Virginia M Amis’s Reviews

Virginia M Amis

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent divorce attorney

    Posted by Ally, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Family matter.

    Virginia is a smart, tough divorce attorney who is able to get results without playing dirty. She levels with you and helps you see the divorce as just a step in your life instead of something that consumes your life. She gave me excellent advice throughout the process, not just professionally but also personally. Something she told me that changed my life and my divorce experience is that I had to choose who I wanted to be in the divorce-- I could be bitter, angry, and vengeful, or I could be professional, above board, and move on. She said, "the best revenge is to have a great life." These words are so powerful and moving when going through the divorce experience especially because it is easy to lose one's self in the process.
    I was able to reasonably maintain my cool throughout the process, thanks to her advice, her professionalism, and her dedication to getting the divorce process finished as quickly as possible while achieving the results I wanted. In sum, I received everything I wanted and needed from my divorce (financially and also property), and I was able to walk away holding my head high knowing that everything was done ethically and above-board.

  2. Best Attorney for the Job

    Posted by Dave, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Virginia has assisted me in my divorce proceedings, child custody case, maintenance hearings as well as other issues that have arisen from my separation and divorce. During the past 7 years since my separation I have been tormented by my ex-wife through her use of the court system. I have not lost 1 case while retaining Virginia Amis' services. Even while dealing with multiple different opposing counsels in the cases brought against me, Virginia has risen to the occasion to represent me with the utmost professionalism, diligence and detailed knowledge of the law.
    I could and would not ask for a different attorney to represent me in any family matter that may arise in the future. I strongly recommend for anyone needing representation in Virginia's field of practice to consult her before anyone else. Speaking from experience, you can trust that her ethical and professional efforts for her clients are top shelf.

  3. Spectacular Service!!!

    Posted by Anna Y. Peppard, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Virginia after my husband filed a restraining order against me that prevented my daughter and I from seeing each other for 2 weeks. My husband made up a sick excuse that my boyfriend harassed my daughter and I did nothing about it. He was jealous because I wanted a divorce and he didn't like my boyfriend. I realized I needed to find a lawyer and had 2 weeks to act.

    After doing some research I found Virginia Amis. I went to speak with her about the situation through a free consultation. She was very understanding and knew I had limited time to respond against the restraining order. After speaking with some friends I borrowed a retention fee. Upon paying the retention fee, Virginia immediately began going to work for me. In fact, she even cancelled a consultation. We hammered out a response to the restraining order in a couple hours.

    Long story short, my husband ended up canceling the restraining order and never re-filed. I finally got to see my daughter again after 2 weeks. Furthermore... Virginia created a temporary parenting plan that was very fair. I would have my daughter 3 days while my husband would have her for 4 days. I was glad there was a parenting plan in place. Thank you Virginia.

    After the restaining order was nulled, my husband filed a motion for spousal support. He wanted $700/mth. with a lump some payment of $2500. Virginia and her team did a fantastic job scripting the response to my husband's motion. We than went to trial for spousal support and my husband was denied any moneys. Again, Virginia and her team were very communicative and responsive during this time.

    I am now in debt from my husbands frivoulous motions. Fortunately, Virginia offered to drop her hourly fees to accomodate my income.

    Virginia set-up a mediation for my husband and I. She even attended the mediation to provide support for me. I was very nervous at the time and greatly appreciated her presence. I was surprised to see the awesome notebook of files Virginia and her team organized and presented to the mediator.

    Virginia has done very remarkable work for me and I would recommend her to anyone going through a tough divorce situation. She is professionable, knowledgeable, and has a wonderful team around her. Veronica, her assistant is a great example. Veronica was always there when I wanted to communicate. She always reponded in less than 24 hours to my questions or concerns.

    I have been more than happy to be represented by Virginia Amis and her teammates. After 20 years of experience she definitly knows the right way to go!

    Thank you again Virginia!

    Sincerely,

    Anna Y. Peppard.

  4. Highly Professional and knowledgeable

    Posted by Cliff, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Virginia to anyone needing a divorce attorney. We went through a long, complex set of hearings (including mediation) and tons of documentation - all handled efficiently with lots of helpful communication. Great attention to detail. Follow her suggestions and counsel!

  5. Highly Recommend -Professional, Thorough and Ethical

    Posted by Diane, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had the pleasure of having Ms. Amis represent me in a personal matter and found her to be responsive, thorough and very effective. I was most appreciative of her prompt response although her calendar was full. She definitely went above and beyond to represent me and to provide sage advice.
    I highly recommend Ms. Amis

  6. The Best Choice You Could Make

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I am almost a year into my case, and can say with certainty that Virginia has handled my case with the utmost integrity and respect for me and my son. She and her assistant are both very knowledgeable, forthcoming and responsive to all my questions or concerns no matter how silly or important they may be. I happen to work in the legal field, and though I do not work in family law, I’ve had 6 years of experience with attorneys both good and bad. I’m very pleased by my choice of attorney for what I can honestly say is one of the most difficult things I’ve ever had to endure. Despite the situation that I’m in, Virginia has made it bearable and I can rest assured that no matter the outcome whether I consider it to be good or bad, I know that she has my child’s best interest at heart and that is all that matters to me in the long run! I would highly recommend Virginia to anyone dealing with a family law case. I just couldn't imagine putting my trust and future in the hands of many others.

  7. Client Review

    Posted by April E., a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Virginia has been my attorney since 2007. I have been going through a very messy and ongoing custody battle for many years and Virginia has been by my side through the entire process. Every time something comes up she immediately handles things and gets in touch with me to inform me and get my opinions/thoughts/requests. Even when I've been frustrated and to the point of quitting she has kept me going. Virginia has been my voice when no one has listened. She is strong, truthful and very organized. I know I can always trust Virginia to be honest with me even when it might hurt or not be what I want to hear, she truly has your best interests at heart. She doesn't sugar coat things nor does she let me do unnecessary procedures just to take my money. Virginia listens to me thoroughly and then gives me her opinion and legal advice, she allows me to question her and lets me know why she decides what she does while actively supporting me and my decisions. She helps me to see the big picture and not get lost in all the many details - she keeps my head straight and my mind focused. Virginia is kind and very caring while maintaining a balance of client/attorney boundaries. She has spent countless hours researching, asking questions, writing, and fighting for me and my family. I will continue to stay with Virginia for as long as it takes.

  8. Very knowledgeable, capable and competent.

    Posted by Laura, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Virginia was amazing to work with during this difficult time. Divorce is stressful enough as it is, so having an attorney who kept me focused on the right issues was very important to me. Virginia was good about giving me options and the pros/cons so that I could make the right decision for me. I always felt she was taking me down a path that was in my best interest and more iimportantly that of my kids. She was very good at listening to what is important to me and treating me respectfully throughout the process, whereas others I interviewed were not. Her follow-up was always timely and professional. As a working woman with a busy career, my schedule can be quite hectic. Virginia made herself available for early morning calls and was always available via email. While I hope to never use her again, I would without hesitation.

  9. Excellent Lawyer! Highly Recommended!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been very pleased with my experience with Virginia. She is a very caring, honest, and knowledgeable lawyer. She never waste my time by chit chatting nonsense. She is very efficient in obtaining the necessary data for my case. We won in a couple of court cases regarding child custody. I recommend her highly to anyone needing an excellent lawyer.

  10. Very helpful and ethical in her practice

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Amis.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had worked with Virginia and her assistant for 21 months on a divorce and custody situation. The opposing counselor was very vindictive and unethical. I provided Virginia with as much information as possible to allow her to do the proper job for me. Both Virginia and her assistant were very responsive when situations came up. I have used 3 other attorneys for non-family law situations and none kept me as informed with documents and communications as Virginia and her assistant did. They were very knowledgeable and if they could not answer right away they did get an exact answer within a responsible time.