Richard Lawrence Leeds’s Reviews

Richard Lawrence Leeds

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If I need an attorney again, I would absolutely use him

    Posted by Rachel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Leeds.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband was not only refusing to pay child support, he was threatening me with intimidation, and it was a horrible situation. Mr. Leeds was able to get me a fair amount of support, plus my husband had to pay my attorney fees, and he stopped his threats. It was an excellent result, thank you Mr.Leeds

  2. Trustworthy and Caring

    Posted by a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Leeds.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard was the 3rd lawyer I spoke to when I was looking for somebody to help with my divorce proceedings. I actually met with him AFTER I had my 1st hearing, where I was left feeling hopeless, defeated, and ignored. Richard listened to me and offered reasonable, aggressive advice, but never strong-armed me into making any decisions I did not feel comfortable with. He has been aggressive in handling my case, but not overly demanding or demeaning to any of the parties involved. I have felt completely comfortable and taken care of, which has helped me keep my head and stay positive during this stressful and emotional time.

  3. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Marissa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Leeds.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In short: Richard is dependable, intelligent, responsive, and kind. I recommend him without hesitation.

    Richard has helped me with multiple problems over the last few years. The first time I used his services was to resolve a dispute in which my consumer rights were violated. He wrote an aggressive and very effective letter to the violating business, and when they tried to wiggle out of it with excuses, he did not back down at all. He defended my rights and ultimately resolved the case to my satisfaction 100%.

    The second time I used his services was to file for divorce. Richard was efficient and aggressive. When I needed help to modify the divorce agreement several months down the line, this was done quickly and easily. When the court messed up the process, he went above and beyond to handle it personally and it was resolved immediately. Richard was efficient, dependable and aggressive in defending my rights, but also was diplomatic and kind, maintaining a civil atmosphere and avoiding unnecessary nastiness.

    In every case, I always feel that I am in the good hands of an experienced, organized, knowledgeable attorney, and working with a kind and generous person with a good heart. I would never go anywhere else.

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Ron, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Leeds.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Richard Leeds has advised me on several occasions. His genuine concern for my welfare and his knowledge and judgement have been very valuable.

  5. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Leeds.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have worked with Mr Leeds for several different legal issues over the past few years, most recently my divorce. He has consistenly gone above and beyond in every aspect. I have recommended him to friends who have also had incredibly successful results. I find him to be a deeply committed professional and would recommend him to anyone in need of an attorney.

  6. Agressive and Knowledgeable

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Leeds.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am most impressed by Richard's letters and the immediate responses they command. He is an assertive and aggressive advocate. He was very responsive to my phone calls and emails, and also showed patience and care during this stressful time.

  7. The Worst

    Posted by Horrible Lawyer, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Leeds.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hands down the worst expeirence I've had ever working with an attorney. Richard Leeds is disorganized, chaotic, non communicative, and totally unprepared. He is haphazard and sloppy and is extremely difficult to work with. It also seems as if he has little to no respect from the judge. Painful and awful experience. I strongly urge you to go elsewhere.

  8. Dishonest and Incompetent

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Leeds.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He is sloppy. He does not have a clear strategy, and at the end it seemed like he made all the wrong moves. He is confrontational with opposing party for no special reason. Too many court hearings and lots of money out of pocket. The end result: I lost the case, time and money. I am planning to file a complaint with the State Bar of Califnornia. In conclusion don't believe anything he says or has published on his web site. He does not believe any of it himself.