Philip Leon Marcus’s Reviews

Philip Leon Marcus

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Noteworthy, Mr. Philip Leon Marcus

    Posted by Alfreda Adams, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been caring for an ill parent and unable to repond to this review until now. Honestly, there are not enough words to describe the dedication, trustworthiness, reponsiveness, knowledgeable and overall attentivenss Mr. Philip Marcus provides his clients. I have had the honor and priviledge to meet this lawyer and was completely satisfied with his work in handling my case. He is very organized and always knows what he is doing....... which to me is amazing. I would recommend his services to anyone who truly is looking for a great lawyer. And he is an overall good person!!!

  2. Very knowledgeable and great at explaining details to the client

    Posted by Terre Roche, a Trademark Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Trademark Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am very pleased to have the opportunity to describe my experience hiring Philip Marcus to represent me. Mr. Marcus guided me through the process of registering a trademark name for my teaching method, "Fretboard Vitamins". I had no knowledge of the trademark field before entering into this. The process involved many details which I did not understand. At every step I had questions. Philip answered all of my questions thoroughly and promptly. At no point did he cause me to feel a question was too basic, though I'm sure some of them probably were. Mr. Marcus was very generous with his time, going well above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that I understood the proceedings. He diligently copied me on anything which went between him and the Patent and Trademark Office. Some of these communications did not require any action on my part, yet he explained thoroughly what their purposes were.
    Clearly, Mr. Marcus has a passion for helping people to realize their business goals and dreams. Securing a trademark for a small business owner is a very significant and exciting step. I felt that my lawyer allotted the same importance to my case that he might give to a corporate giant. This, in my experience, is rare. I highly recommend Philip Marcus to anyone looking to protect her (or his) intellectual property and set up a business. The laws protecting these rights are difficult for the lay person to navigate through. You will be in the best of hands if you hire Philip Marcus to do this job for you.

  3. Defending a copyright infrigement.

    Posted by SRB, a Copyright client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Copyright Infringement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Marcus handled a copyright infringement case for me where I was improperly accused and through his diligence, I was able to quash the matter against me and avoid a "extorted" settlement . He posses good knowledge of current copyright laws, the legal system, past precedents, high integrity and a bit of aggressiveness to act decisively on any copyright issue. I highly recommend Mr. Marcus to be your copyright attorney.

  4. Trademark / Trade dress abandonment.

    Posted by Tim, a Trademark client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Trademark Infringement matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Marcus has been a tremendous resource regarding my trademark /trade dress questions. My questions were not just addressed and answered, they were clearly explained and substantiated by established legal precedent such that I was able to proceed with business decisions with confidence that I am operating within the law. Thank you Mr. Marcus!

  5. Excellent Trademark Registration

    Posted by Margaret, a Trademark Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Trademark Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Marcus handled registration for my two trademarks. He gave me clear, understandable explanations for every step of the process so that I knew what he was doing and why. He kept me updated on the status of each registration and answered all my questions in a way that gave me great confidence. I now have registered trademarks for my business, thanks to Mr. Marcus. I will definitely use his services again.

  6. Quality Service

    Posted by Leslie, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Marcus is a knowledgeable resource on business contracts.
    He is easy to reach and provided a free phone consultation.
    In working with Mr. Marcus I received my money's worth and more.

  7. A Zen Master

    Posted by Tom, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Phil is terrific as a negotiator, business advisor, counselor, and intellectual property consultant. In my computer consulting practice, I deal with a variety of clients and projects ranging from short- to long-term. Phil always helps me get a fair deal and keeps me out of trouble (except when I don't listen to him!). I've thrown some wacky stuff at him and he always figures it out and points me in the right direction. So hire him and I think you'll be pleased. Plus you'll learn a little Yiddish.

  8. Philip Leon Marcus...many many thanks!!!

    Posted by Kathy, a Copyright client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Copyright Infringement matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I make my living creating and marketing patterns for stitching, so I was horrified when I saw my one of patterns posted in a group on Facebook for the taking.

    Members of the group even joked when I asked them to take it down, and got very hostile towards me. They told Facebook that with no copyright notice on it (since they had removed the notice) there was no copyright and they could keep it up.

    This caused me a great amount of emotional distress. I had no experience in handling this situation. I didn’t know what to do.

    Fortunately I found a great copyright attorney, Phil Marcus of the Copyright and Trademark Law Center.

    He wrote them a humdinger of a letter, and the pattern came down while each wrote him their promise not to do this again. The posting has not returned. What a great feeling I had.

    Phil definitely came through for me in my time of need. Words can’t convey my Gratitude!

    Best regards,

    Kathy

  9. An honest lawyer you can trust

    Posted by Neil, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have known Mr. Marcus for more than 25 years and have engaged his professional services numerous times. Mr. Marcus possesses a broad spectrum of knowledge, an incredible base of experience and an honest straight forward approach to helping his clients resolve legal issues, practically and affordably. He is a man of integrity and values. Excellent advisor to have on your side.

  10. Credit Report Issues

    Posted by Lorna, a Credit Repair client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Marcus.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Credit Repair matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Phil helped me with a very difficult and somewhat delicate situation in that it was dealing with a credit union here at work. He was always professional yet personal in that he kept me informed and also followed thru with all my requests. I would highly recommend Phil to anyone needing an honest and reasonable lawyer.

    Lorna in Maryland