Stephen D. Eckdish’s Reviews

Stephen D. Eckdish

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Really glad we hired Stephen Eckdish

    Posted by RM, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I consulted with two other attorneys before we found Stephen Eckdish. We started out really nervous and wary of this process since we had no idea how to find a good lawyer. We were facing an extremely high possibility of being placed into deportation during the Green Card renewal process. After our first consultation with Mr. Eckdish we felt that we were in very capable hands. He is very friendly and warm, but is also keenly analytical. During the interview we noticed that he was not only analyzing the situation, but US as well! He conducted all of this without being judgmental. He described the various outcomes of our situation in detail, and mapped out solutions to each outcome. He was extremely fair and transparent with his prices. When we had additional questions, he was always available to answer them; When we had panic-attacks, he was always there to reassure us. We couldn’t have done this without Mr. Eckdish, and we’re happy to say that we now have the Green Card.

    He has a huge wealth of knowledge in matters of both criminal and immigration law-- and to top that off, he is a very humane person.

    Thank you Mr. Eckdish!

  2. best lawyer in town!

    Posted by Mona,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.

    I hold Attorney Stephen Eckdish in my highest regard. I not only admire his legal acumen but also his compassionate, kind and generous nature. It was his humane spirit that made me open up to him regarding the domestic violence I had suffered by my former husband. Mr. Eckdish helped me apply for and obtain my U. S. permanent residence through a VAWA petition. It was a very difficult and complex case considering the lack of physical evidence available when we filed. Stephen guided me to corroborate and present the evidence from my treating physicians of my post-traumatic stress disorder and depression. He was always there supporting me and giving me hope to keep fighting. Seeing him so determined to win my case, made me stronger and more confident in my ability to fight for my rights. Stephen was a true partner for me in my case. The professional relationship we grew to have has made me a better more confident person. He was a genuine, emphatic and a highly skilled advocate for me. I wholeheartedly recommend all immigrants in need to retain Mr. Eckdish. He is the best immigration lawyer that you will find out there!

  3. A Fantastic Attorney

    Posted by Carmen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Stephen Eckdish is a fantastic attorney. My husband needed Stephens’s criminal defense expertise to stay out of immigration court. At first the courts didn't want to have anything to do with my husband’s case and when they finally agreed to look at it they said ‘sorry we can't help you’. Well Stephen did not give up and tried a different approach and succeeded in obtaining the post-conviction relief we needed to get past this trying time.

  4. Excellent lawyer for criminal and immigration matter

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am here to write review about Stephen. He is very knowledge about both criminal and immigration laws. During my case proceed he worked diligently to prepare all the documents needed, did go to library even to do some research on one aspect and prepared a document that is very strong and present a clear picture in front of the Judge and the DA. His professionalism and care to individual case helped the DA to dismiss the case and receive factual of innocence. I appreciate all the hard work Stephen put in this case. I would highly recommend Stephen, specially if it involve criminal and immigration matter. One thing I can say is that he is very straight forward and will fight to get the best result by studying and understanding the scenario you are in. I pray for Stephen well being and live long to help people.

  5. Excellent lawyer!

    Posted by Conchita, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    January of 2012, my husband was detained by ICE for a criminal conviction from fifteen years ago. After consulting with numerous immigration attorneys, my husbands future was to accept that he had no choice but to be deported to a country he does not know. After almost giving up, we decided to give it another shot and consulted with Stephen Eckdish, Attorney at Law.

    Mr. Eckdish reviewed all the possibilities and came to the conclusion we had one shot at beating this. Even though this case was difficult, Mr. Eckdish was the only lawyer to give us the fighting chance we needed.

    After 3 months of detainment, my husband was reunited with his family. And now, 15 moths later, my husband is no longer in deportation proceedings. All this is a HUGE thanks to Mr. Eckdish and his legal experience. I would highly recommend him to anyone with immigration legal issues. He was the only person that made the impossible, possible.

    Forever grateful,

    Rodriguez Family

  6. Excellent, trustworthy and fair.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Eckdish handled a complex criminal matter which would have had adverse effect on my immigration status. He pulled a legal move in court that really stretches the imagination. In order my my immigration status to be defensible, a certain type of crime had to be erased from a decade ago, and changed into something that has a fighting chance in immigration court. That sounds simple in itself, but the process of getting a court to turn back time, change the charge and the ruling as if it never even happened is pretty tricky. Eckdish provided irrefutable logic as to why the court should rule in my favor, which they did. Even in court the judge complemented Eckdish as well as the DA on their legal cooperation.

    Eckdish's prices are also fair, for the amount of time he dedicated to my case, and considering what service I received, I consider his rates to be very reasonable. During the time we worked together, he felt like family to me. He completely immersed himself into my case, and made me feel like I was his only client. He was always available to me. Regardless of outcome, Eckdish's knowledge, performance and professionalism is top notch. In this case, I was fortunate enough to win. Though, I had no doubt I would with Eckdish as my attorney.

    Sincerely,

    Grateful Client

  7. Effective Attorney

    Posted by Refugio, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen Eckdish, Immigration & Criminal Defense Attorney, helped me to reduce a felony charge to a misdemeanor and through out the whole process he showed a lot of experience, knowledge and he was very professional. He talked to me with the truth since our first meeting, everything he told me he was going to do he did it. Even thought, I had a violation of probation he found the way to prove that I had more positive attributes and by this manner he won my case.
    He also helped me to terminate a prior restraining order, even thought there was very few probabilities to win the case, and the judge criteria was to deny it, Attorney Eckdish was able to pull out the motion from a denial and won the case, it was very amazing, a great effective attorney, I’m so thankful.
    Mr. Stephen Eckdish is honest and kind person, he is very humane, and shows and high degree of care for the outcome of my problem, also he is very reasonable in price, He will fight for you like he did for me.
    Now I have an immigration problem which I will let Mr. Eckdish solve it for me since I have full trust in his work. I highly recommend him.

  8. Stephen is the Best Immigration Lawyer EVER!!!

    Posted by Paola, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    "I recently got approved by a judge in San Francisco, California. I was in deportation proceedings because I had 2 CIMT's. I was hopeless and I went to several lawyers that kind of made my case worst because they were not specialized in criminal and immigration.
    After 2-3 years of been in the process I found Stephen Eckdish in San Francisco. He helped me sooooo much. He is the best when you are dealing with deportation and criminal immigration. Before him I had to do a waiver witch was denied I didn't appeal the decision and they send me to court for deportation.
    MY lawyer Stephen was able to vacate one of my CIMT's and that made me admisabe to USA and the judge granted my permanent residence on July 11 2012. It was a miracle! Thanks to him!!!
    Stephen is generous, kind, always there when you need him, and simply the best. I can't never thank him enough.
    Truthly,
    Paola Fierro

  9. GREAT LAWYER

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If you’re reading this you are more than likely experiencing one of the worst moments of your or a loved one’s life. Just as once we did after we decided to take a family vacation outside of the country. Once we came back from our vacation; my husband was held at customs and his permanent residence card was taken from him, for criminal convictions that had occurred 14 years prior. Our long journey began; we did not know where to start, terrified of just thinking he would not be here with us. I Google “Excellent immigration lawyers in San Francisco, CA”, there is where we found Mr. Eckdish contact information. We called him that same week and as busy as Mr. Eckdish was he made sure to meet with us, that same week. Mr. Eckdish is extremely knowledgeable in both Criminal and Immigration Law, he looks at all angles and explains everything thoroughly. He is very passionate, proactive and very protective over his clients, which kept us at ease for 2 long years. I would recommend anyone who is in need of an excellent immigration and or a criminal lawyer to use Mr. Eckdish, as he is definitely one of a kind.

  10. Made impossible TO Possible

    Posted by Mohammed, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Eckdish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Eckdish made what seemed to be impossible POSSIBLE for me. It was a complete miracle! I was facing deportation. I had lived in this county most of my life and was a resident alien. This is where my whole family is and where I have built my life. After speaking with several attorneys I did not think that there was chance of winning a case for removal proceedings. Mr. Eckdish took the time to strategize accordingly every detail of the case and work it in a manner that required a great deal of attention and knowledge. There were a total of 3 cases in which there was an arrest and 2 of which were felonies, one a misdemeanor. To overcome this deportation was a miracle that was a true long shot. I had serious doubts and knew the risk was very high we would loose. Without this attorney we would have lost without a doubt. His personal touch and ability to feel our pain and despair showed during the appearances. It became very clear that it is not just important to have a smart attorney but one that can also feel and understand the pain and anguish this decision could cause my entire family. His personal touch made all the difference. You could tell he was very genuine and truly cared about making sure our family was not torn apart. He made what 3 other attorneys indicated as impossible POSSIBLE. When we won the case, I knew that we just made history! He is by far the best attorney I have ever worked with and is not just an attorney for us but also a part of our family.

    Mohammed