Ted D. Billbe’s Reviews

Ted D. Billbe

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Kind and Thoughtful Family Law Advocate

    Posted by Michelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted 1-3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    By the time I interviewed Mr Billbe, I had already spent 10s of thousands of dollars and a year of my life trying to reach an amicable agreement with my husband. I was living paycheck to paycheck, had just a little left in savings and felt like I was losing my mind. During our initial consultation Ted asked several questions about my situation, more importantly, he listened, explained the divorce process then got into the specific strategies towards accomplishing my goal; becoming divorced as quickly and as inexpensively as possible.

    Hiring a great attorney is critical however, clients have a responsibility to educate ourselves, participate, listen to counsel advice and keep the big picture in mind. As a skilled attorney who won’t get mired in minutia as well as a kind and thoughtful human being; I would highly recommend Ted Billbe to friends or family looking for a family law advocate.

  2. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted 1-3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ted Billbe represented me with the utmost respect and consideration. He is an outstanding lawyer who was prompt with all my requests and questions in regards to issues that faced me. He is completely knowledgeable and an expert in his field. He guided me with accurate information saving me thousands of dollars. I had total confidence in his abilities. He really took the time to explain to me all obstacles that faced me so I understood completely my situation. He has a great understanding of the Family Court system and did everything he could to assist me. I highly recommend Ted to anyone who is in need of representation.

  3. All about the money

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I do not recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ted is aggressive, & it will cost you. It was shocking to receive monthly invoices averaging $2-4k. After asking how to reduce fees, I was never offered to write my own declarations, motions, etc. Ted continued to control every aspect of my case and charge away. I am still upset over the fact that so much billing was unnecessary and felt completely taken advantage of due to such an emotional time in my life. I've since had to hire two other attorneys & they have been reasonable.

  4. Exceptional representation

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ted represented me in a recently concluded divorce. He and his staff are professional, personable and responsive. I highly recommend!

  5. Gave me peace of mind

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When my daughter was served divorce papers I was extremely worried. One of my greatest fears was that because she was well employed she would not receive the financial support required to give her two small boys a life she wanted for them. When she hired Ted Billbe, my worries vanished. Thanks to his exceptionally sound knowledge, experience and advice she was well represented in a timely and professional manner, and the end results were fair and equitable.

  6. Extremely capable

    Posted by Ann, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I was served divorce papers I knew that I needed someone capable in my corner. I was referred to Ted Billbe by a close friend who'd been in the same situation, and I knew right away by his pragmatic approach, extensive knowledge of family law, and his oh-so-direct style that he was THE attorney for me. I felt that suddenly I was in control. He and his associate attorney worked tirelessly as a team to make sure that my boys and I were protected from Day One. The law offices of Ted Billbe and staff gave me peace of mind, confidence, and security. I will be forever grateful, and I can't recommend their services highly enough!

  7. Ted is a great choice for an attorney, highly recommend

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After 27 years of marriage, the decision to seek a divorce did not come without serious thought and consideration. In selecting an attorney to handle my divorce, I relied on recommendations from friends who had recently gone through the divorce process. Ted Bilbee was one of these recommedations. I called several, and none gave me the feeling that I had after I contacted Ted Bilbee and his office staff.

    The intitial phone conversation with his partner/wife Sheila made me feel that this was someone I could trust to look out for my better interests and that my divorce would be just as important as any other he was handling. There was absolutely no pressure to sign with him at my initial consultation. In fact, he encouraged me to consider all we'd talked about, seek out the advice of at least one other attorney and call him back with my decision.

    Throughout the process, he was attentive to my needs, handled all the complications that occurred, and was immediately available and involved with even the most minute details of the divorce. If something was important to me, it was important to him.

    I could not be more pleased with the results of his handling of my case, and would highly recommend him to anyone going through the difficulties of the divorce experience. Ted was absolutely wonderful.

  8. Very grateful for a competent advocate -- glad I chose Ted

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A divorce attorney is a professional I never expected to hire. Aside from the personal trauma, I was daunted by the huge roster of attorneys working in the area. Ted was referred by a client of a friend; the client reported that Ted worked the case in her favor and that the outcome was much better than she had hoped.

    After a consultation with Ted, I was surprised that he recommended contacting at least one other attorney, that I educate my self about the process, and evaluate whether I felt that he was a good fit for my case. I took his advice, and in the end, hired him over the other attorneys I had contacted.

    It was a great choice! His thorough knowledge of the process and ability to navigate roadblocks are impressive. Our case involved a good deal of foot-dragging from the other end, and Ted made intelligent calls regarding when to wait and when to act. He was responsive to my questions and preferences, and made adjustments to his approach based on my opinion. But he also was careful to make sure I understood the cause and effect of decisions we made.

    The team working in the office is phenomenal; they are efficient, personable, responsive, and always very supportive.

    You wouldn’t call the process “pleasant,” but I’m certain that hiring a competent attorney reduced the stress and made the journey easier.

  9. An outstanding attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I first met Ted I was nervous about the divorce process. Ted took the time to explain the process and he stoood by my side and calmed my nerves. He was always available whenever I needed him and was an oustanding advocate for me. He was always on top of the issues in my case. I always felt that I was his top priority. He constantly explained my options to me and looked for ways to achieve my goals and reduce my legal costs. In legal matters Ted was a walking encyclopedia. He is truly an outstanding attorney in every sense of the word. I am very happy that I found him and highly recommend him to anyone going through a divorce. His office staff was awesome

  10. Satisfied client

    Posted by Eileen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Billbe.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ted Bilble was an outstanding advocate for me and my children. He was knowledgeable, thoughtful and wise. He was available whenever I needed him regarding my divorce, child custody, child support and when I required a restraining order. I consider Ted a friend as well as his wife, Sheila, who manages the office. I felt well supported and well represented and I appreciate everything they have done for me.