Heidi A Machen’s Reviews

Heidi A Machen

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Major Victory For My Business and Investment!!!

    Posted by Danny Mac, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi 1-6 months ago.
    • Heidi handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Machen came to the rescue of my business and commercial realestate investment in early 2013 when I needed to end a partnership that had gone bad. She is an extremely smart and flexible attorney who untangled a very complex set of legal problems and put me in a much better position than when we hired her. I can honestly say that her legal services were a very good investment because Ms. Machen saved me tens of thousands of dollars by negotiating a very favorable final deal and covering all the legal "bases" which forced my former partner into having to be honest and keep his contractual commitments. Just recently, when my wife needed an employment law attorney in early 2014, we returned to Ms. Machen and she gave us the information we needed to make the best possible decisions during a very difficult time for us. As Ms. Machen would say, she takes her “counselor-at-law” title very seriously. In our experience, Ms. Machen brings compassion, responsiveness, humanity and honesty to provide valuable options for her clients

  2. Heidi Machen changed my Life

    Posted by Leinaala, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi 6-12 months ago.
    • Heidi handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I unexpectedly and suddenly lost my job, I was extremely depressed, struggling to make ends meet and believed that my employer had discriminated against me. Fortunately, I contacted and engaged Heidi Machen who interviewed me about my experience, gathered the necessary evidence to prove my case and gave me a straight assessment of my chances for winning a wrongful termination claim. She listened from the very beginning and gave me the strong guidance I needed. Ms. Machen worked hard for me and used her lawyerly skills of negotiation and communication to achieve a favorable result within a relatively short time without having to go to trial. She kept me in the loop throughout. I greatly appreciate her taking me on as a client and highly recommend her as an attorney to other employees who have been treated unfairly in the workplace.

  3. Lazy lawyer

    Posted by Eric, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi 6-12 months ago.
    • Heidi handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sadly, Heidi did not provide the level of service that I expected. She told me that I had a "strong" employment case and when she had my retainer fee, I ended up doing much of the work. She drafted a poorly written letter, had me make a determination about what aspects of my case pertained to the law, which she gave me to read and interpret, then I had to edit her letter. When the opposing counsel responded denying the claim, she didn't write back or fight back with a rebuttal. Instead she took my money and their lies/excuses about the circumstances of my termination and sat back. Then she didn't respond to me after my repeated attempts to get simple answers from her about whether or not she'd contacted the opposing counsel. This is the kind of lawyer that gives lawyers a bad name for being lazy and stealing your money. It's too bad too, because I'm sure she's a decent person in her personal life.

  4. Great planning session. Smart lawyer.

    Posted by Jerry, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi 6-12 months ago.
    • Heidi handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Ms Machen is a very practical and smart lawyer. I went to her in some confusion about a strange interaction with my employer. She helped me figure out that I didn't have a legal claim yet, but how I could protect myself if my employer continues to harass me. It was great advice and a very worthwhile 2-hour planning session.

  5. Waste of money

    Posted by Frustrated customer,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi 1-3 years ago.

    If you want a nice person to talk and pay for it, Heidi is the best candidate. If you need a good attorney, look somewhere else. When she took my case, she told me that she has experience and knows what to do. When after 2 letters she sent to the defendants, the issue was not resolved and they clearly ignored her, she started avoiding my calls and emails.She started saying that going to court she would charge a lot of money. As soon as i clarified to her that the money is not an issue, she admitted she does not know what to do. Her exact words from her email. I just copy and paste."I am looking for a theory on which to proceed should this go forward. I wanted him (my previous attorney) to provide me any insight he had on causes of action. Without a cause of action, I can't bring a lawsuit. I need a "legal theory." I wander Isn't she supposed to know this herself?. despite at the beginning she multiple times told that she has experience and know how we are going to act. She even called me one time and told me:" I was swimming in my swimming pool and got a new brilliant idea what to do". In addition she loves to overcharge. She provides very vague monthly statements and if you ask her for specifics, you will see double charges and clear attempts to "meet" the desired amount.
    And one more thing, she stated that she is the most affordable attorney in this field. Not true as well. My research reviled that 95% of attorneys charge same $250 per hour. But hopefully, they do not overcharge you, and play fair game, so, at the end you are going to pay less for better service, because they will know what they do.
    Now, in my opinion, she created damage since she showed my opponent that i have nothing against them, let alone the fact that i need to hire another attorney, and start every thing from again and pay for the same what she was supposed to do.

  6. Professional and friendly

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi 1-3 years ago.
    • Heidi handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Heidi has been handling a wrongful termination case for me which is still in progress. She has excellent communication skills and a great personality and always knows exactly what the options are likelihoods are. Her demand letter to the company was well written and she has taken initiative to follow up with the process. She's also gone out of her way a few times helping me with things not directly related to the case. It's been a real pleasure working with her.

  7. Heidi what a nice LADY!

    Posted by Vaheed John Mojabi, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi 1-3 years ago.
    • Heidi handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When a government regulatory agency denied me a permit for which I had waited for decades, I hired Heidi. She is a positive, bright, informed, highly connected, pleasant, and healthy woman with great communication and fast and effective brain. In a short period of time, she helped me to obtain my permit and gave me regular updates on her progress. If you have to hire an attorney to deal with government bureaucracy, hire Heidi because she knows how it works.

  8. Great help on a small claim

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi more than 3 years ago.
    • Heidi handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Heidi helped me with a small claim. She anticipated what the defendant would say and I was ready with documentation dis-proving their case. She was very personable and kept me informed throughout the process.

  9. Good employment law advice

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Heidi Machen.
    • I hired Heidi more than 3 years ago.
    • Heidi handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Ms Machen to advise me after an employer laid me off. She gave me valuable info about the employer's responsibility for paying me for my remaining vacation time. I collected two months of pay that I wouldn't have got otherwise. Thanks!