Shaun Hanson’s Reviews

Shaun Hanson

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney Experience

    Posted by Janice, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 1-3 years ago.
    • Shaun handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My journey down this long dark and everlasting road is still continuing. It began in March of 2013 and again another court appearance. This time a trial appearance took place yesterday, Tuesday June 17, 2014.

    At this point I can honestly state that I have dealt with a professional team of attorneys and paralegal. My many questions and emails have been quickly and thoroughly answered each time. Yesterday Mr. Bradford handled the trial end of my case and he was fantastic! Mr. Hanson has been handling the negotiations and he too is wonderful. This team understands you as a person and is willing to work with you. I know how threatening attorneys can be especially financially, but not this firm. They truly do work for you! Thank you Shaun, Erik, Daniel, Dana and Aracelli-you all get an A+ in my book (I'm a teacher) so that is an inside joke.

    We meet back again in court to hopefully complete the trial September 26, 2014 (yes the courts are that backed up) so I'll update everyone then on the final status of my divorce. This should have been a "slam dunk" no assets, he was incarcerated for 8 1/2 years and upon his release I filed for divorce. No children-they're all grown up. But he has contested the divorce and feels he is entitled to spousal support, half of my retirement and wants me to pay for his attorney's fees too!

    This team has dug in for me and gone beyond thier duties. I would recommend them to anyone who is need of a divorce attorney and then some!

  2. Trustworthy, Honest, Loyal and Most Genuine Representation a Single Mother Could Ask For.

    Posted by Tanisha Cooper, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 6-12 months ago.
    • Shaun handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dear Mr. Shaun Hanson,

    I would like to take this opportunity to express my extreme gratitude and appreciation for all your hard work and relentless effort and persistence in pursuing a positive outcome in my legal battle regarding my precious daughter Jazmyne. It was one of the hardest and most emotional situations I have ever been in, and I felt throughout the process you went over and beyond the call of duty to resolve the matter as quickly and fairly as possible. Your confidence and assurance helped me tremendously in coping with the process, yet you were always truthful and forthright. I was always kept in the loop and was educated and informed throughout the custody battle. Your patience and professionalism were impressive, but you’re sincere caring and concern was what really set you apart from most attorneys especially the ones I have hired in the past. I wish I would have known about you in 2008 because it would have been done then not years later. You couldn’t have been more thorough and accurate, especially since this was complicated and complex in that you had to deal with someone who was not mentally there which was my unhealthy ex-husband. So many times my life was at jeopardy the moment I walked out of the court room, escorted out by police however you put yourself in the same chaos to keep me safe and most important “Hopeful”. I remember your words very clearly, “You’re not alone, You will never be alone, I’m here to help and We will get through this together your daughter will be safe and the stability she needs from you very soon”. Overall, you are truly an Exceptional, Generous and Courageous and most Genuine Attorney and I will be forever grateful to you, Dana and Araceli. Though I hope no one has to go through what I went through, I will certainly highly recommend you and Hanson, Gorian & Bradford Law Firm if anyone is looking for a top family law attorney. I’m extremely blessed to have our family attorney Iver Bye refer me over to your office and almost three years later I was no longer a Victim, We became Victorious! Many Continued Blessings over your Career and continue to help others like myself which gave me Hope again.

    Best Regards,
    Tanisha

  3. Shaun Hanson is AWESOME!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun more than 3 years ago.
    • Shaun handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shaun Hanson represented me several years ago. i had tried several times to file my paperwork pro per. After having my paperwork rejected, i hired Shaun to file for me. My initial divorce was easy as it was amicable, however a few years later my ex took me back to court for post judgement modification of visitation. Upon arriving to court and finding my ex had brought his family with him, knowing how embarrassing i thought it was to be in court at all, Shaun asked the judge for an in chambers session so my ex's family was unable to "watch" the hearing. He was incredible sensitive to how i felt and handled my case in a respectful and professional manner.
    He is an amazing attorney! He is fair and respectful to the opposing party as well!
    f you are in doubt about hiring Shaun Hanson for your family law case, my best advise to you is to go watch him in court (he is Hemet family law court almost every day)! He is amazing and the respect he has of his peers is evident!

  4. A True Blessing!!!

    Posted by "Blessed Mother of 3", a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 6-12 months ago.
    • Shaun handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Hiring Shaun Hanson & working with his paralegal Monica were a blessing to me. Shaun was always there in court, meeting me (if needed), gave me his legal opinion AND fought for me when it counted. Monica was always on top of my case with paperwork filled out properly & on time, having me do stuff for her to save me money AND always getting back to me promptly via email or phone calls. I was VERY blessed being recommended to Shaun & his firm by a friend, hiring him AND having him & his legal team fighting for me. They made my divorce & custody battle less painful then it already was...by made us feel more safe & secure knowing we had someone fighting on our behave. I would hire AND recommend his legal services to friends & family...which I already have. Thank God for Shaun & Monica in mine AND my kids lives!!!

  5. Not even close to fair representation

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 6-12 months ago.
    • Shaun handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Hanson and his firm to represent me in what should've been a cut and dry custody case. I had previously had 80%+ custody of my son, when his father moved back to the area and decided he now wanted 50/50 (i'm sure to avoid paying child support). I stressed to the courts that this was a challenge for my son (who was only a toddler) to go from living primarily with me to now being shuffled house-to-house every 3 days. Mr. Hanson assured me that he agreed this situation was not suitable, and that we could contest the mediator's recommendation in court. I guess what he meant by contest was that I could roll over and submit to the judge when it actually came time to go in front of the judge -because that's exactly what Mr. Hanson did. When the judge (who was new to the family law bench) stated that he was following the mediator's recommendation (the same mediator that has several grievances and complaints filed against him), Mr. Hanson didn't make a peep. Just asked that a "90 day review" of this arrangement be made. But as anyone in law will tell you - once a court makes a ruling, they hardly ever go back on it without damaging evidence. So here were are 6 months later, $6k later, and my ex has 50/50 of our son. And my son is now regressing in his behavior and can't understand why he's split between two homes all of a sudden. Thanks, Shaun.
    Meanwhile, while the 90 day trial period was underway, my ex submitted a declaration to the court accusing me of abuse, racism, and a bunch of other unreasonable things (he was grasping at straws,) and the paralegal from this office calls me to "discuss" them - I put discuss in quotations because what I really mean is that SHE continued to accuse ME, and took my ex's words as truth rather than asking me my side of the story. I was 39 weeks pregnant and she basically told me, "well you've lost the case now just so you know. we should just call opposing counsel now and agree to 50/50" I'm sorry - but who am I paying you to represent? I was hysterical and emotional and could not believe she approached me in that way. I was so shaken up because I knew what the truth was! And here she was taking my exhusbands side. While was paying her $200+ an hour to read the court documents.
    I show up to court only to find out that Mr. Hanson had had supposedly had some kind of motorcycle accident and wouldn't be there to represent me at the hearing that day - his partner, Mr. Bradford would. Mr Bradford showed up 90 minutes late and basically took advantage of my pregnant emotional state and told me not to go in front of the judge - to agree to the 50/50 arrangement and be done with it. I told him I would keep the current arrangement (which was technically I had 57% or something random,) if the schedule of the visits could be changed - instead of 3 days on 3 days off, could the schedule be one week on one week off. Mr Bradford said sure! No problem! Come to find out, this made the custodial timeshare an even 50/50 percentage, meaning I lost primary custodianship of my child. And now to enroll him in school next year, I will have to pay the courts (and another attorney) for a 730 custodial evaluation, which is upwards of $10k. The representation of this firm is horrific - they look at you as a number, an invoice, a payment - they don't take the time to get to know your case or your end goal. Their end goal is just getting paid. Period.
    I spoke two Mr. Hanson TWICE between October and May - once at our consult in October, once at the hearing in November - and never again. All of that for over $6k in work.

  6. Best representation I have ever had

    Posted by L. WILLIAMSON, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 1-3 years ago.
    • Shaun handled my Family matter.

    I hired Shaun Hanson for a Paternity case which had been ongoing for quite some time. After two other lawyers did not help to move my case in more than a year, Shaun accomplished more than my two previous attorneys in just a few months. I highly recommend this office. They were all very helpful and Shaun is a very Knowledgeable Attorney and definitely knows the Law. I was very impressed that every time I called the office, the phone was picked up within the first two rings. VERY IMPRESSIVE!!!

  7. Excellent

    Posted by Scott, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 1-3 years ago.
    • Shaun handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Shaun Hanson by a friend who had gone through a nasty divorce. I had a similar situation and he did a fantastic job for me! He is very smart and it only takes you seying him do his thing at Court to know that he is fantastic. I would highly recommend him to anyone. If you have any doubts, see for your self.

  8. Lisa

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 1-3 years ago.
    • Shaun handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shaun Hanson and his staff are wonderful. They treated me great and Shaun was able to get my case settled when no one else could. I would recommend him to anyone!!!

  9. MS. JENNIFER JONES

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 1-3 years ago.
    • Shaun handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I WAS TRYING TO HANDLE MY OWN DIVORCE AND SAW SHAUN IN COURT. I CALLED AND WAS GIVEN AN APPOINTMENT THAT SAME DAY. I PAID A RETAINER, WHICH I WAS TOLD WAS REFUNDABLE. MY CASE WAS DONE AFTER JUST ONE MORE COURT APPEARANCE AND I GOT $286.00 BACK FROM MY RETAINER. SHAUN IS AGGRESSIVE AND COMPETENT.

  10. Shaun Hanson is absolutely awesome

    Posted by Donna B., a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shaun Hanson.
    • I hired Shaun 1-3 years ago.
    • Shaun handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shaun Hanson represented me in my divorce a few years ago and he is absolutely an amazing Attorney. In my oppinion, the BEST there is. He has always gotten me very good results. I had to use him on two other occasions since my divorce as my ex keeps taking me back to Court for custody and visitation. Shaun Hanson has been an awesome Attorney and I feel like my ex husband can take me back to Court as many times as he wants because my Attorney kicks butt!