Debra Nessa Caligiuri’s Reviews

Debra Nessa Caligiuri

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent at dealing with a difficult case

    Posted by Tom, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It took over 3 years and was a very difficult case, but Debra was able to successfully get my divorce finalized. My ex was difficult and unresponsive, putting up barrier after barrier to getting the case finalized, but Debra was able to remain patient, help me understand the legal aspects of each situation, and recommend a course of action that ultimately got the case settled and finalized.

    It was a long and frustrating process, but Debra was always calm and patient, and helped keep me grounded, always with an eye towards the end goal. She has extensive contacts within the San Diego judicial system and I believe those contacts helped during the numerous court appearances we had to attend.

  2. Blessed

    Posted by Betsy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was attending a 2nd Saturday class for women who are going through a divorce. Debra was one of the guest speakers. I connected with her speech and liked how she seemed sincere and passionate. The main statement that caught my attention was how she kept a small clientele to give her clients complete individual attention. Yes! Finally a lawyer that doesn't think of you as another number! She is very easy to talk to and very assessable. She explains everything to you along each step of the way.

  3. Great Attorney

    Posted by Linda W., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Caligiuri was subbed in my divorce case after being fed up with a prior attorney. She was able to get my case settled within six months of being subbed in. She did a great job and was real knowledgeable as well as compassionate. I am not a person who will spend time writing a review and am a difficult client. I must say she was able to handle me and got me an appropriate settlement based upon the issues of my case.

  4. Ethical Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Debra Caligiuri is an ethical and outstanding attorney. She represented me in a most tumultuous divorce case. We were in court on numerous occasions and I always felt as though she was knowledgeable and representing my best interests. Through the divorce process, she always kept me informed and was always available for any of my questions/concerns. I am pleased to say that despite the complicated nature of my case, it ended quite favorably. I would highly recommend her to anyone who is searching for an divorce attorney! Divorces are extremely unpleasant but Debra and her paralegal made the process go as smoothly as possible.

  5. A very knowledgeable and ethical lawyer

    Posted by Eric, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Debra Caligiuri as my attorney for my divorce. She was referred by a friend who does legal referrals and reviews. I was very pleased with how Mrs. Caligiuri was diligent and had a long term goal of resolving the case while still keeping ethics in mind. Family law can get very personal and she always suggested a fair response while still maintaining our position in the process. I was very pleased and would reccomend her services to someone who wants an experienced, fair attorney. If you want a bulldog to push their way through the system at any expense (i.e kids, ex spouses), she is not the one. She is firm and reasonable and we reached a good settlement without breaking the bank.

  6. Making the best of an unusual situation.

    Posted by Sally, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had tried to navigate my own divorce without an attorney and was unsuccessful. My spouse was not participating in the process. In fact, I did not even know where my spouse was for months at a time. The court legal process made me feel trapped in convention, with an unconventional situation. My case was unusual, and I was hopeful for a settlement that was a-typical, but not unprecedented. I had two young daughters to protect and care for all on my own. I finally hired Debra Caligiuri. Debra listened well, and was never impatient. She did not criticize me for filing on my own and failing to succeed. She informed me of the options and possible complications. She was supportive of my feelings and concerns, never inciting my anger. Her approach was not purely legal, but compassionate too, helping me to weigh the emotional toll with the time and possible legal ramifications. She understood my dilemma and was willing to proceed with my uncommon request, which was to use my home (that was fully paid for) as security for unpaid future child support.
    A divorce was granted, although due to the unusual nature of my settlement, the court retained jurisdiction over the ultimate dissolution of assets and child support.
    Years later, Debra was there to help with the final settlement and stipulation. All told it took ten years (with large gaps of inactivity) to completely resolve the financial aspects. Debra was always there when I needed her. She made the best of a tough situation. She helped me navigate the storm, and all the subsequent gales that followed. My daughters and I came out of it all with a close relationship, and the retention of our home. Thank you Debra Caligiuri!

  7. Excellent lawyer!

    Posted by Donna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Caligiuri was extremely knowledgeable and efficient in reviewing my Marital Settlement Agreement. In addition, she was very kind, patient and thoughtful, a superb example of what a lawyer should be. Thank you Ms. Caligiuri, I was so grateful for your assistance.

  8. Knowledgeable Family Law Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Debra came as a recommendation and from the first visit, I knew she was the best person to handle my case. She is approachable, compassionate, & understanding yet extremely knowledgeable in her area of expertise. Her approach is not aggressive but she is assertive with her client's best interest in mind. She's extremely professional and represents her client & case in the same manner.

    One final note to mention is that she contacted before closing my case to ensure that there were no outstanding items and to make sure I was satisfied. This last gesture made me feel that she cared about me & not just my case, and wanted to make sure I felt comfortable with everything before closing it out. Great extra touch!

  9. One of San Diego's best family law attorneys

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Debra Caligiuri is one of the area's best family law attorneys. She was highly recommended to me by one of San Diego's largest mediation firms. I asked for the names of three outstanding attorneys, and I received three names, but with the caveat that once I met with Debra Caligiuri, I wouldn't feel the need to meet with anyone else.

    Ms. Caligiuri is highly regarded by family law judges and opposing attorneys. They enjoy working with her, as do her clients, because she is highly capable, compassionate, trustworthy, fair, and ethical. Ms. Caligiuri is very strategic in her thinking and quick on her feet. In her many years of experience, she has seen it all. My case was a difficult one, but Ms. Caligiuri's experience kept us one step ahead at every turn. Not only was I thrilled with her results, I was proud to have her represent me. I recommend Ms. Caligiuri to others without reservation, and will continue to do so.

  10. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Caligiuri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Caligiuri is very professional and diligent. She represented me in a Collaborative Divorce and I was very impressed with how well she handled a potentially volatile situation. Her mediation skills are excellent. I am sure we saved a lot of money and agony by staying out of court and resolving our issues quickly and respectfully.

760-477-8595