Jeffrey Manuel Sydney’s Reviews

Jeffrey Manuel Sydney

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Above and Beyond...That is just who Jeff Sydney is!

    Posted by Jeff,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Sydney.

    Going above and beyond and doing what's necessary to make sure that a dying woman's plan was set up exactly the way it should be in order for her wishes to be carried out exemplifies the type of Lawyer and man that Jeff Sydney is. He didn't have to travel 3 hours and make a house call to make sure all documents were in place, no one really expected him to do it. Yet because of his commitment to his clients and his strong fiduciary sense of obligation it was not even a question. She was not able to travel to him, so he went to her. As a result of his expeditious manner this woman's estate was properly titled and her beneficiaries were named so that costly probate was avoided. Her beneficiaries were also thrilled knowing that their moms estate was preserved and not ravaged through the courts.
    Jeff's expertise and vast knowledge of the law grants him the special privilege of being called a trusted advisor. All that would be so lucky to have one of his customized plans will find out how thorough and detailed the documents are. However, before the plans are drawn up, a thorough discovery takes place unlocking the goals and desires of his client s wishes. Armed with this information he then employs his vast resource of experience in developing a legal document that he fully explains so that even the lay person comes away with knowledge that all is well and compliant with the law. This gives them peace of mind knowing that they have taken the steps necessary to effectively maximize all benefits that the law provides.
    Knowledge, skill, caring... all the right ingredients that make Jeff a top choice for estate and tax planning!

  2. Review Jeffrey Manuel Sidney

    Posted by InSoon,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Sydney.

    Jeffrey Manuel Sydney has an outstanding law firm.
    He is an outstanding attorney and has a formal regular seminar for the clients and for every one
    about the current important issues. He explains all his materials in a way every one could
    understand. All of his staffs perform outstanding service to all the clients with their best efforts.
    Specially, Tina Tseng, as service manager, represents the Sidney Law firm in perfect manner.
    I am really happy that I have them as my attorney.

  3. Jeff Sydney is amazing!

    Posted by Michael, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Sydney.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-6 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jeff rewrote and restructured my wife and my living trust, which hadn't been touched in 15 years. He was very knowledgeable about how the laws had changed and was very clear in his ability to explain it all to us. He was warm and compassionate in talking about unpleasant eventualities (death, disability) and handled the entire process with charm and professionalism.

  4. Excellent Estate Planning Attorney

    Posted by Julia Nickerson, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Sydney.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I've known Jeff through a number of professional organizations and also through work we have conducted via mutual clients. Jeff is of the utmost integrity and possesses a wealth of knowledge in the area of estate planning. I highly endorse Jeff and his practice and recommend him to those individuals in his area seeking quality legal services.

  5. Wonderful experience with Jeffrey and his staff!

    Posted by Erin, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Sydney.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had my will and living trust done by Jeffrey Sydney and his firm, and am very pleased with my experience. Jeff really took the time and care to get to know me and understand "what makes me tick" in the initial meeting so that he and his team could make informed decisions while putting my documents together. The result was an efficient second meeting to finalize and sign the documents.

    Between my first and second meetings, I corresponded via email with Jeff's associate, Christine, who was very responsive.

    Last but not least, the Tina, who handles client services, conducts herself very professionally and I was impressed by her thoroughness when I first called the firm, as well as with her telephone demeanor (I have hired and managed a lot of front office staff in my career).

  6. Bad documentation

    Posted by Shanlu, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffrey Sydney.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    In October 2007 we attended his free dinner sales presentation at the Odyssey Restaurant in Granada Hills California and we hired him right away to do our living trust. Once his was hired, the documents generated by his office had numerous mistakes including many typing errors. It became our job to tell his staff what to do. Because of this, Mr. Sydney got angry at us. Finally they had to redo the whole thing. Later we noticed in the 3+ years we were clients that he had 3 paralegals come and go under his watch (and his assistants too but I can't recall if they changed beyond just once). And his practice is/was just 3 people: himself, a paralegal and an assistant. All leaving abruptly. All requiring us to re-explain and re-do paperwork. I won't speculate why, but I think it impacts the quality of work and service. Since we were required to prepaid the service, so we had to let his staff work on our trust. Mr. Sydney seemed to know what he was doing but not his staff. By the way, we kept all the inaccurate documents with the mistakes for reference if needed.

  7. Administered our trust incorrectly causing negative tax implications

    Posted by a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffrey Sydney.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Trusts matter.

    I had a horrible experience with this attorney. In short, Mr. Sydney administered my parents trust incorrectly causing me/my family unnecessary expense, negative tax implications, and severely limited our ability to liquidate/use assets in our survivors trust. In plain English, he messed up our trust. BADLY. I question Mr. Sydney's ability to customize a trust for specific needs. I suspect he applies the same cookie cutter approach to every trust he creates & administers - whether or not it suits the family's trust and financial situation. Our wealth manager had even questioned why Mr. Sydney was setting things up the way he was. We should have listened to our wealth manager; instead we assumed Mr. Sydney knew what he was doing. Turns out, he does not.

  8. We recommend Jeffrey Sydney highly!

    Posted by steve, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Sydney.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Estate Planning matter.

    If you want piece of mind, Jeffrey Sydney is your guy! My wife and I are using Mr. Sydney to do our wills as well as estate planning. This is our second time around with his firm and we have total trust in his ability to expain to us in layman terms exactly what we are planning and signing. He has shown us his expertise in his field and we know our hard earned money is protected for our children and grandchildren with up-to-date tax planning. We recommend Mr. Sydney for anyone like us who want to sleep well knowing our future is planned out and our family members are well protected when we pass on.

  9. Beware of this lawyer's practice

    Posted by George, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffrey Sydney.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Trusts matter.

    Here is my opinion on the practice of this lawyer. I think Jeff Sydney’s top priority is to benefit himself, protecting his clients is secondary to him. Here is my experience: Our assets were under $3.5 million and he should have set up a By-Pass Trust for us to automatically transfer all assets to the surviving spouse with no tax consequences after one spouse passes away. Instead, he set up the AB Trust for us. Of course the fee is higher to set up the AB trust and more fees to come after one spouse passes away. This was exactly what he did for us. After my wife passed away, he split up the AB trust for us with an additional fee. Now I am having a big headache from the way he set up the AB trust. In addition, I have to keep on filing the Estate Tax return for the B Trust and may have to pay higher rate of Estate tax as long as I live. He should have set up the By-Pass Trust for us but he did not because he made more money from me by setting up AB Trust. Where is his professional ethic? I have paid a high price to learn this. He had never returned my phone call nor had he responded to my email inquiries. Also I had to pay him 100% before he distributed our assets between A and B trusts after my wife passed away. Because he is very knowledgeable in trust law in a bed way, I believe that he really took the advantage of us during the days I was mourning the loss of my wife.

  10. Positive Experience

    Posted by Sarah, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Sydney.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jeff helped me to create a trust for my estate. I feel well protected and confident with the choices I made. Jeff and his staff were very thorough and professional. Thank you for making this experience positive and stress free.

818-594-0500