Ruth Emily Vogel’s Reviews

Ruth Emily Vogel

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Finally an honest and thoughtful lawyer

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ruth represented me against an insurance company following a car accident. This is not her normal practice but she was kind enough to step in where other lawyers I had contacted did not see huge dollars signs because I managed to walk away. The kicker was that both the driver that caused the accident and I were insured by the same company. This, of course, made them reluctant to pay. Ruth went toe-to-toe with the insurance company to make sure that I was compensated for my losses. She kept me informed at every step and helped me to make smart decisions when it came time to settle.

    I have sought her counsel - both as an attorney and a friend - since that case on matters both significant and pithy. I trust her implicitly. Beyond her sharp legal mind, her pragmatic view of the legal system and her genuine caring nature for her clients - I think it is the strength of her character that may be her greatest asset.

  2. Best Attorney for difficult divorce situations

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ruth Vogel and her associates at Ivy Law helped me to maneuver a very difficult divorce that lasted over a year. Even now, two and a half years later, I still keep the recording of Ruth's messages on my cell phone to be reminded of all of the help and good news that she delivered through that grueling time. Ruth is both tough and compassionate, always professional, and very skilled in dealing with difficult divorce situations involving kids.

  3. Settled complicated car accident case

    Posted by Karin, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Car Accidents matter.

    I was involved in a car accident with two at fault parties, one a federal agency, while driving a company car. This meant a settlement involved an insurance company, the agency, and Labor and Industries (worker's comp). Just to complicate things a bit more, part way through the effort, I moved out of state.

    The accident resulted in some permanent neck issues for me, which deserved reasonable compensation to ensure future care. The insurance company played hardball and did not want to settle. Ruth doggedly worked through the process of submitting settlement offers, filing a court case, and finally guiding me through the mediation process.

    At every step in the process, she would identify the options for me, provide her opinion, and leave the decision up to me. Some of the specifics of my case were out of Ruth's usual practice area. For information there, she sought the guidance of colleagues.

    I could not have navigated the settlement process without Ruth's representation. Throughout the whole process, I felt that I had someone looking out for my best interests. I'm glad to have it over, and hope I don't need her services again. But should I be in a similar situation, I would be glad to have her representing me.

  4. High Recommendation for Ruth Vogel

    Posted by Shannon, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I worked with Ruth for my divorce. She was very knowledgeable and thorough and took time to explain things in an easy-to-understand way. Although I had hoped to avoid going to court, when that wasn't possible Ruth helped me feel fully prepared and ready for the courtroom. I was very impressed with her level of organization in the courtroom and she immediately established a good rapport with the judge. I would definitely recommend Ruth to friends and family.

  5. Terrible experience and outcome

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would NOT recommend Ruth if you are seeking a family law attorney. Perhaps she's good with criminal matters, but she RUINED my family law case. She was overly aggressive, gave very little legal advice, and when it was time to show up in court, she sent an associate for the hearing. I went into the divorce process uninformed and continued to stay uninformed because she would not provide any real legal counsel. She was overly focused on fees and billing and did very little work. 2 1/2 years later, I am suffering with decisions made in the case that should NOT have been made, or at least I should have been counsled and informed as to what options existed. Ruth was intent on continuing the "enemy" type relationship that was fostered by my ex-husband and his attorney, and was more interested in the actual battle of words and litigation than she was making the RIGHT decisions. As a mother, I am literally living a nightmare. Ruth Vogel ruined my chances of having a good outcome.

  6. Beware

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ruth said all the right things in the beginning but she didn't follow through on those statements. She rushed though my case, and because of that, I'm still paying the consequences. I've since hired a different attorney to try and fix the issues that were ignored by Ruth.

    Plus, it seemed like every couple of month Ruth hired on a brand new assistant and I was paying for them to get trained. And in court, it was either the "new" assistance or myself making the arguments, where it should have been Ruth. As you would expect, I was taken advantage of multiple times.

    And I was encouraged by Ruth to sign certain documents, which I would later be told was a HUGE mistake by multiple lawyers. By signing the documents, I put myself in a worse position, and basically gave the opposing party a nice gift, which they are still taking advantage of.

    Over all, it was a very expensive mistake, one that I do not wish upon anyone. Beware!

  7. Client Review

    Posted by Harriet L., a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Vogel handled my estate planning in an excellent manner. Thoughtful, insightful, helpful and absolutely trustworthy. She will be the one who will continue to handle any matters in which
    I will need legal advice--in any field.
    Harriet L. Dailey

  8. Client Review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Ruth Vogel was instrumental in helping me identify and pursue the best legal alternative in my plea agreement.
    Bottom line: Felony plea with no incarceration.

  9. War of the Roses

    Posted by Kelly, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In 2003, I had a horrible break-up with an ex of mine. Everything started out normal and then took a turn for the worse. My ex’s lies and behavior turned a simple misdemeanor crime into something that could have cost me 20 years in jail. The game of love and hate over the next 1 ½ finally came to a screeching halt, once I started listening to my attorney Ruth Vogel. I was in jail for a total of 9 days over three different occasions, constantly harassed by the police, on probation, no contact orders, had my car towed twice, harassed by my ex’s friends, had my apartment searched, I was stripped searched, and even visited court every other week.

    Of course hindsight is always better than foresight, but I did learn a tremendous amount from the situation because of Ruth. I was in the belly of the beast, as she used to say, with a person that doesn’t claim to be a liar, but someone that claims to bends the truth a lot, and wanting to hurt me in any way possible.

    Ruth was always very honest about where charges and situation was leading me and had me sit and read law books on the laws and sentencing, if I ever questioned her knowledge. Of course I did question her ability at the time, but it was only because the amount of stress, loss of sleep, my ex practically stalking me and getting away with, loss of one job, a bankruptcy, etc., not to mention the stress on my family and friends, a real nightmare.

    I wasn’t completely innocent, no one ever is. Ruth did repeatedly pound into my head that some of my smallest actions as innocent as they may have seemed, obviously were being completely exacerbated into some monstrous situation by my ex, the ice queen.

    Under the circumstances, I couldn’t have never asked for a more attentive lawyer and team than what I got with Ruth. She was on call for me 24 hours a day, I had her cell phone number, and believe me, and I used it a lot. Her door was always open to me, she always watched my backside.

    At the end, after a lot of heartache and patience, it was Ruth’s turn. She interviewed my ex, caught my ex in lies that gave her politician status, then proved my innocence and proved herself to be a top-notch attorney. We were back to ground zero, my original offense, which I had always plead guilty to from day one. My time? 240 hours of community service. Your time? Best spent with this attorney on your side.

  10. client

    Posted by eric, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vogel.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am so grateful to Ruth Vogel for all her help, she is the best attourney I have ever had, she is not only supportive, and extremely knowlegable but very interested in my welfare. I will only use her services in the future, I trust her implicitly and would recommend her to anyone, who needs asstance from someone who knows the legal system, with her vast background and experience she is truly a great asset to have in your corner whenever and whereever one would need it. I am grateful that I found her through a friend, and wish I had known her years ago...Ruth is the best ever, and I support her in every way possible...Thank you Ruth from the bottom of my heart.

Call now for a free consultation.

206-706-2909