James Nelson Dicks’s Reviews

James Nelson Dicks

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. the grass is greener on James Dicks side!!!!@

    Posted by tamara benson, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    if you want the best and and need to forget the rest go with James Dicks! My husband was arrested march 2013 for a small amount of dope. they (the D.A) were trying throw the book at him as well as everybody else's book not because of the current charges but because of a past conviction from 2007. reluctant to hire a lawyer because of our past experience from 2007 I went shopping asking around and hired Mr Dicks. Mr Dicks was able to get my husband on Prop 36 an during the program you have to go in front off to judge every couple months show progress report and completion of the program. he has been there every time. so if you're looking for the easy way out and where the grass is greener. Then go where they water it, cultivate it, know all about it, and cares enough to tend to it. call Mr Dicks.

  2. Fantastic attorney!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired attorney Dicks in 2012 to represent my interests in a DUI case. From the onset he demonstrated high degree of professionalism and tact. I knew he was well respected and sought out and trusted that his judgment and legal counsel will be the difference between fact and fiction. Upon successful initial representation, I had reasons to believe that my record can be sealed and destroyed. Attorney Dicks handled the expunging process successfully and without reservation I hereby recommend his services to anyone who seeks impeccable defense, expertise and professionalism!

  3. Knowledgeable and helpful

    Posted by Cindy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    James has handle 3 of our family's cases they were all drug related cases. With his very good expertise and knowledge we got very good outcomes. If we need him again he would be our go to attorney I will definitely always recommend him to others. Thanks

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Mr. Dicks when my son got into some serious legal troubles. Mr. Dicks was very on top of the case and really helped my son avoid prison time . He is a great attorney.

  5. Excellent and would recommend to anyone.

    Posted by Jeff, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr Dicks came very highly recommended by a business associate who's son was defended by Jim Dicks. And we saw firsthand why...

    I retained Mr Dicks to represent my brother who had several drunk and disorderly charges. He aggressively got "ahead" of the issues. The case grew in complexity and it didn't faze him. I would highly recommend him to anyone in the San Diego area.

  6. Life Saver; Forever Grateful

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was faced with the potential of receiving 4 separate felony (drug-related) charges in 2011. As a young female who had trusted the wrong boy and one day hoped of utilizing her degree to obtain a respectable living 4 felonies would eliminate all chances. When I first met Mr. Dicks I was shocked, confused and scared to death. He was able to ease my fears from the first meeting, offering both a compassionate ear and a comprehensive knowledge of the law and criminal justice system in California. (particularly Vista/North County Court)

    With Mr. Dicks knowledge, relationships and skill he was able to get me a deal which involved an unsupervised probation (so I could return to my home state) pleading guilty to a felony for a period of time, then reducing that to a misdemeanor and an eventual expungement. It was initially supposed to be 3 years until I could have my probation terminated and record expunged. Thanks to Mr. Dicks perseverance and abilities as an effective lawyer we put in a motion for early termination of probation and expungement that was accepted this November, a YEAR before the sentence originally allowed.

    Mr. Dicks helped me through one of the darkest times of my life. I could not have asked for a better lawyer/adviser. His assistant Liz was also extremely helpful; there to answer questions, pass along information and provide reassurance. I would highly recommend Mr. Dicks and Liz to anyone seeking legal counsel. You can literally trust them with your life!

  7. Do Not Hesitate to Hire this Man!

    Posted by Debbie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My son was charged with first degree burglary and obstruction. I was a nervous wreck when entering the office for the consultation. Mr. Dicks was very kind and compassionate from the get go and although there were clients waiting for him, he told me to take my time in relating the details of the case. Mr. Dicks was in no hurry to get me out of his office. It was easy to make the decision to retain this man to represent my son. The last words he said to me when I left--"I will take care of your son."

    Mr. Dicks was very knowledgeable and very responsive. His assistant, Liz, was a gem and always willing to help with my inquiries. My emails and phone calls were always acknowledged. They both wanted to make sure that all questions were answered to my satisfaction.

    The end result was what we requested and when the probation term lapses, Mr. Dicks will return to court to have the felony expunged from my son’s record.

    Mr. Dicks was quite impressive and seems to be able to write his own ticket around the courthouse.

  8. Excellent service and followthrough

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    James Dicks helped me after firing my first lawyer on a very hard DUI case. He is very knowledgeable of the contacts in the court system in the San Diego area and gives incredibly proactive, actionable and successful advice for your case. He is very available, attentive, responds with urgency and has great knowledge. I would recommend him for anyone fighting a DUI charge.

  9. GREAT...GREAT... GREAT AWESOME LAWYER

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My son was involved in a burglary with special allegations. He was looking at about 6-10 years in prison. He got 180 days in work furlough and 3 years probation, no prison or jail.

  10. Temendous Help and Support

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Dear James Dicks and Staff,

    I had to take a moment to thank you for your tremendous help and support on my DUI case. Your authentic care, urgent attention, expert knowledge, ability to influence, and resources helped turn a very challenging and life changing experience to a positive outcome.

    I appreciate everything you and your staff have done for me and would recommend anyone looking for a strong, experienced attorney to represent them.

    Thank you again.