Dorothy Louise Carfrae’s Reviews

Dorothy Louise Carfrae

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Real Client Review

    Posted by Sean, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred to Dorothy Carfrae by a court bailiff. He said that if he was in need of a child custody attorney, that is who he would hire. Well, he is right. I was falsely accused of child abuse by my ex. You know, the same old tactics that people do when they get mad at you for breaking up. She wanted to punish me for leaving her, although there was no other woman at the time. Because of her accusation, Children Services Dept. opened an investigation, interviewed everyone, including my kids, and it took a year for them to clear me and declare that the accusation was unfounded. In the meantime, I was treated like a criminal and not a dad. It took a long time for me to get back my children, because at first the court ordered supervised visitation, even though I have never been arrested for anything. I now have more custody time with my kids, and my name is cleared.
    I do appreciate the hard work that Ms. Carfrae did on my behalf. Sean.

  2. Good, Caring Attorney

    Posted by Andrea, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Family matter.

    It feels strange to write a review of your divorce lawyer, but I decided to do it because Dorothy helped me tremendously. My divorce was a difficult mess. My now ex-husband was a control freak who took care of all our finances, own a successful business, and I was too busy raising our 3 kids. When we went through our divorce, all of a sudden he decided to become "father of the year" and wanted to have 50-50 custody. He also has a new "fiancee" now and has a new house with lots of toys to attract my kids. Well, it did not work very well for him. Dorothy helped me present the real "spouse" and the absentee dad that he is . She got me my fair share of our assets. My kids are happy with the time share between us. I have moved on. Thank you Dorothy for having stood by me.

  3. Miracle Worker, No. But Good Attorney, YES.

    Posted by Randy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Child Custody matter.

    Most of these negative reviews left out the MOST IMPORTANT FACTOR: the person's RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR OWN ACTIONS. An attorney is not a miracle worker, they can only work with the facts of your case. And sometimes the client must take responsibility for what they have done. Just as the best attorney cannot get a murderer get away, a family law attorney cannot get a client full custody, restraining orders, max support/alimony, etc... if you are a violent person. a drunk, a drug user, etc..
    I am a LESS THAN PERFECT CLIENT, but I got reasonable and fair results thanks to Dorothy Carfrae. Without going into details, I will just say that I had the typical life of an irresponsible man who had a child too early in my life. I was a child myself. I had a couple of DUIs, and been arrested for DV at the report of the mother of my child. Dorothy helped me, through sheer hard work, get some time with my young son. I am thankful for that. Dorothy gave me the chance to know what being a father really is. I started with very little time, increasing the time-share over months and months, and now I am almost at 50% time with my kid. It was also because I now have a steady job, show that I am responsible and can take care of my son. So, don't complain. The results are only as good as WHO YOU ARE. There are no miracles. You have to work with the system.

  4. Great Custody Attorney

    Posted by Jeff, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Family matter.

    My name if Jeff T. and Dorothy represented me in a case where my ex-wife did not want me to have any time with my children. I have always believed that if you are knowledgeable about your case, understand the process, then your attorney can help you. I educated myself and provided the facts to Dorothy's office so that I could participate fully in my case. After numerous hearings, a child custody evaluation, a false accusation made by my ex to Child Protective Services, I now have more than 50% time with my kids. All I wanted was to be a dad to my kids. I now got that, and I have Dorothy Carfrae to thank. If you just sit there and complain, nothing is going to happen. Educate yourself, work with your attorney, and you will see.

  5. Misleading!!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Dorothy Carfrae was referred to me by another Attorney who said "she is known at Norwalk Court as the DOG for Family Law. I needed to free myself of a very emotionally & physically abusive Husband. She put on a great ACT of compassion, took my money, but from then on her and her staff were very rude, they didn't return my phone calls to say the least.

    The last days of my marriage, the police removed my then husband, a TRO was in-forced, which he violated over & over again. An Ex-Parte hearing from the Opposing Counsel was set, I showed up and she sent an Attorney who was just starting out, who didn't understand what the Judges instructions were and gave me wrong information regarding letting my then husband come to retrieve items from my garage. My husband showed up and I told him, he wasn't suppose to be at my home and I would call the police if he didn't leave, he chased me to my car and restrained me from driving off and was threatening me . My neighbors called the police out, I finally got a hold of Carfrae's office and her Paralegal answered, I was very shook up, her Paralegal was very rude. When I told her what My husband did, her Paralegal said " well what do you expect, the judge gave him two weeks to remove his items", I couldn't believe it and the inexperienced Attorney who Dorothy sent to court didn't understand the Judges orders.

    I told her I was going to get another Restraining Order because I was so afraid of my then husband. I believed he would do what he said to me. The Paralegal said she would let Dorothy know, two days later , still no return phone call, I filed my own TRO, the Judge signed it immediately, by the time I got home Carfrae's office was now calling me saying, " Dorothy is not happy with me for not waiting on her". Carfrae and her staff FAILED at providing the Fiduciary Duty a Professional is to have to their clients. I have since then told anyone who ask and there has been A LOT of people, WHO not to go to for Family Law matters! Sale and divide whats left, because if your EX doesn't pay the creditors he agreed to, they will come after you including Carfrae ! The Divorce Judgment doesn't matter ! I do believe in KARMA!

  6. My son now gets visits with broke daddy in the hood

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Child Custody matter.

    My son's biological father, had a criminal record and was abusive towards both myself and my son. He provided nothing for a long period of time and then returned to the picture with nothing but requests.

    I did all the paperwork, I did all the footwork, I carried out my own investigation and I put in all the time. In return, I got nothing but a bill for almost $5000 plus the $2500 (retainer).

    I am not an attorney nor would I unfairly write a review. At this point I have nothing to gain or loose. All I wanted was the well-being of my son. Instead my son now gets to hang out in an apartment complex in the hood steps away from sex offenders.

    Thank you for leaving my son in an unsafe environment and his only provider in a "well of more debts." By the way, she told me to file my own child support and to date, still has not completed by divorce.

  7. Misleading

    Posted by Tiffany, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I read the reviews below and I agree its the judges that make the decisions not the lawyers but someone new to the court system is not aware of this and its up to the lawyer that they have hired and have trusted to look out for thier best interests. My advice is to not agree to anything and say to take it all in front of the judge no matter how petty it may be. I had to learn the hard way but I wish Dorothy had taken the time to educate me and tell me this and guide me towards a better settlement instead of telling me I had to accept what she said and me not knowing any better did. I would sigh with relief when I saw her walk towards me at the court house only to be disappointed with what I was told and I would wonder where I had gone wrong and what can I do now to get out of this mess. No I would not recommend this lawyer to anyone.

  8. Run dont walk to a different lawyer!

    Posted by Megan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Dorothy because I was told "She knows everyone at the Norwalk courthouse". Well just because she may know everyone does not guarantee that she is a good lawyer which I learned the hard way. During the first consultation I am told all that I want to hear but then after she has your money you never talk to her again and her employees are very rude with no empathy for the emotions that someone is going through during divorce. I could not afford to start over again with another lawyer I was living paycheck to paycheck and paying her and my 4 children all by myself because she would not get child support for me during the separation which she should have done. I was inexperienced I thought she was right and I learned later she was not she didnt care for me nor my children it was almost as if she was on my former spouses side when I was the one paying her. I even wondered if perhaps she had taken a payout from the opposing counsel. I paid her as soon as she billed so I was not behind in payments I thought perhaps if I kept her well paid she would represent me better. Wrong! Please I plead with you to take your business elsewhere to another lawyer had I seen this site prior to hiring her I would have run a mile.

  9. Anonymous Reviews ?

    Posted by Michael, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My name is Michael and a real client. Dorothy helped negotiate my divorce and we settled all issues including property, child custody, and support. I am glad a friend referred me to Dorothy.

    I don't do reviews, but need to speak up because of some unfair and anonymous reviews of my lawyer.

  10. not good

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dorothy Carfrae.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Dorothy for my divorce and the first consult of course went well and my main concern was getting custody of my children and getting child support as I only worked part time and my husband had left the family home. She said in the first consult that she saw no reason for me not to get custody and I was happy to hear this. Then things changed and all of a sudden I was losing my children and getting 50/50 custody and I wanted no part of that. I fired Dorothy and have hired another attorney and we just go done with court and i have full custody with their father having every other weekend visitation which is fine with me. I am so glad that I got rid of Dorothy as if I had not I dont think the outcome would have been this good. Also her office staff particularly Jennifer is very rude. Please for your sanity sake go elsewhere.