Beth Marie Appelsmith’s Reviews

Beth Marie Appelsmith

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommend Beth!

    Posted by Cece, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth 6-12 months ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Beth came recommended by a coworker, and I'm glad I transferred my case to her. She is very knowledgeable and experienced and counseled me well. Going through the divorce was very trying and emotional for me. It was hard to be reasonable to reach decisions about custody, support, distribution of assets. But, Beth had a skillful way to calm my emotional state. She was empathetic in her approach and was able to get me to see the big picture for best interest my children and my financial future. She clearly and concisely explained the issues and placed them into perspective. She and her assistant, Caroline, quickly responded to my phone calls and emails and regularly kept me updated on my case. I am very happy with the service provided and the final settlement reached. I will definitely recommend her service!

  2. Excellent Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Debra, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth more than 3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Beth is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. She took the time to understand the details of my particular situation. She walked me through the process while being extremely professional yet caring. She is excellent.

  3. very helpful and kind attorney throughout the collaborative divorce process

    Posted by Jessica, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth more than 3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Beth was my attorney during the collaborative divorce process. She was always encouraging and supportive and kind. I trusted her completely, and she worked very well with the rest of our collaborative divorce team. I highly recommend Beth and the collaborative divorce process to anyone in need of ending their marriage, and who is concerned about the emotional health and wellbeing of their children. At times, the process seemed grueling and like it would never end. But the time (and money) was definitely well spent, as my children seem to be very well adjusted and unharmed by the potential negative effects of divorce. I also feel as though my emotions were well handled and appropriately funneled to meet our needs. Beth worked beautifully with the rest of the collaborative divorce team, and her positivity and kindness were especially helpful to me during this most difficult time. I will always be so ever grateful to her and the work she put in on my (and my children's) behalf. Thank you, Beth. I wish you the best always!

  4. Thank You!

    Posted by Michelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth more than 3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Paragraph taken from my "thank you" letter I wrote to Beth when we closed my divorce file:

    Working with you brought sense and sanity to my living nightmare. You always returned my calls timely and when we spoke I was impressed with how well you listened to what I had to say. You would listen and ask questions during our conversations until you believed you had all of the information available. You dealt in facts, not feelings. Your written correspondence was articulate, accurate direct and powerful, resulting in desired outcomes. Your referrals to the right team of professionals, an objective Child Mediator and a talented Certified Financial Planner were also strategic moves that helped navigate the process. We were able to reach a settlement and produce a parenting plan that granted me the majority of parenting time.

    Thank you for being tough and sensitive. Thank you for being my "Big Guns" after all.

  5. Hopefully, you can avoid a divorce, but if you can't...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth 1-3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Working through a divorce can be costly. and it's not particularly fun. If you HAVE to go through this process, you want someone who is knowledgeable, respectful of the resources and objectives of the parties involved (hopefully, a mediated settlement because it's better for all involved), and who keeps you adequately apprised of developments and timelines.

    I found Beth Appelsmith to be excellent in all respects. She's very professional and as efficient as you give her guidance to be. She knows the law and gives advice based upon her knowledge of the law and experiences. She is also just plain nice---the kind of person you would probably want as a friend, though, everyone should be clear, that's not why you hire an attorney.

    I had to hire Beth to counsel me through a mediation; she would also probably be a terrific mediator or lawyer to counsel both parties in trying to reach a marriage settlement agreement.

  6. Lawyer you can trust

    Posted by Paul, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth more than 3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Beth was very trustworthy thought my entire divorce process.
    She charged very reasonable fee adn all charges are clearly stated in her invoices. With her help and advise my divorce was settled without any complications. Thank you.

  7. Beth Appelsmith My Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by KATHIE, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth more than 3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Beth was totally engaged in my case from the very beginniing. It was a very hard time for me after a very long marriage. She immediately felt like a friend who would be on my side through the whole process. Beth was always very professional and always talked to me when I needed her. I would recommend her to anyone who needs an outstanding attorney.

  8. Excellent attorney

    Posted by RR, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth more than 3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Beth is a very knowledgeable and effective attorney. She treats all parties fairly, honestly, and with respect. She was always available, and handeled every aspect of my case with care and patience. She is also very well respected by her peers and judges. My commendation to beth for her professionalism, her kindness, and a job well done.

  9. Legal Consulting

    Posted by Richard, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth more than 3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Beth was my consulting attorney as I handled my divorce. I had the unfortunate experience of working with a law firm that did not truly value their client by providing supervision to one of their staff attorneys. Consequently, I decided to complete the process on my own, dealing with a number of complex matters. Beth was a partner in my efforts and assisted in reviewing my drafts, drafting a support modification order, and providing advice and perspective on the process and characters I was facing. She made herself available at critical negotiation points, and helped me finalize a dissolution order. Her assistance was invaluable and a much more cost effective option than the one I had been pursuing.

  10. Collaborative Divorce

    Posted by Charlene, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Beth Appelsmith.
    • I hired Beth more than 3 years ago.
    • Beth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Beth is extremely knowledgeable and compassionate. She guided me through the collaborative divorce process with care and wisdom, and I always felt confident with her advice. She represented me with assertive dignity, addressing and resolving many issues of a long term marriage, for which I will always be grateful.