Colleen Eva McAvoy’s Reviews

Colleen Eva McAvoy

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ethics Concerns

    Posted by a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Colleen McAvoy.
    • I hired Colleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Elder Law matter.

    She may be a good attorney for other situations however, Ms. McAvoy failed to fulfill her job and protect my mother with Alzheimer disease under a professional fiduciary conservatorship in San Mateo County. What she did was to court order our family home sold for 1/2 value, quickly to pay her $49,000 attorney fees for her intimidation of family and her facilitation of the abuse of an elder.

  2. Excellent and Timely Work

    Posted by R. Michelle, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen McAvoy.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I've known Ms. McAvoy for about 18 years and engaged her services to do our estate planning. She was also extremely helpful with matters regarding my mother who lives in another state.
    She made our financial and estate planning very easy and understandable.

  3. Grandma passed on, and I was adrift in a sea of legal problems!

    Posted by Lisa, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen McAvoy.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found her through recommendation from a friend. I was terrified of all the responsibilities that had fallen to me after my grandma passed on. She answered all my questions and helped me through every step of the way... I had the confidence to know that it would work out well. Colleen helped me grieve her passing without feeling the burden of unfinished business. With her help, losing my grandma was A LOT less painful than it could have been.
    Thank you, Colleen!

  4. Good family/estate lawyer

    Posted by Rose, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen McAvoy.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Colleen McAvoy has been my attorney for seven years. She helped me first when my husband died intestate, easily handling several issues with insurance and retirement accounts. She is always caring, professional and prompt. She responds to questions promptly, explains things clearly, and understands my individual situation and is always there when I need her.

  5. Lawyer/counselor extraordinaire!

    Posted by Beth, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen McAvoy.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ms. McAvoy has provided the calm, caring, professional expertise I needed when a friend died unexpectedly in Tunisia, having named me as executor in her Will. I have been guided through the complexities of consulate certificates of death, missing documents, foreign bank accounts and ever-expanding files of papers to sort through. Ms. McAvoy and her knowledgeable, efficient staff have been by my side through the ordeal, working with the court and accountants to accomplish what must be done. At every step the work has been done with respect for my friend who loved to travel, and who would have been fascinated with the turn of world events. I am grateful for the competent, caring help I have had with this probate.

  6. Ms. McAvoy is an awesome attorney

    Posted by Lynda Traves, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen McAvoy.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have know Colleen McAvoy for almost 20 years both professionally and personally. She is the most ethical, trusty worthy friend and attorney I know. Ms. McAvoy is a respected attorney in the Bay Area and is knowledgeable in estate planning and business law. She volunteers her time with many organizations. She is a very giving and compassionate person.

    I would trust Ms. McAvoy to handle my legal needs. I think that elderabuser is completely wrong in his assessment. Elderabuser has some misdirected anger towards society and probably does not with to take responsibility for his own actions. You can see this by not even putting his/her real name to the review. How creditable is that.

    As any reader will be able to see, I have put my full name because I am proud to call Ms. McAvoy a friend as well as my attorney.

  7. Reliable, responsive and ethical

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Colleen McAvoy.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Colleen has done a variety of business, trust and estate planning work for my business and family for over 20 years. I've always found her to be reliable, ethical and honest. She gives good feedback and has steered me and my business away from trouble. She was been particularly proactive in reminding me to update my legal documents on a timely basis, with gentle reminders. She is always articulate and straightforward in providing informed legal opinions. I would recommend Colleen without reservation to any of my friends, family and business associates.

  8. elderabuser

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Colleen McAvoy.
    • I hired Colleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Colleen handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Colleen did nothing to help me. The only thing she did was fill her pockets with my money. She helped the county rob me of my life and my savings. I would not recommend her to my worst enemy