David Carroll Stone’s Reviews

David Carroll Stone

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Informative and Diligent

    Posted by Fab, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Stone.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Stone and his team have been very helpful during a difficult time. I feel he has given me the information and advice to help me make solid decisions regarding my matter and I am confident my case is handled with the highest level of professionalism. Having Mr. Stone by side during this time of great stress puts me at ease. Thank you for the support and diligence!

    I highly recommend The Law Office of David C. Stone.

  2. Great law firm to deal with.

    Posted by Kathy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Stone.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David and his whole staff are very nice, responsive and caring. They have helped me over the past three years through the good and bad. David is always available when I need to talk or need help, and if he is not available his associate attorney Khoa is always there. They are not the typical law firm that is just out to take your money, they truly care about their clients and they have never made me feel like I was just another client or just another person to bill. If you want a hard working, caring firm in your time of need, you can't go wrong with The Law Offices of David Stone.

  3. Detailed & Through

    Posted by Dale, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Stone.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Stone handled my case very well. He scowered through the details and supplied good communication so I always felt informed and clear about my position within the litagation. Each time we meet he was very informed and clear on the details of my case and goals for which I hired him.

  4. I had a bad experience with this attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Stone.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David didn't represent our case effectively. Charged for work that was never done. Used money that was supposed to be paid against child support as a retainer for himself. Spent most of the client meetings talking about himself, then charged us for it. When we call him on this, he yelled and was a condescending bully. When we refused to pay any more money, he asked the judge to be removed as our attorney. This was the only good thing he did for us.

    1. David Carroll Stone

      David Stone

      Lawyer Comment:

      We want to thank our clients who invest the time to send in a review about our firm. We use client reviews as an opportunity to learn how we can serve our clients better. Because most reviews are anonymous, we invite the reviewer to contact us directly, so that we can work with you individually to remedy the situation. Divorces, child custody and support issues are highly emotional, confidential situations and we cannot respond publicly without breaching attorney-client privilege. Some clients may not be happy with the outcome of their case, usually because they had unrealistic expectations of how the court would determine custody, asset distribution, or support payments, based on their individual circumstances. We do our best to explain to our clients the elements of their case and what to expect. We have NEVER charged a client for work that was not done and we have never diverted any funds from child support to a client retainer. This would be impossible to do, since we have never received money for child support from any client. Child support is either paid directly to the parent awarded support or to the state. I have also never yelled a client for any reason. We have built our practice on honest and aggressive representation of our clients throughout the process and have helped hundreds of clients through one of the most difficult and stressful events in their lives. We pride ourselves on ensuring that the children do not become collateral damage in disputes between the parents and work diligently to attain results that are in the best interest of our clients and their children. We request that the individual that posted this review please contact us to discuss the very serious allegations he or she is making which are 100% untrue.

      Posted 24 days ago. Flag

  5. review

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Stone.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He asked me to enter into a stipulated judgment because he didn't want to set aside the defalt judgement. He agreed to almost everything into the default judgement what the opposing counsel demanded.

    Don't hire this attorney

    1. David Carroll Stone

      David Stone

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately we do not represent San Diego county nor do we have any clients living in Oceanside. We have also not had a single client substitute out of our office for any reason other than there case coming to an end in the last 6 months so I am not quite sure if this review is accurate. We have tried reaching out privately but they will not come forward. David Stone had personally trained our last paralegal who had started as a receptionist and they are still on very good terms. We have since been so busy that we have hired 2 new paralegals, one of which has over 10 years experience in Family Law alone. She has been getting rave reviews from our current clients. We also have very exciting news of our new move to Suite 900 in the same building which is about 3 times the size so that we can comfortably grow as a firm. Thank you for your concern, we do not take it lightly.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Thank you David C. Stone

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Stone.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Stone helped me through my custody battle and now I have custody of my two children. Highly recommended. Thank you Mr. Stone.

    1. David Carroll Stone

      David Stone

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you are happy with our representation and hope you and your children have a happy and productive future ahead of you.

      Posted 24 days ago. Flag

  7. family law attorney

    Posted by Ruben, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Stone.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had an ex parte hearing on Feb 07 2008 that my ex filed Feb 06 2008 and Mr Stone did not appear and I was advised by his office also for myself not to appear and the judge made orders and as a result I lost custody of my daughters

    1. David Carroll Stone

      David Stone

      Lawyer Comment:

      We want to thank our clients who invest the time to send in a review about our firm. We use client reviews as an opportunity to learn how we can serve our clients better. Because most reviews are anonymous, we invite the reviewer to contact us directly, so that we can work with you individually to remedy the situation. Divorces, child custody and support issues are highly emotional, confidential situations and we cannot respond publicly without breaching attorney-client privilege. Some clients may not be happy with the outcome of their case, usually because they had unrealistic expectations of how the court would determine custody, asset distribution, or support payments, based on their individual circumstances. We do our best to explain to our clients the elements of their case and what to expect. We have never missed a court appearance, nor do we advise our clients not to appear when it is necessary for them to do so. We have built our practice on honest and aggressive representation of our clients throughout the process and have helped hundreds of clients through one of the most difficult and stressful events in their lives. We pride ourselves on ensuring that the children do not become collateral damage in disputes between the parents and work diligently to attain results that are in the best interest of our clients and their children.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

866-774-3237