Darrell Jon York’s Reviews

Darrell Jon York

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very TRUST worthy and HARD working!

    Posted by Francis, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell 1-3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Darrell handled a personal injury case for my mother in law, on my recommendation. His tenacity proved to crucial for this case to be adjudicated in a positive manner. He was patient with my elderly in-laws, and kept them informed during the process. Ultimately, his actions, not reactions made this case! Top notch attorney ,HIGHLY recommended.

  2. Expungement - Excellent Result

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. York helped me out of a bind approximately one year ago.

    Because he did such a great job on the original case, I went back to him for an infraction expungement and am glad I did.

    Mr. York did a great job and the result was exactly what I had hoped for. More actually.

    Aside from knowledge of the system and his excellent legal skills, Mr. York is an excellent communicator. He responds quickly to questions, he follows up as necessary and knows his stuff.

    Get him what he needs and let him handle the rest.

  3. Attorney = Waste Of Money

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell 1-3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I paid him and now I am paying my court imposed fines. The DUI classes aren't bad, I'm learning a few things. I still have 80 hours of Community Labor to finish and 26 AA meetings along with my 36 month probation.

    THANKS DARRELL!

    1. Darrell Jon York

      Darrell Jon York

      Lawyer Comment:

      That's what happens when you DO NOT FOLLOW YOUR ATTORNEY'S ADVICE and listen to your relatives. Told this client NOT TO TAKE THE DEAL and to go to trial. He decided to follow his relatives advice and take the deal. He complained that he didn't have the money to pay for trial fees. I told him I WOULD DISCOUNT THE TRIAL FEES because I never want a client to plea guilty and not fight his case because he lacks the funds. His case was winnable. Instead, he cried and ended up taking a deal that I told him was garbage. He wanted me to go to war for him but sent me into battle without giving me ammo. If I had known that upfront I would have DECLINED to represent this client. Don't even know why he hired an attorney since he didn't listen to his attorney.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  4. DUI Case

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell 1-3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Darrell helped keep me out of more serious trouble by reducing the charges against me. I was arrested for a DUI but he had the charges brought down so it wouldn't affect me as greatly or for as long. He also helped reduce the amount I need to pay the courts. I definitely got a better deal with the courts than I would have on my own. This was my first ever serious offense and having a professional attorney talk on my behalf was reassuring and worth the investment.

  5. Dui case

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell more than 3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Do not hired this attorney. Hired this attorney for DUI case. Poor communication skills with client and unprofessional. Save time and money hiring another competent attorney. Any attorney that tells you that they know the prosecutor and can " get something out of it" run away.

    1. Darrell Jon York

      Darrell Jon York

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'm not a magician and can't pull a rabbit out of a hat. I can only work with the facts of any given case and not a lot to work with for this client.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  6. An Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Jennifer, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell more than 3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Darrell is a great attorney. He got my DUI and hit and run dismissed. He answered all my questions and had lots of empathy for my situation. He is easy to get in touch with when you need to talk to him and he listens. He has a positive attitude and was willing to come back for an additional court date so we could get the results we wanted in this case. He has a good knowledge of how things work in court and during an arrest because of his additional experiences because prior to becoming a lawyer he was a police officer. Incredibly nice, I would recommend him highly and am extremely satisfied with how my case was handled from start to finish.

  7. Briliant strategy

    Posted by a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell more than 3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was misfortunate enough to walk into a sting operation performed by the LAPD and arrested. Darrell York, from the start told me it was clear that the police were over zealous. After a year of court appearances and postponements. It finally came down to going before the Judge. We opted for no jury. I honestly thought I was not going to win this until Darrell pulled out a similar case he had studied which had been overturned by the higher court. The Judge excused himself in order to take time to review it. The Judge admittedly had never heard of the case and stated that until he read that other case presented by Darrell he was going to find me guilty. The Judge found in my favor. What Darrell did was sheer brilliance.

  8. Extremely Professional, Reliable Attorney

    Posted by Jay, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell more than 3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Darrell was my attorney when I was charged with a DUI in 2009. He was a fierce advocate on my behalf. His ingenuinty enabled us to credibly challenge the case against me on numerous points. I also found his relationship with the district attorney's office to be invaluable. Because he was so widely respected by his colleagues, he was able to negotiate on my behalf in ways that led to a very favorable outcome. I was extremely pleased with his services and would highly recommend him to anyone that finds himself or herself in a similar position.

  9. Mr. York Comes Highly Recommended

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell more than 3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Mr. York by contacting the law offices of Neil Shouse and Associates and was he was the attorney that was assigned to my case. He did great research before deciding on which strategy to use for my situation. He kept in touch with me by phone and email, always returning calls quickly, always professional yet personable. When in court I noticed that other attorneys showed him respect and recognized him to be a qualitative lawyer. I'm sure this is true due to his extensive background in the area of law enforcement. I can definitely recommend Mr. York and the Law Office of Neil Shouse and Assoc. If you are fighting a DUI TRUST ME don't fight it on your own, there is too much to lose!

  10. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darrell York.
    • I hired Darrell more than 3 years ago.
    • Darrell handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He was on the ball the whole time and handled my case in a very professional and reassuring manner. O fcourse he won the case. Excelelent lawyer and would recommend him to anyone,