John Michael Kucera’s Reviews

John Michael Kucera

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Relief at last...

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kucera.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    A year ago I met with Mr. Kucera to see if he could help me get my conviction from 40 + years ago cleared. He worked many hours trying to find a way to clear me of a mistake made as a teenager. He was successful, and now I will be able to enjoy my new found life without that burden. I will never be able to thank him for all he did for me. He was compassionate and understanding and his knowledge of the law and sheer determination was what made this happen.

    If you are in need of an attorney who will actually "help" you with your problems and fight for your rights, then Mr. Kucera is the person you want to represent you. Thank you John!

  2. John did a great job!`

    Posted by Randy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kucera.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    5.0 star rating 8/27/2013
    In 2012 I was falsely accused by my ex partners of stealing and charged with four counts of stealing or attempting to steal property from foreclosed homes. Nothing could be further from the truth but the district attorney's office and their investigator interviewed over 60 witnesses and stacked them against me. I was never even interviewed! How could that happen? At the time, the case seemed pretty hopeless.

    Acting on a referral, I interviewed and hired John Kucera to represent me when I learned of the rumors and accusations. I knew I needed a solid attorney on my side and for my protection.

    Mr. Kucera was integral from the time charges were brought and, with his meticulous and thorough investigation, he mounted a defense that at times seemed hopeless due to fighting the state DA's office with countless resources.

    During the three-week jury trial that ensued in 2013, John was able to discredit all of the prosecutions witnesses, bring the truth to the surface and I was found NOT GUILTY and acquitted of all charges after only three hours of the jury deliberation.
    (with a lunch break). After the trial, even the jurors discussed that during deliberations that if they ever found themselves in a similar situation, they would hire Mr. Kucera due to his court presence and experience. That's a clue!

    Were it not for John's experience and expertise, I could have lost a state issued license, my livelihood and everything that I owned and worked for. I highly recommend Mr. Kucera for his knowledgeable and aggressive defense. He cared not only that justice was being served but that I had someone that believed in me. A friend in a time of need. Don"t listen to the haters. If it's important, choose John!

  3. A positive endorsement....

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kucera.

    What I appreciated most about John was he was always calm, prepared, and organized. He always kept me apprised of my case and what to expect. I never felt like he was blind-sighted by anything. He was very professional and respectful to the court staff, the judges, and the members of the District Attorney's office. He had my best interests at heart; he protected me from the media and ensured my case would be handled fairly.

    Nobody ever wants to be in a position to have to hire a defense attorney, probably one of the most stressful times in my life! After reviewing several attorneys and their backgrounds, I hired John...and I am so grateful I did!

  4. Six "Strict Liability" Felonies

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kucera.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I was charged with six "Strict Liability" felonies, that I did not commit. The felonies all carried a mandatory State prison sentences.

    The Assistant District Attorney used the case to wage a personal vendetta against me because I opposed the expansion of Redding City Government in the past and the District Attorney allowed her actions.

    John very skillfully eliminated 5 of the charges very quickly.

    He then fought every attempt the ADA made to limit our defense. The ADA tried to control the evidence and testimony and therefore control what the Judge and Jury saw and heard. John thwarted all her attempts.

    John adeptly destroyed the testimony of every prosecution witness the ADA put on the stand. Even Police Officers contradicted their previous testimony.

    The trial ended in a hung jury. The ADA filed to have another trial. A newly appointed DA overrode the ADA's personal vendetta and settled the case.

    After five years, the case was over. I am very pleased with the job that John did and I am happy to recommend him unconditionally.

  5. Excellent Representation

    Posted by Richard, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kucera.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Kucera is a personable professional who is more than capable of representing your legal rights and wishes as a client. As a professional biologist falsely accused of a serious felony crime, John saw that my case was promptly handled by the court and that prosecutors considered all facts in the case - including erroneous, accusational statements made by law enforcement that contradicted their own auditory recording of events. At the same time, his friendly demeanor kept me as at ease as one could be under the circumstances throughout the case. John is a consummate, efficient professional attorney whom you can trust with you legal needs. Thanks again, John!

  6. I absolutely recommend Mr Kucera

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kucera.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Helped us out on a couple of difficult cases. Mr Kucera and his staff were helpful and sensitive without making us feel like criminals. Hire John if you really want quality representation!

  7. Mr. Kucera's professionalism and experience has built an excellent rapport with his clients.

    Posted by Dapphney Lowe, a Credit Card Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kucera.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Credit Card Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Kucera to handle any future litigation I may encounter. Mr Kucera has handled all my cases promptly and efficiently. I trust him as my Attorney.