Daniel Seth Williams’s Reviews

Daniel Seth Williams

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Superb Attorney

    Posted by Dante, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have been a client of Daniel for the last two years in a never ending custody dispute. Every time I am served with a new motion, Daniel remains calm and collected and has guided me with great knowledge and while the situations are stressful, I have been ever so grateful with the results achieved.

  2. Great Advocate

    Posted by Linda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-6 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Daniel Williams substituted into my case 6 weeks before a custody trial and became my lawyer. Things had been going against me from the start and i was using a so called family law specialist. Mr. Williams continued the trial for an extra month to bring in the criminal record of my sons father which I had begged my previous attorney to do but she kept saying it would not matter because the court doesnt care. after that and a deposition the matter settled without the trial my former lawyer wanted. He is a great lawyer and cared more about my kid then getting a fee for a full day trial. i recommend him to be a good family lawyer.

  3. Happy Father

    Posted by Christopher, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a former and probably future client of Daniel Williams. Mr. Williams handled my paternity matter with great knowledge and skill. I have full legal and full physical custody of my twin daughters after a legal battle where my ex did not allow me to even text our daughters until she was court ordered to allow visitation. Mr. Williams’ catch phrase of "no worries" proved true and I am extremely satisfied with his work and our result.

  4. problem solver

    Posted by Dale, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was devastated when I filed for divorce. My spouse was angry and dangerous. Mr. Williams got a restraining order for my protection. He was great in court and blew the other attorney out of the water.
    Divorce is an ugly process, but he got me through and now it is history. I think he is the best!

  5. "glad all (is) over"

    Posted by Marty, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Williams handled my divorce. I was married for 30 years with two adult children. My divorce was complicated because of the real estate,investments and pension plan. The divorce was very emotional and a lot of emotional stress. Mr. Williams kept me from blowing my stack and had me prepared for court. My ex to be filed a restraining order to keep me away from the children and immediate financial support. Mr. Williams got that denied. as the song goes "glad all over" with Mr. Williams.

  6. Beware!

    Posted by Chrystel,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-6 months ago.

    At first I was assured by Mr Daniels that he would represent me. He was available and promptly returned my calls and emails for the first 2 weeks. _Then the issues started... He disappeared for several weeks and then appeared at a court date without submitting any of the evidence I gave him. I went to the courthouse crying when I didn't know if he was going to show up and they suggested I fill out malpractice paperwork. The whole situation was a nightmare. I had paid for legal representation but I had none. Mr Daniels still refuses to return my retainer that was not used. I am in the process of gathering evidence and completing paperwork to submit for malpractice. Mr Daniel's office consists of two small rooms in a office building. One room he uses as his office and a closet size room that he has his wife show up on initial consult so it appears that he has a secretary. I saw her for only the initial consult. Mr Williams does not have a lobby or a secretary and his hourly fee is much lower than area lawyers. These facts alone should have been a warning. All I wanted was a lawyer that returned calls, emails in a reasonable amount of time and not several weeks later.

    1. Daniel Seth Williams

      Daniel Williams

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have not represented a client named Chrystel, so this may be a review from an opposing party or attorney. Nevertheless, I will respond. First, the Court wouldn't suggest someone file malpractice paperwork, as court employees are prohibited by law from giving legal advice. Second, I have never missed a hearing. Third, I file all relevant paperwork to a case. Sometimes clients want things filed that as an attorney I have to explain it should not be filed for various reasons. Fourth, my wife does NOT work for me. My office space is an association of sole practitioners, much like many attorneys have. We all share a common receptionist with a lobby and conference room. I believe it would be unethical to charge more money for a luxury office. Fourth, my name is Mr. Williams, not Mr. Daniels. If this were a real client, then I would be happy to sit down with you and discuss what unearned retainer you believe I have kept. Please feel free to contact me, as I will treat you as I would want to be treated. However, I can not help you if you are hiding behind a fake name. As for my hourly billing, I do not believe in gouging clients during what may be their most difficult days. If other attorneys choose to charge fees that are hard for many people to afford, that is their business. I want to make excellent legal representation available to all my clients.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  7. Fast and Efficient

    Posted by Jackie R., a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-6 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After paying another attorney $3,000.00 and having not one thing even filed in my case, for just shy of a month, I hired Mr. Williams to get a restraining order protecting myself and my child from my husband who was using methamphetamine and drinking heavily. He took our 3 year old to Los Angeles while I was at work and left no contact information, even smashing his iPhone so I could locate him with the find my iPhone feature. Within the week of hiring him, not only was I granted the restraining order, but I received an order that my husband could not return to the house even if I were not there. The sheriffs office also located them in Los Angeles and through coordination with the LA Sheriff's office, I was able to have our child back in my arms safe and secure that same week. Very pleased.

  8. Looks are Very Decieving

    Posted by Ed, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Williams initially impressed me with his discussion of my case. I felt that he would really represent me well. Unfortunately, as the title says, looks are very deceiving. His responsiveness was atrocious. At one point, I did not hear from him for more than two months even though I had left multiple messages. I expected my divorce to take six to seven months. His inability to stay on top of my case, created such a delay in the proceedings that 10 months later my divorce is still not final. His grasp of my case was tenuous at best. I sent him documentation that took three to four sessions to explain. If you decide to hire him, make sure you stay on top of every detail and do not accept any delay in his responsiveness.

    1. Daniel Seth Williams

      Daniel Williams

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry this client was displeased. Calculation of support is computer generated and depends on income and deductions that are allowable under California State law. Often times I tell high income earners, when preparing for a support hearing, that the support order may not be an amount they feel is fair. In this case I did just that. I even won a major concession for a deduction in this client’s favor. This client's spouse then fired the opposing counsel. I am glad that the client is honest that I was knowledgeable and trustworthy. I cannot make miracles happen, no attorney can. I do the best given the circumstantial facts as applied to the law. No attorney can please every single client, but the vast majority of my clients are very pleased.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  9. Happy Client

    Posted by Rodger, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I think what I most appreciated about Mr. Williams is that he would preface all of his legal advice with the fact that it was not his job to tell me what I wanted to hear, but to tell me what I needed to hear and what the Court would expect of me and how things were likely to proceed. I wish the process were not as long, but now understand that having been married for 32 years, everything cannot be unraveled overnight. All of my questions were answered by returning my calls and responding to my emails, although not as fast as I wanted, they were in fact timely and very in-depth so that I knew what my options were and where and how my case was progressing. I interviewed several attorneys before making my choice, and almost cancelled my consultation having thought I had found the right attorney for me. However, I did go to my consultation and when it was over, I knew that I had an advocate on my side and that this is a man who is dedicated to his job, rather than selling snake oil as I now see others were trying to sell. I strongly endorse this attorney and could not have gotten through this without him. I am so glad I made the right choice.

  10. In 6 Months, Ended 5 year Custody Battle

    Posted by Sam, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife filed for divorce in 2007. At the time we had a son who was only 7. For the past 5 years our litigation has gone nowhere, with mutual restraining orders filed, different motions and claims brought and no movement toward settlement whatsoever. In January of 2013, a friend who had used Mr. Williams in Orange County where my case was told me about him and that he was now in Monterey. At first I was hesitant to hire an attorney 100s of miles away, but then by reading my friends file, I knew I had to hire him. As of last week, we have a trial set, all property divided except for one debt, and I have full physical custody of our son, pending a Court ordered CWS investigation of my now ex-wife. While it is not over, until the trial and investigation concludes, I have not felt this relieved in five years. I pray the trial goes as well as our hearing went and have no doubt it will. So long as I have to go to family court, and as long as Daniel is a CA attorney, no matter where he is, I will gladly pay his airfare and hotel to have the honor to be chosen for being represented by him, as I soon found out he does not take just any client.

831-233-3558