Daniel Seth Williams’s Reviews

Daniel Seth Williams

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Reliable and Dependable

    Posted by Frankie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used Daniel Williams for a custody matter since 2007. When we started I had supervised visitation only with my daughter. I had used two previous attorneys and tried to do it on my own as well. Daniel was recommended to me by a friend who had previously been unable to get their ex on supervised visits, and did, so I wanted him to get me off supervised visitation.

    Dan went above and beyond the call of duty. He went out and interviewed neighbors of my ex-wife and the apartment manager all who could attest to the fact that she was constantly drunk and living solely off of my spousal and child support. He also used the custody supervisor as a witness in my case to get me off of supervised visitation. Today, I have had sole legal and sole physical custody of my daughter for over six years, as it took a matter of several court hearings to get me from supervised visitation to sole legal and sole physical custody. The delays were solely due to my ex always getting continuances and going through a string of lawyers. Although my case is in San Diego and I love in Los Angeles and could easily have venue switched, I dont because I know when the once a year trip to FCS comes around, I want Dan to be there to keep the orders as is which he has done every year since I was granted sole legal and physical custody. He really took the time to understand my situation and present the case well to the Court. I have five more years to go with my daughter until she turns 18, so I am positive that I will be using him again no matter where he is or where I am he is truly the best.

  2. Thank You

    Posted by Mark, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    So glad I found Dan on this website. I am eternally thankful for his honesty and hard work. My ex-wife and I had not followed our custody order for years and although on paper she had primary physical custody, the truth is as our daughters got older they stayed more with myself and my new wife and kid. When my wife wanted to move to Florida with our daughters I thought I had no chance of stopping her because of the old order. With witness testimony and sign in sheets (too name just two) we presented a case showing that she did not have primary custody in fact and the court rules that it was not in our daughters best interest to be removed from their routine and they are happily here with me.

  3. OUTSTANDING

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.

    Dan Williams personified what it means to be an advocate for children in the broken world of the family courts. I went into the process wanting full custody of my kids and have to admit I wanted a real wolf to tear into my ex. Dan helped me channel my feelings and gave me realistic expectations.

    I had interviewed a total of four attorneys before choosing him and I did so because he was the only one that told me straight out that my expectations were to high and that if I did not want to real in my expectations we would not be a good fit. I knew then that he was an honest attorney and not just wanting to take my money and then blame someone else if I did not get what I had wanted. In the end I got almost everything he said I would get and by actually taking the time to explain things to me and how the broken system operates, I had a better understanding and appreciation going into court.

    I am not a fan of the judicial system, lawyers, or other people making decisions for me, so I am very grateful I found Dan on Avvo to give me the guidance I needed so that when my divorce was over with, I was not left with empty pockets and unfulfilled desires. There are plenty of good attorneys I witnessed during the course of my case and Dan seemed to be friendly to all of them which showed me he knows how to get things done, which he certainly did. I think he is up there with the best of them and if I have to use another lawyer again for my case I will definitely be going back to him.

  4. Superb Attorney

    Posted by Dante, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have been a client of Daniel for the last two years in a never ending custody dispute. Every time I am served with a new motion, Daniel remains calm and collected and has guided me with great knowledge and while the situations are stressful, I have been ever so grateful with the results achieved.

  5. Great Advocate

    Posted by Linda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-6 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Daniel Williams substituted into my case 6 weeks before a custody trial and became my lawyer. Things had been going against me from the start and i was using a so called family law specialist. Mr. Williams continued the trial for an extra month to bring in the criminal record of my sons father which I had begged my previous attorney to do but she kept saying it would not matter because the court doesnt care. after that and a deposition the matter settled without the trial my former lawyer wanted. He is a great lawyer and cared more about my kid then getting a fee for a full day trial. i recommend him to be a good family lawyer.

  6. Happy Father

    Posted by Christopher, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a former and probably future client of Daniel Williams. Mr. Williams handled my paternity matter with great knowledge and skill. I have full legal and full physical custody of my twin daughters after a legal battle where my ex did not allow me to even text our daughters until she was court ordered to allow visitation. Mr. Williams’ catch phrase of "no worries" proved true and I am extremely satisfied with his work and our result.

  7. problem solver

    Posted by Dale, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was devastated when I filed for divorce. My spouse was angry and dangerous. Mr. Williams got a restraining order for my protection. He was great in court and blew the other attorney out of the water.
    Divorce is an ugly process, but he got me through and now it is history. I think he is the best!

  8. "glad all (is) over"

    Posted by Marty, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Williams handled my divorce. I was married for 30 years with two adult children. My divorce was complicated because of the real estate,investments and pension plan. The divorce was very emotional and a lot of emotional stress. Mr. Williams kept me from blowing my stack and had me prepared for court. My ex to be filed a restraining order to keep me away from the children and immediate financial support. Mr. Williams got that denied. as the song goes "glad all over" with Mr. Williams.

  9. Beware!

    Posted by Chrystel,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 6-12 months ago.

    At first I was assured by Mr Daniels that he would represent me. He was available and promptly returned my calls and emails for the first 2 weeks. _Then the issues started... He disappeared for several weeks and then appeared at a court date without submitting any of the evidence I gave him. I went to the courthouse crying when I didn't know if he was going to show up and they suggested I fill out malpractice paperwork. The whole situation was a nightmare. I had paid for legal representation but I had none. Mr Daniels still refuses to return my retainer that was not used. I am in the process of gathering evidence and completing paperwork to submit for malpractice. Mr Daniel's office consists of two small rooms in a office building. One room he uses as his office and a closet size room that he has his wife show up on initial consult so it appears that he has a secretary. I saw her for only the initial consult. Mr Williams does not have a lobby or a secretary and his hourly fee is much lower than area lawyers. These facts alone should have been a warning. All I wanted was a lawyer that returned calls, emails in a reasonable amount of time and not several weeks later.

    1. Daniel Seth Williams

      Daniel Williams

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have not represented a client named Chrystel, so this may be a review from an opposing party or attorney. Nevertheless, I will respond. First, the Court wouldn't suggest someone file malpractice paperwork, as court employees are prohibited by law from giving legal advice. Second, I have never missed a hearing. Third, I file all relevant paperwork to a case. Sometimes clients want things filed that as an attorney I have to explain it should not be filed for various reasons. Fourth, my wife does NOT work for me. My office space is an association of sole practitioners, much like many attorneys have. We all share a common receptionist with a lobby and conference room. I believe it would be unethical to charge more money for a luxury office. Fourth, my name is Mr. Williams, not Mr. Daniels. If this were a real client, then I would be happy to sit down with you and discuss what unearned retainer you believe I have kept. Please feel free to contact me, as I will treat you as I would want to be treated. However, I can not help you if you are hiding behind a fake name. As for my hourly billing, I do not believe in gouging clients during what may be their most difficult days. If other attorneys choose to charge fees that are hard for many people to afford, that is their business. I want to make excellent legal representation available to all my clients.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  10. Fast and Efficient

    Posted by Jackie R., a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Williams.
    • I hired Daniel 1-6 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After paying another attorney $3,000.00 and having not one thing even filed in my case, for just shy of a month, I hired Mr. Williams to get a restraining order protecting myself and my child from my husband who was using methamphetamine and drinking heavily. He took our 3 year old to Los Angeles while I was at work and left no contact information, even smashing his iPhone so I could locate him with the find my iPhone feature. Within the week of hiring him, not only was I granted the restraining order, but I received an order that my husband could not return to the house even if I were not there. The sheriffs office also located them in Los Angeles and through coordination with the LA Sheriff's office, I was able to have our child back in my arms safe and secure that same week. Very pleased.

831-233-3558