Robert T Scherzer’s Reviews

Robert T Scherzer

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Testimonial

    Posted by Joni, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Scherzer.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Robert was compassionate and I felt in my corner from the minute I met him. He advised me honestly, not always with information that I wanted to hear. He encouraged me to work with my ex-husband, doing our best to stay out of court and leaving a decision up to a judge. I was impressed with that, knowing that a drawn out divorce would cause us more time, money, and energy.

    Once our divorce was final, Robert was still available to me to answer questions I had about issues that cropped up, but still foreign to me. He has always been responsive and a resource on which I can depend.

  2. Practical & effective

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Scherzer.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Robert helped me with my divorce. He is of course an expert in the field with decades of experience; that kind of goes without saying. Technical skills are unquestionable. More than that, he has a common-sense and practical approach to family law matters that I found both calming and effective. He started out with a low-key cooperative strategy, but when it was quickly apparent we needed to be more directive, he was able to revise the strategy quickly. He was very responsive, reachable in emergencies after hours, and did a great job of calming me down when I got caught up in the emotion of the process. I can particularly recommend Robert for cases involving contested custody issues.

  3. Family Law attorney

    Posted by Leslie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Scherzer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Robert Scherzer was thoughtful and thorough. He kept me sane and level headed through a difficult divorce. I felt like I had the advocate that I needed. I have and will refer him to friends, family, and associates in the future.

  4. Extraordinary Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Valerie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Scherzer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Robert was an exceptional lawyer during a difficult and protracted divorce. He was an extraordinary communicator both with me and the other side. He was calm, accessible, strategic, clear, an excellent listener and formidable advocate. It was due to Robert's clear thinking and legal acumen that there was a fair and reasonable outcome for me. I have worked with other attorneys in both professional and private life and can attest that Robert's legal expertise and professional demeanor are of the highest caliber.

  5. Professional and reliable in a tough situation.

    Posted by Tricia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Scherzer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Although I have never written a review for anything before, I had such a positive experience with Mr. Scherzer that I felt I should add to the list of favorable comments. Robert was recommended as someone who could deal with difficult people in difficult situations, and he really came through. There were quite a few times when the situation became very intense and he was able to keep both parties communicating in an effective way, ultimately ending up with a settlement that was fair to both parties. At all times Mr. Scherzer maintained a highly professional attitude and did not show favoritism to either side, but addressed all issues by offering insight and alternate perspectives developed from years of dealing with these types of situations, such as divorce. He has a good understanding of how children are impacted and offered creative solutions for issues on which we were gridlocked. Thank you Robert, for helping me reach a final agreement. I would recommend Mr. Scherzer without any hesitation.

  6. A good divorce lawyer makes a difficult process manageable

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Scherzer.

    Robert was a pleasure to work with through a difficult divorce process. He kept that process moving forward when there were problems or delays. I trust his experience and judgment in this area of the law, and I would recommend him.

  7. YES!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Scherzer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Family matter.

    I used him for my divorce and custody decisions and was impressed by his speed, overall interest in keeping my and my kids' best interests at the center of his attention always. could not be happier with the outcome!

  8. Robert 1st concern is for money not you or your families best interest.

    Posted by Karen, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Scherzer.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Robert's only concern was money - Once I lost my job and he was afraid I could not continue to pay his enormous fee. He completely gave up on my case - Not presenting witness - filing documentation I provided that was requested by the court and allowing the judge to hear from he and finally settling on a stipulated agreement in my behalf while I was in the hospital - that I did not agree to. I trusted him and did not fire him which I should have. Because of his actions I lost custody of my son. I had to file bankruptcy because of the debt incurred - I have since gotten back on my feet and have an attorney who actually has my son's and my best interests at heart.

    1. Robert T Scherzer

      Robert Scherzer

      Lawyer Comment:

      My goal is to realize the best possible outcome for every client and while this matter does not sound familiar, I regret that your experience was unsatisfactory. You are welcome to contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  9. Another attorney asked why it took so long to fire Mr. Scherzer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Scherzer.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I fired this attorney after he failed to follow my instructions to present critical evidence at trial, failed to subpoena witnesses that I directed him to (he said his subpoena would not be valid in a different state), and purposefully misled me by saying that an adverse decision could not be appealed. A different judge in a follow-on case stated on the record that the judge in the case (mis)handled by Mr. Scherzer would have come to a different conclusion had that judge had access to the evidence and testimony that Mr. Scherzer failed to submit. Mr. Scherzer also did not disclose to me that he had previously worked for the same firm that represented the adverse party.

    I paid him $20,000 for his mishandling of my case before I switched to a more competent attorney.

    1. Robert T Scherzer

      Robert Scherzer

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'm sorry you had a bad experience. My goal is to realize the best possible outcome for every client. While this matter is not familiar, I welcome your feedback and invite you to contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag