Thomas Allen Neil’s Reviews

Thomas Allen Neil

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Child custody/visitation

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Neil.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Custody matter.

    Having had no previous experience with attorneys, I was fortunate enough to find Mr. Neil. His integrity, responsiveness, and compassion made the entire court experience bearable. He kept me informed every step of the way and filed all the proper paperwork. If you are looking for an aggressive attorney, he is probably not for you. However, if you are looking for an attorney who will work to get you a fair and equitable outcome, you should hire him. Mr. Neil looked at the facts of the case and was not afraid to say that what I wanted wasn't achievable thus saving me money.

  2. Invaluable Support Throughout

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Neil.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Custody matter.

    Tom Neil represented us in a child custody case initially and later in a parent-move situation. Besides ensuring all necessary paperwork was filed, Tom was extremely supportive. He took our calls and answered our questions even outside work hours. Tom explained confusing issues and suggested possible options. He brought us back around to the proper perspective when issues seemed overwhelming or negative. This alone was invaluable. In an emergency situation, Tom rescheduled other commitments and saw our problem through to complete resolution. He truly went above and beyond normal expectations.

  3. I recommend

    Posted by Gwyneveyre P, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Neil.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr.Neil had represented me in a Family Law matter and was very responsive to my needs as a Client. He is easy to contact anytime, and he takes his time to explain things. He is truly a genuine person who cares about his Clients. And his rates are quite reasonable.

  4. Recommend Thomas Neil

    Posted by Ignacia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Neil.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Recently I had to seek an attorney by going with Thomas Neil it made a very painful process a lot easier for me. He was kind, understanding of my needs and took the time to make the transition into the next phase of my life as smooth as possible. He made me feel as if I was not standing alone in the battlefield. He was patient and went over and beyond to get me what I deserved. He also kept everything fair and civil for the other party which is what I had wanted. He was great in really listening to me and taking into account everything I said and asked for. He was an excellent representative for me. I highly recommend Thomas Neil to anyone. I could not be happier with my choice.

  5. Not a good experience

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Thomas Neil.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Neil has a very eccentric personality, one that which if you do not agree with what he has to say, then you must be lying. There is no good reason to hire a lawyer and then lie to them. In fact, the lawyer is someone that you should most definitely tell EVERYTHING to since he is the one that is going to represent your best interests. Mr. Neil did not return a message that I left for him on Thursday and we had to call him back on Friday at 3pm at which time my husband was told that he could not locate my message and could we please remind him about what our case was about (we had just seen him the day before in his office for which I paid twice his consultation fee- because it took over the 1/2 hour- now I am very sorry that I did that) because he could not remember. No return phone call, lost message, now can't remember our case or appt from the day before. So I call Mr. Neil to ask my question and he brings up a letter that my daughter had wrote to the judge. For the 2nd time in 2 days he accuses me of writing the letter. This time I told him that I was offended by that and then he told me that HE was getting ANGRY with ME???!!! Then he told me that he was going to terminate the conversation, refused to let me get another word in and told me I could feel free to call back or not. So I called back and told him that due to personality conflict, there is no reason for us to continue working together. What a HORRIBLE first experience with hiring a lawyer. Good thing even the good ones are a dime a dozen.

    1. Thomas Allen Neil

      Thomas Neil

      Lawyer Comment:

      I did NOT handle reviewer’s case: She came to my office, once, for a consultation. I told her what to do and, without my asking, she volunteered to pay more for the consultation than I asked. She did NOT thereafter leave me a message. There are two sides to every story and the reviewer has left out important facts. Attorneys do not discuss matters revealed to us in confidence, so I won’t discuss those facts.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  6. Great service on a 24 hour notice

    Posted by Ferdinand, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Neil.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thomas did an excellent job on such short notice! Thank you for your assistance Thomas!

  7. Great Lawyer

    Posted by roland.reese, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Neil.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Tom did a great job for me in a very difficult time in my life. His support as a friend and lawyer was invaluable. His follow up was great and he did an excellent job in settling my disputes. I recommend Tom as an attorney.

  8. Divorced in California.....

    Posted by Terry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Neil.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Neil was recommened by another attorney that I used from a different case. I was impressed with Mr. Neil from our consultation and retained him at the end of it. Mr. Neil has shown me his complete devotion to my case and every aspect involved in it. He has never at any point done things because he can, he has done them because he has true concerns for his clients and the out come of the case. I would use Mr. Neil for any further attorney needs that I may have that he practices in. I would also recommend Mr. Neil to anyone that needs a divorce Attorney.