more than 3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Dana was readily available on the spot: She was persistant, demanding and professional @ all times: Dealing with CPS, you have to be. And when the case spilled over to both Civil/ Criminal courts, including UI benefits, she assisited with that as well! In the end, the out come is what matters: Cleared and Unfounded.

  6. Peace of Mind

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana 1-3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When a neighbor accused my child of vandalism I went to Dana Brown. She helped explain what we could expect if there was a charge and implications if charges were filed. She treated my child with the utmost respect while educating us about the judicial system. I have had peace of mind since Dana started working with us. I sense that Dana understands the juvenile court system very well. She gave us sound and sensible advice and was able to establish a rapport with my child. Dana has called us just to check in even though our case is not active. I believe we are in the best of hands with her as our lawyer and I would highly recommend Dana to anyone needing an attorney.

  7. Special Needs and Zero Tolerance School Discipline

    Posted by Carla, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana more than 3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When our Special Needs son was expelled, then placed into a undefined status, and the information from the school system kept changing with each of our inquiries, we were at our wits end until we found Dana. She helped us manage each aspect of the incident and the ensuing responses from the school district, and tirelessly worked with us to track down information and put together a logical and rational approach to work with the school system while she followed up with outside agencies and entities. The end results were wonderful: our son was placed into a better school, records cleared, and an acceptable I.E.P. was implemented. We are so thankful for the work that Dana did to help us through this confusing and stressful process. She kept us informed every step of the way, and worked closely with us to coordinate meetings, strategies, and helped us to focus on achieving acceptable end results. We would highly recommend Dana to anyone in the midst of dealing with school districts, zero tolerance policies, and special needs circumstances.

  8. School discipline matter/ criminal prosecution

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana more than 3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dana was so great to work with. Dana helped us through a school discipline matter and at the same time defended our son from criminal prosecution. She really listened to our sons’ side of the story, and got to know him. I’ve never met a lawyer with this much compassion. She went over all of our options and gave us the flexibility we needed over how much we would spend on our sons defense. She even gave our son a lecture (like a good friend would) concerning some of his recent behavior and encouraged him to do better so he could go on to get the job of his dreams. She met all of our goals and then some.
    Thank you Dana.

  9. Empathetic, knowledgeable, & passionate about winning for you

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana more than 3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dana was such a blessing for us - we were wrongfully accused of child abuse and were humiliated to have to discuss the topic - even with our lawyer. We didn't feel anyone would believe us. But Dana was so empathetic. Right away we felt we could trust her and that she was going to fight for us. She assessed our personality types right away and brought lots of literature (guessing correctly that I'm analytical). She was flexible - willing to meet us at my husbands work if needed. She was cognizant of our desire not to spend loads of money on a lawyer and constantly asked us (do you want me to be involved in this - or do you just want me to prepare you and you do it yourself?) She is not what we expected, but she was worth every penny! We hope never to use her again. :-) But if you need a laywer, she should be your first pick.

  10. Legal/policy help for student with discipline appeal

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dana Brown.
    • I hired Dana more than 3 years ago.
    • Dana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dana was wonderful for us. She helped us navigate the complexities of appealing a discipline decision which is less about law and more about policy. She was clear headed practical and focused at achieving our goal. She kept my wife and I sane and balanced as we went through a nerve wracking process and helped us achieve our goal successfully.

206-933-2414