Lisa E Martin’s Reviews

Lisa E Martin

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review of Lisa E Martin

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Lisa E. Martin was recommended by a previous client. I needed representation when my marriage failed. Intake was prompt, very informative, professional and reassuring. Ms. Martin is a compassionate person and has excellent interpersonal skills. Her fee structure was reasonable and I would say I felt it was a bargain. In discussing the specifics of my situation she explained the process and what her commitment was. Her dress and appearance were professional and her knowledge base was impressive. She was prompt in initiating action and responded to the Court and the other lawyer promptly and comprehensively. I was quite pleased by her demeanor. A problem solver, a self-starter, aggressive when appropriate and very well prepared in my case. In reflecting back on the intake interview I would say she delivered on everything she said she would do. I would not hesitate to recommend her for legal representation.

  2. Lisa Martin is top notch !

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lisa was great to work with ! When I needed legal council and advise, she was very professional and got the job done !

    Hands down, Lisa experience and personable style kept me at ease and confident in the decisions made for my case. She let me know step by step what was being done and why and allowed me to determine what was best for me based on all of the information. Lisa kept aware of the pros, as well as the cons of each and every part of the process and even gave me extra information that was relevent to the other party. She's a great strategizer and drew from past cases like mine to help guide her judgements as well as mine.

    Thank you Lisa, your truly an excellent professional !

  3. OUTSTANDING Choice for your family attorney.

    Posted by Margaret, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I needed a divorce attorney and Lisa Martin came recommended. In my case I needed someone that was representing me and my college aged daughter. I chose Lisa because her presentation was professional and emphasized problem solving and negotiating. I wanted myself to be represented well and my daughter to see the process handled professionally and respectfully for both of her parents.

    In the beginning I was very emotional and found Lisa and her assistant to be patient and informative. The divorce process is painful and they were compassionate and understanding. As our case unfolded a process that could have been simple became complex. With each issue that arose I found Lisa to respond quickly and to be very well informed. In my case things were done that would have cost me THOUSANDS of dollars if I had not been legally represented. I was too trusting in my marriage and left myself very financially exposed. Fortunately I had legal representation in time and Lisa was able to take the steps necessary to protect my financial assets.

    My case had three court hearings with one of them being a full day trial. Ours was a twenty year marriage with long term intertwined personal and financial arrangements. Lisa had a very well organized and well planned case. She built her case and spent the day in court detailing the points of her case and supporting them with facts. At the end of the day I was extremely pleased with the decisions the judge made in our case.

    These are some side items I believed to be important:
    1) My former husband was in law enforcement and a strategist by training. I was concerned that Lisa being a female and being small in stature that he would not take her seriously. This worry was irrelevant and it didn’t matter at all. Lisa quickly let everyone know she was not an opponent to be taken lightly.

    2) I live in Washington County Oregon. I had heard that it was best to get an attorney that specialized in Washington County and knew the judges well. This was insignificant in my case. In every area of my case that she needed to Lisa did her homework and knew her opponent. My attorney was prepared and my judge was professional and it didn’t matter that Lisa is located in Portland.

    3) In my opinion the opposing counsel in our case tried to be intimidating in person and in writing. Lisa responded professionally and respectfully and never once backed down to this type of communication.

    4) Lisa was always very well prepared and organized. She presented very well in writing, in negotiating and especially in court. All of her legal advice was excellent.

    5) In my case there were issues that were unique with PERS, child custody, etc. In each instance Lisa was informed or got the information needed to make a strong recommendation for the unique circumstance.

    6) I believed Lisa’s fees to be reasonable. However, I learned that a divorce is an investment in your future. Had I gone to a less experienced lower priced attorney I don’t believe I would have had the high caliber of representation that I needed to protect me and my children.

    Lisa is experienced and knowledgeable. As we walked into court she was greeted by other attorneys and is clearly respected by her professional peers. Lisa Martin comes with my highest recommendation. She will always have a place in my heart for being a patient and compassionate professional and representing me and my children in this difficult process.

  4. Compassionate and Competent

    Posted by Jennifer, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lisa Martin was the best part of my difficult divorce process. She has a comforting demeanor that was very helpful in the early stages when I wasn't quite able to accept the reality of my divorce. She was highly ethical, only charging me for her true work. Her advice was always in my best interest regardless of whether or not that equated to billable hours for herself. She advised me well, helped to resolve my divorce with as little drama as possible and advocated for me and my future during the entire process. I am sad our professional relationship has come to an end. This is a woman I would definitely trust into my circle of friends.

  5. AMAZING, competent, yet compassionate lawyer!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attempting a relocation with a very difficult ex who has a VERY aggressive lawyer is not easy. We'd gone through 2 lawyers before we found Lisa, and had met with many lawyers that said our case could not be won. We felt otherwise, so kept looking until we found Lisa Martin. She was very straight-forward with us and did not tell us our case would be easy to win, but did tell us how she perceived us being able to overcome the odds. We felt instantly comfortable handing her the reigns in a long and complicated case. She came on board with only a couple of months to get up to speed and prepare for our impending trial. She not only made our case a priority, but never failed to reply to and email or phone call, never fed us a line to get our money. She listened and noted everything we told her was important to us in our case and gave us realistic feedback so we had realistic expectations. If you want someone that is not only competent and compassionate, but your absolute advocate and will *fight* for your case, then Lisa is the right choice. She ended up obtaining a settlement 5 days before our trial date, which ended up saving us not only hundreds of dollars, but also got us the outcome we had hoped for!

  6. Lisa E Martin

    Posted by Joe, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Like many seeking an attorney that satisfies a clients needs including style or approach when dealing with a specific situation, empathy for a clients situation, and an ability to manage the emotions that can accompany a clients disposition when searching for the best representation Lisa provided all of this and more for me. She is beyond competent and knowledgeable but always kept the my objectives in mind, kept me focus on a positive outcome for both parties while making me more than confident she would approach my needs with a soft and charismatic approach when dealing with the other Atty or if necessary, us a necessary yet professional firm approach should the situation warrant such a position. I just simply trusted her to read the case, take the tome to understand me all while keep my desired outcome in mind. She used the law to our advantage when appropriate as well. I must mention, in fairness, she also let me know within the law and based on her years of experience what "the odds" are of accomplishing my somewhat emotional positions at times. Let me put it this way, by the end of our settlement, avoiding court against a firm known for pushing for court driven settlement, I became so comfortable and confident in Lisa I found my self answering her questions and then saying, "just go take care of me, get a settlement and jokingly stop this money all this is costing to be kept to a minimum. She did that and more. We got what we wanted, never came close to court yet had a plan to do so should we not like what the other side came back with. She made me the priority yet in an odd way really wanted to settle in a professional manner for all parties. Make no mistake though, she was my Atty, she controlled the situation the entire way and like I said we got 100% of what i had hoped for within the letter of the law. Very classy representation would be my final description. Trust me, i was determined, upset, even unreasonable at times. She never did anything but deal with me and understand my feelings. Yet, she just went about her business the whole time. I wanted a tough competent Atty to take on by reputation the toughest firm in town for divorce and family law. She knew the firm, the players and diffused it all. Use her. Just go visit with her and interview her. Why not. I predict you hire her. It's not her first day on the job, her first case. She backs what she says and accomplishes what she says she can one way or another. She settled an alimony reduction for me, parenting program implementation, child support along with touches of overall divorce related issues.

  7. Happy Ending

    Posted by Chuck, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lisa Martin can be counted on to be compasionate, discrete and professional. She always kept me informed as to the status of my divorce case. She was successful in getting everything I wanted out of the divorce. She has a good relationship with the judges concerned, dresses professionally and represented me in a way that I could be proud of. She was always prompt in appointments and getting back to me on phone calls. Lisa is well worth her fee as an attorney. If the need presented itself she would be my first choice as an attorney.

  8. Lisa Rocks!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Lisa, or rather Lisa E. Martin, is a very human, very engaging lawyer who is able to make you comfortable with a high level of professionalism and class. From the first interaction my sense was that I was in good hands. Lisa has this, she will and she did do a fantastic job.

    If you are looking for a lawyer to win your case because they know their stuff and do a great job then I suggest you talk to her.

    Best experience I have ever had with anyone in any form of professional consulting.

  9. Very professional and on top of her game.

    Posted by Annette, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Martin.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    i had a very tough case that not only involved a family attorney but a CPA and a tax attorney as well. Lisa did a very good job of being mindful of the money that i was spending to involve all of the professionals. She kept me informed and was able to take all of the information and zero in on the stuff that was important. I never had a doubt that Lisa wasn't my best advocate on the team. She went out of her way to help me minimize the legal time needed and maximize the settlement. I very much appreciate everything Lisa did to help me down a really rocky path. I highly recommend her especially when you need someone that will not allow the emotions of the moment to rule the case.

Reduced initial consulation fee. Please contact me today for an appointment.

503-220-1620