Marc Allen Duxbury’s Reviews

Marc Allen Duxbury

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc 6-12 months ago.
    • Marc handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Horrible Attorney!!! I hired him to finalize my divorce and he couldn't do that. He wouldn't help me. He just went to court court once and charged a lot of money. They don't do anything for you. Don't hire him!!

  2. Marc Duxbury is the best thing I ever experinced in the court complex

    Posted by James Patten, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In what I fairly early on determined to be a female bias court system I learned the hard way that simply going into court with representation, then mediation answering all question truthfully, responding to accusations and following every court ruling and suggestion by no means guaranteed a fair and just out come. In fact over a five year period I participated in well over 25 court appearances and 5 mediation, resulting in over $ 30,000.00 in legal fees and what the judge’s (three different ones) called a three volume case file. To put it another way, when the clerk set the paper work on the desk it stood at least a foot tall. There must have been more pages then our national health plan has. I recall at the hospital when I first held my little boy and gazed into his eyes as he smiled up at me there were three God, my boy and me. From then on, the most important thing in this whole world was that I do my very best to prove god right for trusting me with such a gift. I would say all I want is for that boy to have a carefree childhood and grow up to be a happy, healthy, productive person. It seemed simple and straight forward but was I ever wrong. This whole thing began in what is sometimes referred to as a one night stand. I knew nothing about this person, my son momma, but boy did I get educated. For the first four years of this journey I was run through the ringer both being represented as well as a good bite of self-representing. I walked out of court countless times completely devastated with the results, crushed by the process, the preconceived attitudes of many over worked court service personnel that see and hear more lies in a given day than most people hear in a life time. And many times I thought if this was just about me I would give up run away and hide but I couldn’t why, well remember the three way meeting in the hospital I spoke of earlier, that and I could not walk away from the greatest love I ever felt, the love a Dad feels for his son, at least in my case. I understand why the courts tend to favor the women/ Mothers after having to sit and hear some unbelievable statements made by men, Dad’s. I felt ashamed to be part of the same gender. But in time I came to understand at least a little bite about the system and with so much seat time in court waiting my turn to be sent packing one guy seemed to stand out time and again, that guy Marc Duxbury, a soft spoken straight talking guy that got thing done. After one particular episode I decided to wait in the halls of justice for him to exit and asked if he would represent me. He said he felt almost like he knew me similar to a court employee or something after having seen me there so many times. We set an appointment for the following week and that was truly the turning point in mine as well as my son’s life. He spoke to me in a very non-lawyer way, meaning he didn’t use a bunch of big words, (legal terms) which in my opinion many in that trade use to simply keep their clients in the dark, ignorant to what or how things work. After all they charge $ 300.00 or $ 400.00 an hour so whatever they do surly it must be far beyond any plane old guy on the street, like oh the one who is paying them. I recall our first court hearing. I was quite worried because I had not spoken with marc for the 2 days prier, having been use to others who were daily calling me to “keep everyone on the same page”, billing page that is. Marc was in and out of several court rooms on this day as he is every day. When we spoke I expressed my concerns to which he said do you trust me? I looked him in the eye and said yes, yes I do. He replied then just relaxed, today is the day you are going to walk out of here happy. I have never been happy walking in or out of there but I had seen him in action so I sat and waited for our turn Marc without any big dramatic speech, filing some declaration or asking for an evidentiary hearing he made me walk out of that place I had come to hate, happy

  3. THE VERY BEST

    Posted by cindy, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cant say enough GOOD things about Marc Duxbury & the services he provided for us. My husband & I had several meetings for a year prior to committing to a BK. My husband would call Marc on his cell phone with endless questions & Marc was so patient and so incredibly helpful! I honestly cant understand the people that are leaving negative marks, It cant possibly be the same man. The World could use a few more Marc Duxbury's

  4. A Lawyer you can trust and count on!!

    Posted by Bill, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Family Law & Child Support help, Quick response, and great communication!! Mr. Duxbury helped me understand the laws, fought for my rights, and made the very complicated, emotional and time consuming court process tolerable. He definately made my life easier, and reduced the stress for me. He was there every step of the way, and and communicated what was happening so I understood what I needed to do. He had my best interest always front of mind and quickly resolved the issues. I would highly recommend Mr Duxbury and the County Law Center to anyone looking for a trustworthy Lawyer who will fight for his clients!
    Family Law & Child Support help, Quick response, and great communication!! Mr. Duxbury helped me understand the laws, fought for my rights, and made the very complicated, emotional and time consuming court process tolerable. He definately made my life easier, and reduced the stress for me. He was there every step of the way, and and communicated what was happening so I understood what I needed to do. He had my best interest always front of mind and quickly resolved the issues. I would highly recommend Mr Duxbury and the County Law Center to anyone looking for a trustworthy Lawyer who will fight for his clients!

  5. Horrible DUI but great outcome!

    Posted by Sharath, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great to say finally I am releived from DUI case.Initially, I went to Marc hesitant thinking whether I am with a right person but that consultation with him reassured and gave me confidence so I decided to go ahead with him. He is very sound in this field and was able to get all information from me and helped to put things to work in my favour.Finally I am now releived totally from serious consequences I should have faced.

    I recommend him as best in San Diego for DUI case. He is an excellent communicator and best in keeping client well informed
    for things to be followed till end. I hope any one else who will take up their case with this lawyer will definetly share story like me. I thank for his services to me and hope let him help others in same way.

  6. Trustable and resposible

    Posted by john, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Hi I am from Los Angeles last year i was unfortunately got into a case of bankruptcy case in San Diego. When you facing with bankruptcy it is never easy. I am in serious debt and unable to pay my creditors. It is a hard time to me when I am facing these things I have tried many lawyers but couldn’t find result but a friend of mine told about Mark he is so nice with and he was so good to get me out from this case without even I have to go to the court one single time. He’s so good and I highly recommended him.

  7. Had my back!

    Posted by Kevin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    About 2 years back, i recieved my first DUI. It created alot of problems for me at work, and with my family. My boss threatened to fire me, and being financially strapped, one could say i was in an extremely bad spot. After calling around to nearly every attorney in the San Diego area, i felt at ease after my conversation with Marc. He gave me quality advice, and assured me everything would be taken care of with some time, and his services of course! He is a reasonably priced, honest man that not only saved my record, he saved my job as well! Thanks Marc!

  8. Thanks Marc!

    Posted by Kelly, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Marc helped me with my bankruptcy case a few months ago. I went in simply to discuss my options. He never made me feel rushed into the decision. He was very knowledgable and helped me understand how all of it worked. It was one of the best decisions that I have ever made! Thanks!

  9. DUI help

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I got pulled over in Carlsbad, San Diego for DUI I was horrified. I couldn't believe that I'd been so stupid. I found myself up against a heavy fine and worse. The officer even suggested I get a lawyer ASAP when they arrested me. My family bailed me out and I found the County Law Center during a google search. I went in for a consult and was impressed with the professionalism they all showed, right down to the secretary. I was mortified to have to find legal representation, but they saw me as an individual and not "a criminal" as I had feared. I can't thank them more for how respectfully they treated me and how hard they worked to get me a fair and reasonable judgement.

  10. Did a great Job

    Posted by Andy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Duxbury.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used Mr Duxbury for a DUI case I was involved with in Carlsbad, San Diego after finding his website online. I went in for an initial consultation and he was very informative and straight up with me.

    I felt great with the initial consult and ended up hiring Mr Duxbury to represent me in my case, he was very knowledgeable and was able to get my sentence drastically reduced and save me from some serious penalty's and even jail time.

    His responsiveness and communication were excellent, hopefully I'll never need his services again but I'd recommend him to anyone I know in San Diego.