Michael Ditchik’s Reviews

Michael Ditchik

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Not aggressive! Not confident! Do not hire!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. DITCHIK over charged. He fumbled at all court appearances and was unorganized. Mr. Ditchik was not confident and got walked over by the opposing attorney. I parted ways with him and went elsewhere and I'm glad I did. Beware. I have plenty more to say but just run. Happy with new counsel.

  2. A Great Attorney

    Posted by Margaret, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After looking for several weeks for a good attorney, we finally found Mr. Ditchik to help us file a Habeas Corpus. Mr. Ditchik was easy to talk with, and he had thorough knowledge of the laws and paperwork required to help us win our case. Mr. Ditchik always showed confidence and outstanding character during our meetings. He was straight forward and explained all of the legal jargon. An excellent attorney, and even more important a good person. Mr. Ditchik and his team treated us fairly and with respect. I never would have expected the level of service we received, including evening phone calls just to make sure I knew where we were with the case and to see if I had any questions.
    In addition, Mr. Ditchik's paralegal was readily available to answer questions and emails. When I sent an email, either Mr. Ditchik or his paralegal would respond within minutes, even emails that were sent in the evening.
    After our trial, Mr. Ditchik again contacted me to just to see how things were going. Within a few days of the end of our trial, Mr. Ditchik sent us an itemized expense account, so we knew exactly how the fees were utilized.
    I would have never expected this much customer service from a lawyer. I am so happy that my family stumbled upon his website. We have no regrets.

  3. Grateful Client

    Posted by Margaret, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My case was a modification of my nine-year-old divorce. Our children and I live out of state and I have never personally met either Mike or Michelle. My ex-husband has chosen not to call, email or write to our children during the past nine years and our case was difficult. There were extenuating circumstances (DV, Stalking, the list goes on; there are reasons we live far from him).
    In the modification, I wanted our children's college as well as the volume of uninsured medical costs determined. In WA, post- secondary education can be distributed between both parents. As our children are bright, and our daughter wants to go to medical school, this is a huge issue. Mike fought and won. Equally, my ex was responsible for 70% of the uninsured medical costs. Though I sent him the papers for these costs numerous times, he refused to pay. Mike took care of this immediately.
    I trust both Mike and Michelle implicitly. Though I hope I don't need to, I would hire him again in a second if needed.

  4. Great attorney, great office!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My divorce wasn't complicated but my (now) ex and I can't stand each other and my ex made things difficult for moving things along. Mike was on top of if all the time and kept things moving. His assistant Michelle, always kept me informed and was very helpful, especially when Mike was away at court. You get what you pay for. I paid and got exceptional representation and service. I couldn't have asked for more.

  5. Absolutely Amazing-Works Hard For You!

    Posted by Michelle, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a VERY COMPLEX family law case where I had been representing myself for months prior. Mike and Michelle (his legal assistant) worked very hard, because my hearing was so soon, they worked evening and weekends to prepare me for a VERY IMPORTANT hearing involving custody of my daughter. Thanks Mike and Michelle-you are an awesome team!

  6. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mike was the best attorney! I felt like he always was avaliable to me, always answered my questions and was on top on my case the entire time. He was confident in court and made sure my case was presented to the court in the best way possible.
    I didn't get everything I wanted, (who does) but that had more to do do with the facts of my case. I read the below reviews and I absolutely disagree! Mike isn't afraid of anyone...he's from New York! I highly recommend Mike and wouldn't use anyone else if I have another family law issue.

  7. Yikes, just say no

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired this lawyer for $275.00 per hour. He would draw out conversations to make them longer. He didn't keep me informed on any dates. All the sudden I get an urgent email saying we had to go to mediation, who the mediator is and how much we owe him. I didn't want to go to mediation and said repeatedly we could likely work this out between the parties. His only interest was to go to mediation and trial. He didn't seem the least bit interested in getting this settled between the parties. I don't know how many times he said we would end up in mediation or trial. We had to get an emergency continuance and pay the mediator anyway. I'm poor and had no intention of doing either of these. $11,000.00 later and with no mediation or trial we settled. I can't imagine how much it would have been had we gone to mediation or trial. I know it would have been at least double. Just say no to this lawyer!

    1. Michael Ditchik

      Michael Ditchik

      Lawyer Comment:

      The best way to get feedback on an attorney you are considering retaining is to ask other attorneys in the area. Those that know me know I do not inflate by bills, so what this client is saying is simply untrue. In this field, we always have our share of unhappy clients, it goes with the territory. Divorce is not a fun experience. so many clients come in unhappy at the outset, for good reason. All we can do is the best we can do. As I said, call around. I've been practicing since 1987. The local attorneys know each other for the most part and my reputation will speak for itself.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  8. His representation is a joke!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    ********************************** Warning Be aware******************************
    I retained Mike's services for a divorce I am going through and from day one he seemed scared of the opposing attorney. I point blank asked if he was the person I needed to get the job done and he said, “Yes". How wrong he was. He had me hook line and sinker. I figured for the hourly rate he charged ($275.00) he must be good. He started off not being able to send or receive emails; he couldn't open files or attach files to emails. I thought to myself "my grandma who’s is in her late 80's can do this what is this guy’s problem?" So a long story short we go to court and he has this papers submitted with incorrect info on them and made us look like complete frigging idiots and I got my ass handed to me. Bottom line I would say a safer bet is to take your money you have for an attorney and burn it, you'll get more help from a pile of ashes and at least he won’t be getting any of your money!

    1. Michael Ditchik

      Michael Ditchik

      Lawyer Comment:

      If I am correct, this particular client was very unhappy from the outset and had a significant anger problem. I think that's evident from the tone of the posting. I was even debating whether to take on this client after the initial interview. If this is indeed the client I am thinking of, he/she got a bad result at the temporary orders hearing; it does happen. It was however, not the result of anything this office did or did not do. If you could (theoretically) ask any of the sitting Court Commissioners he or she would, in all likelihood, tell you that I am well prepared in court, thorough and very experienced. I believe this client's orders were "corrected" on revision shortly afterwards, because the result at the initial hearing was so clearly erroneous. I should note however that no attorney or other professional is perfect, not doctors, lawyers, accountants or anyone else for that matter. To say otherwise would be unethical, not to mention simply not credible. As far as the other unflattering allegations are concerned, as I said above, I have been practicing here for many years and my reputation is established. Ask around. It's the best way to get the feedback you need.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Mediator

    Posted by Kay, a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Mediation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike was my mediator during my divorce. He is very knowledgeable in the area of divorce and family law. I was told by numerous lawyers and paralegals that he was an excellent trial lawyer. My case didn't have to go to trial, but if it did, he's the person that I would have like to have on my side. I felt very comfortable, he's very responsible, trustworthy and knowledgable in his area of expertise.

  10. divorce is final

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend this attorney highly, my divorce was very long and I am so glad it is finalized.