Michael Ditchik’s Reviews

Michael Ditchik

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Women beware!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Ditchik.

    While his paralegal Michelle was great and, thankfully, handled most my case excepting court appearances, Mike was disgusting, and unprofessional. I hated going to his office for meetings because he would do nothing but ogle me and he was always insistent that I come in, versus do anything on the phone. Once, when I standing in the hallway messaging someone, I overheard Mike talking to someone about how he couldn't stop looking at my breasts, wondering if I would be interested in "working off" my bill with him and "what he wouldn't give" to spend the night with me. I didn't go to my meeting that evening and didn't meet with him again, unless Michelle was in the office too because I just couldn't bear the thought of being alone with him.
    Unfortunately I couldn't afford to find another attorney so I was forced to keep him on. His representation of me was not great. He bumbled around, was completely disorganized and forgot the facts of my case. Thankfully Michelle was competent at her job with writing all of my papers, because Mike clearly was more focused on hiding his hard-on than actually do his job.
    My case ultimately settled and I did get most of what I wanted, so that's good, but being stuck alone with him at the mediation gave me the willies. I had to go home after and shower because I felt so scuzzy.

  2. Divorce issue

    Posted by Nori,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.

    He is a busy lawyer. I did not have any children and went against my-ex wife who requested me high maintenance monthly charge even I raised her children.

  3. spineless

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Ditchik.

    He did not get me any of the results he had said he would. I honestly feel I could have done just as well without him. He was way, way over priced, it was a huge mistake for me to have hired him for my divorce. He just does not have any backbone, and seemed very uninterested in my case. He is not what he should be for the cost. I would highly tell anyone not to hire him. Especially if you are a woman.

    1. Michael Ditchik

      Michael Ditchik

      Lawyer Comment:

      First of all, an attorney cannot "tell" a client he or she will get a particular result, it's unethical, not to mention impossible. This client had unrealistic expectations, heard what she wanted to hear and was not happy when she didn't get everything she wanted. The fact that she says I told her I would get a particular result clearly indicates she is not being entirely truthful, to put it politely.
      As for my hourly rate, I'm below market for this area and/or my experience level.
      As to the backbone comment, that's what most divorce clients say when they don't get what they want. They blame their attorney for "not trying," among other things. I practiced law my first seven or so years in New York City. There isn't a tougher place to practice, so I almost have to laugh at the "spineless" comment. Bottom line here, no attorney could have gotten this client what she wanted and apparently, she has to blame someone.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  4. Great lawyer who handled my case very professionally

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike was great - offered great advice, got my case settled quickly and to my favor. I ended up making one decision that Mike advised me against and he was supportive but informed me of my options and made sure that I was making a good/solid decision about my case.

    He was honest and very up-front about what to expect and how things would go. He knew my ex-husband's lawyer and was knowledgeable about anticipating their responses.

    Michelle was great as well - always answering my questions and responding to my many e-mails about my case and how things were proceeding.

  5. Not aggressive! Not confident! Do not hire!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. DITCHIK over charged. He fumbled at all court appearances and was unorganized. Mr. Ditchik was not confident and got walked over by the opposing attorney. I parted ways with him and went elsewhere and I'm glad I did. Beware. I have plenty more to say but just run. Happy with new counsel.

  6. A Great Attorney

    Posted by Margaret, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After looking for several weeks for a good attorney, we finally found Mr. Ditchik to help us file a Habeas Corpus. Mr. Ditchik was easy to talk with, and he had thorough knowledge of the laws and paperwork required to help us win our case. Mr. Ditchik always showed confidence and outstanding character during our meetings. He was straight forward and explained all of the legal jargon. An excellent attorney, and even more important a good person. Mr. Ditchik and his team treated us fairly and with respect. I never would have expected the level of service we received, including evening phone calls just to make sure I knew where we were with the case and to see if I had any questions.
    In addition, Mr. Ditchik's paralegal was readily available to answer questions and emails. When I sent an email, either Mr. Ditchik or his paralegal would respond within minutes, even emails that were sent in the evening.
    After our trial, Mr. Ditchik again contacted me to just to see how things were going. Within a few days of the end of our trial, Mr. Ditchik sent us an itemized expense account, so we knew exactly how the fees were utilized.
    I would have never expected this much customer service from a lawyer. I am so happy that my family stumbled upon his website. We have no regrets.

  7. Grateful Client

    Posted by Margaret, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My case was a modification of my nine-year-old divorce. Our children and I live out of state and I have never personally met either Mike or Michelle. My ex-husband has chosen not to call, email or write to our children during the past nine years and our case was difficult. There were extenuating circumstances (DV, Stalking, the list goes on; there are reasons we live far from him).
    In the modification, I wanted our children's college as well as the volume of uninsured medical costs determined. In WA, post- secondary education can be distributed between both parents. As our children are bright, and our daughter wants to go to medical school, this is a huge issue. Mike fought and won. Equally, my ex was responsible for 70% of the uninsured medical costs. Though I sent him the papers for these costs numerous times, he refused to pay. Mike took care of this immediately.
    I trust both Mike and Michelle implicitly. Though I hope I don't need to, I would hire him again in a second if needed.

  8. Great attorney, great office!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My divorce wasn't complicated but my (now) ex and I can't stand each other and my ex made things difficult for moving things along. Mike was on top of if all the time and kept things moving. His assistant Michelle, always kept me informed and was very helpful, especially when Mike was away at court. You get what you pay for. I paid and got exceptional representation and service. I couldn't have asked for more.

  9. Absolutely Amazing-Works Hard For You!

    Posted by Michelle, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a VERY COMPLEX family law case where I had been representing myself for months prior. Mike and Michelle (his legal assistant) worked very hard, because my hearing was so soon, they worked evening and weekends to prepare me for a VERY IMPORTANT hearing involving custody of my daughter. Thanks Mike and Michelle-you are an awesome team!

  10. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Ditchik.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mike was the best attorney! I felt like he always was avaliable to me, always answered my questions and was on top on my case the entire time. He was confident in court and made sure my case was presented to the court in the best way possible.
    I didn't get everything I wanted, (who does) but that had more to do do with the facts of my case. I read the below reviews and I absolutely disagree! Mike isn't afraid of anyone...he's from New York! I highly recommend Mike and wouldn't use anyone else if I have another family law issue.