James Nelson Dicks’s Reviews

James Nelson Dicks

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Knowledgeable and helpful

    Posted by Cindy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    James has handle 3 of our family's cases they were all drug related cases. With his very good expertise and knowledge we got very good outcomes. If we need him again he would be our go to attorney I will definitely always recommend him to others. Thanks

  2. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Mr. Dicks when my son got into some serious legal troubles. Mr. Dicks was very on top of the case and really helped my son avoid prison time . He is a great attorney.

  3. Excellent and would recommend to anyone.

    Posted by Jeff, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr Dicks came very highly recommended by a business associate who's son was defended by Jim Dicks. And we saw firsthand why...

    I retained Mr Dicks to represent my brother who had several drunk and disorderly charges. He aggressively got "ahead" of the issues. The case grew in complexity and it didn't faze him. I would highly recommend him to anyone in the San Diego area.

  4. Life Saver; Forever Grateful

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was faced with the potential of receiving 4 separate felony (drug-related) charges in 2011. As a young female who had trusted the wrong boy and one day hoped of utilizing her degree to obtain a respectable living 4 felonies would eliminate all chances. When I first met Mr. Dicks I was shocked, confused and scared to death. He was able to ease my fears from the first meeting, offering both a compassionate ear and a comprehensive knowledge of the law and criminal justice system in California. (particularly Vista/North County Court)

    With Mr. Dicks knowledge, relationships and skill he was able to get me a deal which involved an unsupervised probation (so I could return to my home state) pleading guilty to a felony for a period of time, then reducing that to a misdemeanor and an eventual expungement. It was initially supposed to be 3 years until I could have my probation terminated and record expunged. Thanks to Mr. Dicks perseverance and abilities as an effective lawyer we put in a motion for early termination of probation and expungement that was accepted this November, a YEAR before the sentence originally allowed.

    Mr. Dicks helped me through one of the darkest times of my life. I could not have asked for a better lawyer/adviser. His assistant Liz was also extremely helpful; there to answer questions, pass along information and provide reassurance. I would highly recommend Mr. Dicks and Liz to anyone seeking legal counsel. You can literally trust them with your life!

  5. Do Not Hesitate to Hire this Man!

    Posted by Debbie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My son was charged with first degree burglary and obstruction. I was a nervous wreck when entering the office for the consultation. Mr. Dicks was very kind and compassionate from the get go and although there were clients waiting for him, he told me to take my time in relating the details of the case. Mr. Dicks was in no hurry to get me out of his office. It was easy to make the decision to retain this man to represent my son. The last words he said to me when I left--"I will take care of your son."

    Mr. Dicks was very knowledgeable and very responsive. His assistant, Liz, was a gem and always willing to help with my inquiries. My emails and phone calls were always acknowledged. They both wanted to make sure that all questions were answered to my satisfaction.

    The end result was what we requested and when the probation term lapses, Mr. Dicks will return to court to have the felony expunged from my son’s record.

    Mr. Dicks was quite impressive and seems to be able to write his own ticket around the courthouse.

  6. Excellent service and followthrough

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    James Dicks helped me after firing my first lawyer on a very hard DUI case. He is very knowledgeable of the contacts in the court system in the San Diego area and gives incredibly proactive, actionable and successful advice for your case. He is very available, attentive, responds with urgency and has great knowledge. I would recommend him for anyone fighting a DUI charge.

  7. GREAT...GREAT... GREAT AWESOME LAWYER

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My son was involved in a burglary with special allegations. He was looking at about 6-10 years in prison. He got 180 days in work furlough and 3 years probation, no prison or jail.

  8. Temendous Help and Support

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Dear James Dicks and Staff,

    I had to take a moment to thank you for your tremendous help and support on my DUI case. Your authentic care, urgent attention, expert knowledge, ability to influence, and resources helped turn a very challenging and life changing experience to a positive outcome.

    I appreciate everything you and your staff have done for me and would recommend anyone looking for a strong, experienced attorney to represent them.

    Thank you again.

  9. Criminal Defense Client

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I highly recommend Mr. Dicks. He handled our case beyond my expectations. Very knowledgeable, as well as very professional & responsive.

  10. DUI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Our son was involved in a car accident about a year ago and was arrested due to suspicion of a DUI (marijana). We were shocked and not sure where to turn. Mr. Dicks came highly recommended and when we arrived at his office he was kind, compassionate and very educated about this type of arrest. He informed us of the process we were about to encounter and kept us informed the entire time. He was always available for any questions and kept calm during the entire process. He is very knowledgeable about this type of case and the laws surrounding the issue. Our son's case was dismissed, (although he did face penalties at home - no driving for 1 year and loss of certain friends) he has gone onto college, where he was recruited to play his sport, and has remained clear of any more problems. I would hate to think where he would be without Mr. Dicks assistance! If you are a famiy facing this type of problem, I would highly recommend you see Mr. Dicks and trust him to do the right thing!!

Call now for a free consultation.

760-630-2000