Paul J DeBast’s Reviews

Paul J DeBast

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Representation - Excellent Results

    Posted by Pamela, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Paul provided me with excellent legal representation during a very difficult drawn out divorce/separation which was complicated by an uncooperative and dishonest (ex) spouse. I was very happy with the settlement, his professionalism and the cooperation and help from his colleagues in the office. I would most definitely recommend Mr. DeBast to anyone going through a separation or divorce.

  2. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Beverly, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    While I wouldn't wish a divorce like mine upon anyone, I can't imagine having gone through it without Mr. DeBast and his assistant Jenne by my side. Mr. DeBast is efficient, intelligent and conscientious. My ex refused to even attempt to settle - Mr. DeBast was well prepared for court and ensured I obtained a fair judgment for myself and my children.

  3. The Best Divorce Lawyer There Is

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Two and half years ago, I hired Mr. DeBast to handle my divorce after he was recommended to me by my trust lawyer (Mr. DeBast was my trust lawyer's top choice) and after I had an impressive initial interview with him. He helped me successfully ended my marriage after reaching an agreement with my ex outside the court. The spousal support I got was far better than I could ever expect. The success did not come easy at all. During the divorce, my ex became extreme unreasonable. In several areas (spousal support, real estate property, life insurance, and division of stocks) that a marriage dissolution must address, my ex played hard ball on very little issues and with every little details. Negotiation had to take place and resolutions had to be reached at every level. This probably resulted in one of the most complex divorce decrees every written. Fortunately, this painful process lasted only for about 6 month due to Mr. DeBast being able to handle this difficult and complex divorce efficiently.

    I attribute the success of my case to i) him being one of the most experienced divorce lawyers, ii) his amazing ability at storing a large database of divorce laws and precedences in his head, iii) his amazing ability at cleverly applying these laws and precedences to his client's situations, iv) the clarity and sharpness in his thinking, v) a large pool of strategies he developed in dealing with all kinds of situations, and iv) the clarity and conciseness in his verbal communication and in writing legal documents.

    I attribute his efficiency in handing my case to not only to the organization power in his mind but also to the electronic file system he developed to store and organize information about his clients' , divorce precedences and divorce laws. The combined power of his mind and the computer technology he uses allowed him to deal with complexity and difficulties efficiently and successfully. One other advantage I find in him having a well organization file system is that he could easily pull out relavent divorce laws and precedences to educate me which allowed me to deal with my ex's when he kept making unreasonable demands.

    I highly, highly recommend Mr. DeBast if you are going through divorce, I especially recommend that you consider Mr. DeBast if you find yourself in a complex and/or difficult situation that involves divorce laws.

  4. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Stuart, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Paul was my attorney during my recent alimony modification case. It quickly became evident that my case would not be settled out of court. At every stage of the process, I felt I was getting very sound legal advice and expert representation. He prepared my case carefully and presented it superbly in court with integrity and a very professional demeanor. At the end of the case the judge went out of her way to compliment him on his case presentation and I believe the court's decision reflected this. He has my strong recommendation.

  5. Integrity, Wisdom, and Knowledge

    Posted by Julie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am truly thankful for Mr. DeBast's services. I worked with Mr. DeBast for several years. I was faced with a number of new legal motions by the opposing side, which Mr. DeBast handled thoughtfully and diligently. He always listened to my concerns and then first gave his take on the big picture and then my legal options. He was not only highly knowledgeable and experienced, but also caring and concerned about our entire family's well-being. I would highly recommend Paul DeBast's services.

  6. I would highly recommend

    Posted by larry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Paul and his staff handled my very contentious divorce. He was very thorough in informing me of my rights and what a court was likely to award. Paul was always trying to settle the case and prevent me from spending my resources on attorney fees. I would highly recommend him and his firm.

  7. Represented me in a very long tedious divorce proceeding

    Posted by Dan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Mr. DeBast to anyone who is facing a difficult situation regarding family law and/or divorce. I was in just such a situation and was able to avoid court proceedings, and obtain a fair and just settlement thanks to the efforts of Mr. DeBast and his very kind and understanding staff. His expertise and accurate guidance allowed me to get on with my life with very little disruption.

    If Mr. BeBast tells you he can do something to help you "take it to the bank" because he will! He will always temper his services with a complete total effort to save his client money, and time.

  8. Honest, Experienced and Caring Professional

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. DeBast was recommended to me during the difficult time of assessing a pending divorce. With the decision made, Mr. DeBast's legal services were engaged. This was the best decision I ever made; as I found Mr. DeBast to be kind, compassionate, intelligent, sensitive, and very professional during a hostile and challenging divorce and custody case. This case spanned the length of a year and required depositions, mediations, business valuations, and ultimately a court trial. During the case, I never failed to receive Mr. DeBast's honest and professional services. When necessary, Mr. DeBast encouraged me and supported me in engaging outside professionals that were vital to the case. I truly believe that it was Mr. DeBast's excellent reputation and professional presentation that brought a fair and honest resolution to my case.

  9. Experienced But Slick

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Paul DeBast is knowledgeable and highly experienced in divorce law. He can be charming and his office is well-organized. He also responded promptly to queries I sent him by telephone or email. Unfortunately, he has a rather thin skin, a hair-trigger temper and is not a good listener. Clients who are shy or not skilled at argumentation may find him overbearing.

    In my case, things went well early in the divorce process. Court filings were performed correctly and on time, and my paperwork appeared well-managed. Problems arose, however, when I questioned the length of time the process seemed to be taking. At one point, my wife mentioned that she was working on a required budget document. When I asked DeBast if this was something I needed to fill out, he immediately sent me the form, leaving me to wonder why I had had to request it and what, if any, other forms I might be missing.

    Later, his office made no effort to contact me prior to an important court status review. When questioned about this, DeBast pointed out that he had sent me a letter (*over two months earlier!*) telling me to contact him two weeks prior to the court appearance. Although I did not question his competence or experience, he took my questions as an attack on his integrity and reacted by summarily terminating our relationship.

    Another issue, revealed only after I met with a different attorney, is that DeBast is exceedlingly slick in responding to questions about likely outcomes in the areas of spousal support and division of assets. In place of direct responses based on his long experience, he prefers to hand out documents summarizing the results of many “typical” divorce cases.

    If you need a lawyer who will guide you carefully, quickly and pro-actively through the divorce process, making sure that you understand what is needed at each step, and giving you sufficient lead time to prepare, you may wish to look elsewhere.

  10. A good friend years after my work with Paul.

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul DeBast.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    As my divorce became inevitable, I engaged a large, local law firm specializing in Divorce work. After $20,000 and no progress, I came to Paul on referral of a friend.
    Paul and his staff proceeded expediciously and met the "bully" plaintiff lawyer(s) with both calm presentation and firm assertiveness, as the time or issue of the moment demanded. Paul always was up to date, current, and pro-active on my case and acted both as an attorney and counselor in a divorce that took 36 months. Paul's knowledge and professional network supports his standing as #1 in my book and the first attorney that I refer too. Thank you. Mike