Paul Erik Thorup Thomsen’s Reviews

Paul Erik Thorup Thomsen

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Failure to represent at deposition

    Posted by Vance, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-6 months ago.
    • Paul handled my Workers Compensation matter.

    I am disappointed in my attorney paul thompsen. He did not adequately represent me at my deposition. He spent his time at my deposition playing games on his phone, rather than representing and defending my deposition which was his responsibility. He would not answer my questions and was fixated on the games he was playing on his phone.

  2. ATTORNEY IGNORES YOU

    Posted by James, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Workers Compensation matter.

    Paul Thomsen was hired to represent me and to defend me in a workers compensation deposition. Sadly, all he did was read magazines, play games on his smart phone, and appear to be sleeping. I was thoroughly disgusted. I received no representation and my case probably suffered. He simply dopesn't care.

  3. Lack of interest in defending you

    Posted by Jason, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Thomsen, my lawyer, had a simple job: defend me at my deposition. He could not do this without playing games on his phone/smartphone and computer. He played and played all throughout my deposition. He wouldn't have known of there was an objection to make because he was too preoccupied playing games. He didn't even hide this lengthy activity. He would discuss the games he was playing with the other attorney and the court reporter and even me. Aside from being annoying and unprofessional, it totally ignored me. He was paid to protect me, not play. He thinks a deposition is a free pass to play and ignore the client.

  4. Betrayed

    Posted by Craig, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Paul Thomsen as my attorney to represent me at a deposition. I felt betrayed when he brought his smartphone and played games on it throughout the deposition. He did not pay attention to what was going on and was not representing me. Playing games was unprofessional. He even shared his gameplaying with me and how good he was scoring. I was not pleased.

  5. Computer Games During Deposition!!!!

    Posted by Sharon, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My atorney paul thomsen played computer games during my deposition. He ignored his ethical duty to defend me.

  6. FELL ASLEEP DURING DEPOSITION

    Posted by Sean, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Paul Thomsen, my attorney, defended me in a deposition. It was embarrassing when the sound of snoring all of a sudden filled the room. Paul Thomsen was sleeping during my deposition where he was supposed to be defending me. The bother counsel had to gently nudge him and pretend that he did not notice. My rights were not being protected and my lawyer was not doing his job. The court reporter even approached me after the deposition and told me she felt bad for me. I will never hire or recommend Paul Thomsen. I hope nothing important was not objected to while he was sleeping. I was told by his firm secretary that ALL he does is attend depositions and that maybe he got "bored."

  7. Pinball Wizard

    Posted by Tim, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Thomsen to defend me in a workers compensation deposition. He did not pay attention all. He spent the entire time playing on his phone and computer. I could see him playing computer and phone games. He even had to be interrupted by other counsel while he was playing games and he had no idea what other counsel was talking about. I will never hire him again.

  8. Big Mistake

    Posted by Jack, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Paul was my lawyer my case. He did not review all the documents and went to court unprepared. He told the other lawyers the wrong facts and he did not follow my instructions. This is unethical. He blatantly went against my wishes and instructions. He was unable to answer my questions when I asked him about my documents and even I knew the answers. He was just totally unprepared.

  9. No knowledge

    Posted by Kim, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My former attorney did not anything about workers comp law. He was speechless when I would ask him questions. I was not impressed. He could not answer any of my questions nand jusst kept putting me off. I later found out that he is not a real workers comp lawyer, but just defends depositions full time, playing games on his computer while the depos are ongoing. In fact, during my depo he was not paying attention and playing computer games.

  10. Bad news

    Posted by Uri, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Thomsen.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dealing with this attorney was one of the worst expereinces, he was retained for a family law case. He took three months to file the OSC after continous requests, follow-ups, etc. Dealing with his staff was so bad, no one knew what was going on and 50% of his work was sub contracted out. We never received a billing statement for his services even though we requested many times, but he continued to demand more money otherwise he would not work for me or continur to be my attorney. I was not only fighting for custody of my child, I had to fight with my own attorney! It was like pulling teath to get any kind of service, I paid thousands only to get to docs filed. He is a strong arm money hungry, non ethical lawyer. While I was in his office I overheard another client yelling and demanding his money back because he has not done any work but took his money.

    I finally had to dismiss him, I lost a lot of money but not dealing with him and his office will be worth it. I am now looking for a good trust worthy attorney to help me.

    What ever you do stay away from this one.