Steven Douglas Nugent’s Reviews

Steven Douglas Nugent

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding Laywer!

    Posted by Leon, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Nugent.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    I hired Doug to handle what turned out to be a very complicated legal matter. The engagement lasted 9+ months and culminated in two days of Binding Private Arbitration Hearing. The hearing entailed numerous witnesses from both sides. The nature of the case was interpretation of the protective view neighborhood covenants.

    Not only did Doug deliver a clear victory to my case, he handled all aspects of this matter with precision and attention to details. Doug was absolutely on top of every single deadline imposed on our side (he never missed any deadline) and on top of the deadlines imposed by the opposing party. During the entire engagement, Doug was reachable virtually at any time via email or phone (I especially appreciated his reachability via email – he answered every single email I sent him).

    Doug’s handled all aspects of the matter, such as working with witnesses, preparing and researching legal ground work for the case, responding to legal maneuvers of the opposing party and eventually winning the case. Doug absolutely shined during the hearing. He was very well prepared and knew every single aspect of the case, no matter how small, and all related case law.

    Doug’s billing was precise and well documented. His communication was excellent. I will absolutely hire Doug again if I ever need to and will recommend him without hesitation

  2. Great home buying guidance—and transparent billing

    Posted by Kim, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Nugent.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    I feel very lucky to have worked with Doug on our home purchase. We were buying our home from our landlord, and we wanted to avoid broker fees without compromising on clarity and detail. Doug worked with us throughout the process and helped guide us through each step—from recommending inspectors and appraisers (all wonderful), to reviewing and explaining the wealth of documents that the buying process generates, to meeting with us the day before closing to make sure we understood everything we were about to sign. He was clear and transparent about his billing, and worked with us to keep costs down throughout. We highly recommend his services.

  3. Highly recommended

    Posted by Therese, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Nugent.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    I was not surprised to see that every review ranks Doug Nugent's legal services at the very highest level. I've worked with Doug several times on real estate purchase issues and he is consistently highly competent, pleasant to work with, flexible in difficult situations, and accessible. Most recently he represented both parties in a for-sale-by-owner and handled the inevitable complications as smoothly as humanly possible. I have recommended him with no hesitation over the years and will continue to do so.

  4. Handling of quiet title action

    Posted by Richard, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Nugent.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Doug was everything a client would hope for: responsive, reasonable, strategic and efficient. He also did a wonderful job keeping me informed and conferring with me whan appropriate. I give him highest marks in his area of expertise (real estate). In my case, the matter was a quiet title action, in which a court action is brought to clear potential defects in title. Doug is very experienced in residential real estate transactions; he may be equally experienced in commercial real estate transactions, but I do not have personal knowledge of this.

  5. Outstanding advocate

    Posted by Ed, a Residential client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Nugent.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Over a period of approximately five years, Mr. Nugent has represented me in matters concerning issues with neighbors and tenants as well as a somewhat complicated transaction in selling my house. From the perspective of an octogenarian with a long lifetime of experience with the legal profession, I consider Mr. Nugent to be the finest attorney I have ever retained. On top of his extensive knowledge of the law and the deep sagacity of his judgement, he has the most nuanced sensitivity for the feelings of his clients of any lawyer I have ever known, I am happy to recommend his services enthusiastically and unreservedly.

  6. Real Estate Law

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Nugent.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Excellent job putting together a tricky lease option and a purchase and sale that was going sideways. We were able to save the deal. I would strongly recommend Doug to anyone in need of help regarding Real Estate law. I would also gladly referr him to my clients if any future needs arise.
    Sales Associate Windermere Real Estate

  7. Top notch professional

    Posted by Gordon, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Nugent.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    We have used Doug for over 15 years for all phases of real estate work -- contracts, transaction work, easements, escrow, mediations, and negotiations, among other things.

    He is knowledgeable, reliable, and efficient in his use of time. I would recommend him highly to any of our clients or associates.

  8. Excellent, efficient lawyer

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Nugent.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Looked for effective ways to solve a problem without "over lawyering" it.