Veronica A. Freitas’s Reviews

Veronica A. Freitas

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. BEST DIVORCE ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 1-6 months ago.
    • Veronica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was searching for a divorce attorney and already interviewed with couple of them. I was not satisfied with any of them until I met with Veronica. The way I met Veronica was exactly like a movie seen. Here is how all happened: I met with my going to be ex husband six years ago. I gave up on my academic carrier and decided to stay in America after we met. During our marriage I paid off his four credit card dept, sports car, $38 thousand second mortgage. He was debt free first time in his life and he got two promotion in his work and I was almost dying at the birth table, had a c section and etc.. He decided to cheat on me with a 10 year younger women which they met at the bus while his 11 months old baby and I visiting my relatives in other country. The story goes more dramatic but I don't want to bore you. One morning I served with exparte which I didn't even know what was it mean. I remember a huge stock of papers were saying return my baby to soon going to be my ex husband. Apparently his mother and his father wrote untruthful things about me so the person who was responsible at the court house was asking me to give my baby to him even though he didn't even have single over night with the baby. I was very scared and needed an attorney immediately so I search an attorney at the internet and found Veronica. She was not even working that day but told me that she would accept me in an hr if I don't mind her wearing sports clothes.. I told her of course it is ok, I am a personal trainer any way I think sweat pants was a good sign. When she opened the door and started talking about my case I already knew I was at the right place. She told me don't worry we are not going to give your baby to them. The court was 11 days later and my baby and I never slept even a night apart. She called the other attorney and told her to see her at the court tomorrow, we were not giving the baby. Other party immediately said well that's ok how about if the father sees the baby couple of hours some days until the court date. I was begging him to see his own kid day after day but he never did..Anyway Veronica has been fantastic. She is a fighter. She is brilliant can see so much different angels at once and defends you over the expectations. My sister, brother in law and my uncle are all attorneys in my country. I will say Verónica as an attorney is my favorite. She put me under her wings how to mother birds protect their babies from the wild. The funny part is my case is still going on and now my going to be my ex husband and I met for a civilized conversation first time after almost a year and he told me he hates his attorney. Even his attorney's hourly rate is lower than mine but apparently his total cost is twice as mine so far. I think Veronica's rate is very reasonable and worth it. I would recommend Veronica my eyes close.

  2. Expect the Exceptional When You Hire Veronica Freitas

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 1-3 years ago.
    • Veronica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Veronica for my Legal Separation/Divorce case. I was dealing with a person in which I had a court ordered restraining order and felt the need for strong representation as a protection. A number of her prior cases can be researched on Google and after reading about some of her very public court cases, I knew Veronica would be an outstanding choice. I was not disappointed. She was able to identify inconsistencies in the statements submitted by the other party which caused a judgment in my favor. My case took a year to finally settle. Having Veronica by my side along the way was a total confidence builder because based on my own experience with her, I could trust that she was going to be exceptional and I didn't have to worry. Veronica isn't really the caregiver type so I wouldn't expect a lot of hand holding. She definitely is the take charge no BS type which is imperative when you need someone strong to take the lead in a direction that equals positive results. She is without question one of the smartest women I have met.

  3. Hard Working Knowledgeable Lawyer

    Posted by Reidar, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 6-12 months ago.
    • Veronica handled my Family matter.

    If you are looking for a hard working, no nonsense lawyer that knows her stuff look no further. She has handled a couple tough cases for me and I have had VERY good out comes in both cases. Veronica not only gets the job done well she does it for a reasonable price, I can't recommend her enough.

  4. Best Lawyer you can ever ask for.

    Posted by Skye, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 6-12 months ago.
    • Veronica handled my Child Custody matter.

    For the past year I was in a custody battle with my ex husband. With a not to nice of a ex husband because of that I had to find a great lawyer that knew what they were doing so in return, Veronica was recommended to me by a dear friend. During the first part of the year it was a little slow and ended quickly, but later the case opened wide again. Because of that this whole year, Veronica and her trusty team of paralegals were on my side from the get go. I never worried when speaking with Veronica or her paralegals that it wasn't going to get done. Every thing that I asked in court it was done thanks to her awesome wonderful team before hand and taking care of the smallest details. Felt great knowing she is an awesome lawyer. She is really straight-forward and honest about everything that is needed upfront from you and what she is going to want to get out of the other party. She works very hard on my case sometimes even answering my emails really late into the night, she was there to answer right away. She can be costy but she is worth very dollar in the bank. I have never meet someone quiet like her, she in my eyes is the best lawyer I have seen in court and meet in person. She knows what she is going. She has a graceful way of attacking the other party in court. She loves finding new information and will dig into the other party. It was a delight to watch her and for her to be my lawyer. I felt bad that my ex husband lawyer was so lied to by his own client, I don't think his lawyer knew anything or what he was going for that matter. But Veronica in the end knew all the lies wouldn't add up and I would be good as gold. I'm thankful that Veronica seen early on what type of person my ex husband and lawyer were so she could build a great defence. I am truly thankful to have her as my lawyer and future lawyer if need be it. I won my case and very happy with the outcome thanks to Veronica and her team.

  5. Amazing Attorney

    Posted by Charles, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 6-12 months ago.
    • Veronica handled my Family matter.

    Went through two attorneys before I found Veronica. Hands down an amazing attorney. If I had had Veronica in the first place I would have been 100% better off. She helped correct the mistakes and lack of representation from the previous two attorneys and finally I was able to get a good parenting plan for myself and my son. She is amazing all around !! Could not speak highly enough about her.

  6. Phenominal in the court room

    Posted by Matt, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 6-12 months ago.
    • Veronica handled my Child Custody matter.

    I've had a long hard battle for custody of my daughter and thanks to Veronica, I was able to secure the best outcome for her. My ex wife was physically and emotionally abusive to me, and emotionally abusive to our daughter. She had multiple friends of hers make things up and straight out lie about me. The court appointed parental evaluator did a terrible job of her report and recommended my ex wife to have custody.
    In trial, Veronica knew all the evidences back to front, including which pieces of evidence were on which page of which exhibit. She was able to show my ex wife to be aggressive, violent and a liar in court, and was able to do it efficiently. She judged which evidence carried maximum weight and didn't waste time (e.g. money) on things which were redundant. She was a sniper when it came to hitting the right points to show how things really were. She left the parenting evaluator looking like a complete fool, and showed that her report distorted things in favor of my ex wife in ways which left no doubt about the report having little value. Veronica's understanding of what components of the report were most important allowed her to show major flaws in key areas without needing to go over every line of the report while still undermining the validity of the whole thing.
    Early on in my case, it became very clear that a solution wouldn't be able to be negotiated with my ex wife outside of a court room, so instead of wasting time (e.g. money) jumping through hoops, which would achieve nothing, Veronica did what was needed for a good faith effort without getting caught up trying to get a resolution at that stage. She's very good at avoiding smacking your head against a brick wall.
    The best thing I can say about Veronica is that, even though I was her client, she acted like my daughter was the one she was fighting for. She had my daughter's best interest at heart and wasn't afraid to let me know that I should change something in a proposed parenting plan as it would be better for my daughter, even though it would give me a little less time with her. Veronica is one of the few lawyers who is truly in the business to have a positive impact on peoples' lives.
    If you have a case which will go to trial, you should hire Veronica before the other side does.

  7. Wouldn't hire again...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 1-3 years ago.
    • Veronica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I am surprised to see all of the positive reviews on Ms. Freitas. I was referred to her by another attorney and she was willing to work for what I could afford which was nice. However, there were many discrepancies in my documents even after I reviewed and asked to have corrected, she was professional but not compassionate, and knowledgeable but not friendly. After contacting her multiple times to correct documented errors I still have had no response...

  8. beyond expectations---phenomenal, brilliant, powerful and hardworking attorney!

    Posted by Andrea, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 1-3 years ago.
    • Veronica handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Veronica entered a complex and highly conflicted relocation case at the 11th hour before a 7 day trial.
    Every penny was worth it, and more. She is extremely intelligent, efficient and her bills fair. She returned my calls and emails the same day. She worked over time from the start, and when it was necessary before trial, over a long holiday weekend. She spent overnights in my area near the courthouse. I have never seen an attorney more prepared or more in charge and determined to win. She owned the courtroom the minute she stepped in. She reversed a GAL recommendation against me by factually and systematically taking apart the report and exposing the errors. She won the case with her intelligence, experience, detailed preparation, extreme hard work and dogged determination. Her retention of complex factual details covering a five year period, during multiple day long cross examinations of witnesses was highly impressive. It would be impossible to find a better attorney. She is TV star quality. Every supporting friend in the courtroom took her information to contact her if ever necessary--she would be the attorney they all wanted.
    Veronica is a powerhouse. I thank God I found her.

  9. Compassionate, Brilliant, and Efficient - she saved our lives

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 1-3 years ago.
    • Veronica handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Veronica represented me in an extremely complicated and challenging domestic violence divorce case with serious and complex safety issues.
    I came to her after spending a fortune on other lawyers. From the beginning she was clear and brilliant, while remaining kind and compassionate. There was no wasting of time or money. Upfront about time, efforts, and costs, she was spot on in all her predictions and consistent in her quick and detailed follow through.
    She and her staff put my children and I at the forefront of every moment we spent together. Veronica clearly had many clients when she took me on, but I always felt like I was the most important issue to her. Her razor sharp focus combined with her many years of experience really made things move along at a good pace. She cut through all the issues and got the best results possible for the safety and welfare of my children and myself.
    In many ways, we owe her our lives.
    After working with four other lawyers on this case, and consulting with half a dozen more, I can't imagine anyone doing better than Veronica, and she always remembered I was a person going through a tragedy and treated me with compassion.

  10. Would recommend Veronica A. Freitas to anyone

    Posted by Sebastian, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Veronica Freitas.
    • I hired Veronica 1-3 years ago.
    • Veronica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was involved in a highly contentious divorce involving child custody and Veronica helped me make sense of the legal system and gave me the support and knowledge to make the best decisions I could for myself and my daughter. From the very start I felt comforted by her extensive experience and familiarity with all aspects of family court. I do not believe that the outcome of the case could have turned out any better for myself and my daughter with any other lawyer.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

206-328-7362