Douglas Henry Swope’s Reviews

Douglas Henry Swope

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Douglas Swope

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Swope.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As a docotr in the community, I know how important it is to be able to rely on a professional in a time of need. I had my own medical crisis and Mr. Swope represented me. He is not only extremely compassionate and highly knowledgable, he is also hands on and responsive. He helped me through a difficult process and I was awarded a very fair judgement. I would highly recommend him.

  2. Ethical Lawyer

    Posted by Richard, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Swope.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I initially worked for Mr. Swope as an associate trial attorney years ago. Not only is he extremely knowledgeable about PI trial practice, he took the time to mentor junior attorneys, emphasizing ethical but zealous representation, and preparedness.

    As a sole practitioner, I have recommended difficult or complicated cases to Mr. Swope, and have had nothing but happy clients and excellent results. If the case merits jury trial, he will try the case....which is not something that can be said of many self proclaimed "trial attorneys".

  3. Knows his stuff

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Swope.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    There is no question that Doug cares about his clients and does what needs to be done to further their interests. He knows his way around the courtroom like a pro and the judges all know and respect him, which is very important. A good choice for those needing someone with strong trial skills.

  4. Best qualified attorney in San Diego

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Swope.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Douglas Swope represented myself and my 3 children in an auto accident involving a drunk driver hitting all of us as we were at a stop. He not only thoroughly knew the law but preceded in a professional, diligent and timely fashion. He handled all matters of the situation so we could focus on getting ourselves healed from the accident and then compensated as well. If the situation ever arises again, I would not hesitate to hire him again. He is a true professional! Thank you Mr. Swope!!

  5. Very Positive Experience

    Posted by Jonathan, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Swope.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I hired Mr. Swope to represent me in a lawsuit against a major insurance company for an MVA-related injury. He handled my case with professionalism, courtesy and expedience. He negotiated an excellent settlement. I would highly recommend him.

  6. One of the best IMHO

    Posted by Sharkie, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Swope.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Doug is one of the most knowledgeable and hard working attorneys that I know. I am an attorney and used him to represent me in my own accident, and I refer many people his way because he has always done a fantastic job. He is honest and evaluates cases realistically, and has excellent trial skills.

  7. Waste of my time...

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Douglas Swope.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This lawyer was very negative towards my case, I felt like he was working for the opposite side.

    1. Douglas Henry Swope

      Douglas Swope

      Lawyer Comment:

      Deposition testimony included allegations of drinking and pot smoking. Case was defensible. Client recommended to accept settlement, she refused, hired new lawyer who settled case at number we obtained for her.

      Posted over 4 years ago. Flag