Carlos J Tavares III’s Reviews

Carlos J Tavares III

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Child Custody Case

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 6-12 months ago.
    • Carlos handled my Child Custody matter.

    I recently hired Mr. Tavares for a child custody case. He quickly lived up to his reputation as an aggressive but fair lawyer. Mr. Tavares collected the background for my case and determined the relevant information. He wrote my declaration with my input, ensuring the declaration was applicable but not emotional. His defense in the courtroom was similar - aggressive, factual, and pertinent.

    Prior to mediation and prior to the trial, Mr. Tavares worked with me to review probable questions from the mediator or opposing attorney respectively. In particular, he insisted we review difficult topics. He was purposely hard on me in order to prepare for the actual events.

    Mr. Tavares clearly is driven to do what is in the best interest of the child. He also never gives his clients false hope. He was honest throughout the process. He let me know when events had not gone in my favor. I appreciated the honest feedback vice false hope. That being said, Mr. Tavares successfully won my case.

    One final note: Mr. Tavares quickly responds to all correspondence.

    I would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Tavares to others seeking a family law lawyer.

  2. Carlos Tavares: A force to be reckoned with

    Posted by Anita, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Alimony matter.

    Having to appear in court, no matter what the issue, is an unnerving experience. If you want someone to pat your wrist and tell you everything will be okay, go have dinner with your mom. But if you need someone who is passionate about the law and well prepared to battle on your behalf in the courtroom, then talk to Carlos Tavares. He is knowledgeable, direct, and can expertly cut through mountains of material, extracting only what is relevant to a judge. Mr. Tavares is a tough-as-nails attorney and I was very grateful that he was on MY side of the table!

  3. Right man for the job.

    Posted by Alexander, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Child Support matter.

    Carlos Travers was able to save me a lot of money. He has a take charge aggressive attitude with the charisma to get his way in the court room and make the court think they got what they wanted. He didn't charge me a dime when he first looked at my case to see if he could help me. Being in the Military he gave me a huge discount and the leeway to set payments that would fit in my budget. I would recommend him to anyone that is looking for a lawyer that will tell you how it is and not sugar coat things.

  4. Best lawyer in SoCal

    Posted by Ryan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Carlos helped me more than I can explain, and being active duty he even gave me a really good discount (him being a Marine veteran himself). He is a no nonsense type of guy and has a pitbull personality, he would defend you to the death no matter what the situation was and he takes his job serious. He's also extremely intelligent and knows the law inside and out. He filed all types of papers and typed them up for me next day. He's always on time (that's a Marine thing) I've even been able to give others legal advice just from the things he's taught me. I don't have anything negative to say about him. He was like a mentor to me during my whole situation and definitely cared about my case and my well being to. He's someone who I would strive to be like in life. BOTTOM LINE if you need a lawyer Carlos is your guy. He will continue to remain my lawyer as long as he is practicing law.

  5. Outstanding service and results. Well educated in representing Active Duty Military.

    Posted by Jesse, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a very short fused situation involving child custody and support. A friend highly recommended Mr. Tavares, and his staff. Within a short period of time Mr. Tavares produced the results I needed. He's an aggressive attorney that listens and FIGHTS FOR HIS CLIENT.
    Mr. Tavares is extremely well versed he is on military pay and structure. In the past, I have encountered many attorneys who are not.
    Mr. Tavarez is the attorney you want to hire! I would use his services again without hesitation.

  6. He came He saw He conquered

    Posted by Chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Carlos helped me get exactly what I wanted. This guy is a bulldog...will not take no for an answer and definitely got me up to my A game.
    Unusual for the father to have full custody these days, but sure enough he took charge and got everything I could ask for. Overall, he made my time in court easy and had me well prepared for all angles. I recommend this lawyer to any and everyone who is going thru a divorce, child custody, and/or separation. I'd use him again in a heartbeat if I ever have to.

  7. Knowledgeable Attorney

    Posted by michael, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Carlos knew the laws and established a plan on how to get there. He lead me through all the laws,child custody hearing and I got me everything I wanted . Something not easily done as a male raising two children.

  8. Could not be more pleased

    Posted by Patience, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am so pleased to be able to give Mr. Tavares the highest recommendation possible. He handled my case with a straightforward, no nonsense approach. He is detail oriented and thorough with all of the paperwork as well as being well spoken and confident in the courtroom. Mr. Tavares knows family law and most importantly, he cares about getting the best possible outcome for his clients .

  9. Carlos Tavares III, a Lawyer you can count on.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    No one wants to see their family fall apart and face separation, divorce, and then child custody. But sometimes you can not stop the inevitable.

    I was referred to Carlos Tavares from a good friend of mine and he has now been my lawyer for over 5 years. I had a particularly complicated case. It involved obtaining a restraining order, supervised visitations for the father of my child, as well as the separation of property, divorce, and child custody. Just thinking back on all this is overwhelming, but I can say that Carlos will not take no for an answer when it comes to protecting the best interest of the child and the party that he represents.

    I've walked into the courts without an attorney before and it feels like you're walking into the slaughter house with no representation or hope of coming out being heard. But it's a totally different feeling walking in knowing Carlos will be there to defend you. In every area he represented me, we had victory. I have full custody of my son, I got the full amount of child support/alimony, my son was protected through supervised visitation and my son and I are enjoying a healthy relationship now because of it.

    If you're looking for someone who has morals, values and cares for the rights of those who are struggling to do what's right, Carlos is your lawyer. He will not let you down. He will do all of his research and come to court fully prepared to fight for you, and he comes to win.

    I'm very thankful for the years of representation I have had with Carlos. He was worth every penny spent and then some to have the peace in my house with my son that I have today.

  10. Mack truck of awesome!

    Posted by Joseph, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carlos Tavares.
    • I hired Carlos 1-3 years ago.
    • Carlos handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great is an understatement. He was always on top of my case and didn't miss a beat. He was always very forward and made everything clear. He kept me well informed after every event and responded quickly to all questions. He was able to get me everything I wanted and kept me out of trouble. If you want a cut throat, in your face, reliable lawyer, I recommend this Carlos. He doesn't play around with the little bullshit. He is very blunt. I couldn't have asked for a better lawyer.