John Simon Yohanan’s Reviews

John Simon Yohanan

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. John Yohanan - No Question, if you can get him, hire him.

    Posted by Linden, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John < 1 month ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John has kept me sane through a very difficult and very lengthy divorce (going on 8 years, half of it with John (he had to clean up the mess the first four years made). It is high stakes, including custody, employment efforts, forensic CPAs, real estate, you name it. My divorce is one for the books. John is extremely competent in all areas, I knew what to expect, he kept me totally involved as the decisions are mine, he calmly told me how to navigate and get me through it. He goes by the law, knows it, and it shows. He is very personable and never gives out the BS I have experienced with others. So if you have the situation where you want a clear, clean, well thought out solution where everyone wins, hire John, he is the best at what he does.

  2. Disappointing

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This attorney handled my divorce case very poorly and I had to terminate his services. This is just my personal experience. He had very poor communication skills. He was very rude and condescending on the phone or in person. He always had big surprises on the day or the day before a hearing. He gave short answers to your questions and tried to get you out of his office as quick as possible when I needed to understand the process and hear his strategies. I felt that he was not aggressive and he did not have the drive to fight for my case. He dismissed my ideas and requests as non-sense and took the shortest route that was convenient for him. I felt that he didn't really like appearing and presenting my case before the judge. He simply wanted to settle to something that usually favored the opposing party. Stretched out a baseless restraining order hearing into a trial which was pushed out 8 months after the initial hearing because the opposing party was going out of town and I was informed only on the day of the hearing. His over-priced response was weak and written in a daze. When I begged him to plead my case to the judge, he used scare tactics to show that my ideas were stupid and that if I did not follow his advice, I would end up with a permanent restraining order. Everything he did ended up costing me so much both financially and emotionally. He very quickly cleaned out my retainer fee and a lot more for pretty much no progress to my case. I felt like he was working for the opposing counsel who he was friends with. He had nothing much to say when we went before the judge except to extend the hearing to another date. I had to ask permission to speak to the judge and plead my case.

    Personally, I would not recommend this attorney.

  3. Excellent Family Law attorney

    Posted by Very Satisfied Client, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I first met John in 2007 to seek his professional opinion on my international custody and support case. Since then John was engaged as my attorney of record and through working with him, my faith in family law attorney's has been restored.

    John has provided professional guidance and leadership through very challenging court litigation. His calm approach and sound advice has assisted me to achieve balanced court orders and time time with my child.

    He is a thorough professional. He is tenacious, experienced, very knowledgeable, and his costs have been transparent and within agreed expectations. I would highly recommend John to anyone seeking a Family Law attorney.

  4. John is very Knowledgeable Attorney at Law

    Posted by Isiah, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I hired John to represent me in a very difficult divorce. John had to work on me, as much as he had to work on my case. Divorce is difficult , when your name or reputation is called into question.
    John in his calming voice,taught me how to be patient. I stay in touch with John often just to seek words of advice ,legal and personal .
    This man really knows his way around a courtroom. His 37 years of experience exudes from him.
    Most importantly John negotiated a very amicable divorce settlement on my behalf.

  5. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I needed a divorce attorney, and was referred to John by a friend. I was very pleased with his professionalism, knowledge and patience. He guided me through this difficult process and fought for me all the way. I am very glad I hired John and would recommend him to anyone who finds themselves in need of a divorce attorney.

  6. GREAT attorney !!!

    Posted by Romer Maiel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Yohanan.

    I wish I had met John Yohanan under other circumstances. He of course represented me in my divorce process. In a nutshell he was the "ACE" attorney I needed to help me thru that tough period. I walked into the court room feeling comfortable knowing John was on my side. Though I will never get married again, if I ever needed further counseling in family practice, I would not consider any other.

  7. Longer than the civil war

    Posted by Brian, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A few years ago I had the unfortunate experience of going thru a divorce. Our kids were grown so the only issue was the equal division of our community property and spousal support. I initially sought the services of a mediation center hoping that my ex-wife and I could work out an amicable solution and go our separate ways.
    Well my ex-wife wanted to take the more contentious path and hired an aggressive fee turning attorney.
    Because of this I sought the professional help of John Yohanan.
    I had consulted with 2 CPAs, the mediation center and John so I had a pretty good idea of what a fair and equitable division of property and spousal support should be.
    My ex-wife's initial settlement demands were completely outrageous. wanting 100% of our property, 4 times the spousal support amount that 4 other experts had independently calculated and agreed upon.
    This gave me no choice but to have to go thru the trial system taking almost 4 1/2 years, longer than the civil war.
    With John's professional and expert help and a judge that was fair the final judgment was actually better than the initial recommendations from the mediation center.

  8. great attorney with immense experience in custody and divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John Yohanan helped me with my custody and divorce/seperation court case. He is highly professional. He is highly experienced. I have immense respect for him, as he helped me with my child custody, I will always be grateful to him. With his immense experience and Highest dedication to his profession he helped every issue of custody divorce all custody issues. He was always available , leave message will get prompt response . He will not delay to file papers for any other reason. If you are having custody issue , he is greatly helps you. He is very professional. The best attorney his 36 years of experience and professional dedication, promptness will help you.

  9. Very Knowledgeable Attorney

    Posted by Lloyd, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Before hiring John to handle my divorce, I interviewed 3 other attorneys, and wasn’t very satisfied with any of them. Then I met with John Yohanan, and what a difference I experienced. He knew the laws and explained to me in great detail how the process worked and offered me some good advice. Based on John’s knowledge and professionalism I knew he was the right guy for me and hired him.
    John was very responsive in replying to emails and phone calls. Usually he got back to me within a few hours if not immediately. When I had meetings with him he was always down to business and kept the chit-chat to a minimum to keep the hourly costs down. If I got off track he would quickly steer the conversation back on track and kept moving forward. Another thing I was very pleased with was John’s monthly statements he sent out. Very detailed and generally charged me the exact time used or less. Never once did I feel he went a minute over. This was quite different than my ex-wife’s experience with her attorney who didn’t send statements very often and frequently over charged her on time. John was a little more expensive on an hourly rate than the others, but well worth the money. I am sure the others would have cost me much more in the long run! I highly recommend him to anyone looking for an honest, knowledgeable, and trustworthy attorney. I can’t say enough good things about John!

  10. divorce with custody challenges

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Yohanan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John is professional, approachable and well connected in the area. He is good at setting your expectations and is not afraid to give you the bad news or try to pain a better picture than what is realistic. He is very transparent on his fees and will do as you say. He comes up with reasonable approaches to look after me, my case and my pockets. In most instances he provided a series of options to pursue for my evaluation where he would weigh the pros and cons. Some would be more expensive than others. Unlike other lawyers, he won't necessary be pushing for the one that will result in more money for him but in what I perceived to be in my best interest. At some times I perceived him as being a little bit passive on issues. What I realized going to court with him though is that he will step up and fight for you and your interests when it comes to it. He is good at picking his battles. In general he is a very good lawyer and one that I have been recommending ever since I worked with him.

Call now for a free consultation.

408-297-0700