Jerod Gunsberg’s Reviews

Jerod Gunsberg

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Saved My Son's Life

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Our son has always been a cause for concern and that dreadful day was no exception. The day the police called to inform me that my son was arrested. I will never forget that day. I was at work but unable to inform my bosses. When I was finally able to talk to my son he said, “Mommy please… I’m being charged with assault with a deadly weapon and attempted murder… I need a good lawyer.” I contacted several lawyers who, after a brief conversation, quoted me prices beyond my price range or higher. I finally found a very thoughtful Jerord. That Saturday afternoon, he took the case and provided a way for me to pay him. This brilliant man and his team including the social worker managed to win the trial as a minor, too the charge of attempted murder. Almost a year after our son’s ordeal began, he will be home. I will not forget his eyes filling with tears of victory on the last day of his trial. First, always, by God’s side, he can face anything because he can trust his lawyer Jerord Gunsberg, who brought peace and hope to our family. He is the best criminal lawyer in the juvenile system.

  2. A "Legal Angel": Simply the BEST EVER Criminal Defense Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    In my darkest hour, Jerod Gunsberg was my "legal angel". As a first-time offender and all alone, I was terrified about what might happen, confused about what to do, and despairing that I had completely ruined the rest of my life. I was still in shock from going through the arrest procedure when I went to Jerod's law office to meet with him several days later. One of the most memorable things about the discussion is that when he saw me in such great distress, Jerod went out of his way to be comforting by his kindness, compassion, and understanding over the difficult and sad circumstances in my life that had made me more susceptible to engaging in a criminal behavior. And he made a point of relieving my worst fears by his strong reassurance that because I was a first-time offender and the crime was a misdemeanor, there would be no jail time.

    What made the most stunning impression on me is his extraordinary expert level of knowledge and practical insight into the workings of the criminal justice system. He outlined his legal strategy for my case with a very logical, easy-to-follow, step-by-step progression of "what if" scenarios, starting with the "best case" scenario. Because he knew exactly what action to take and who to contact, Jerod was able to help me not have a criminal record! He helped me qualify for an "alternative justice" program, which required me to take a course about the negative impact having a criminal record has on all aspects of your life. By successfully completing the course, I was not convicted of the crime for which I had been arrested.

    And because my case did not go to trial, Jerod generously did not charge me his usual full fee for my type of case. He defies the stereotype of a "greedy lawyer". He is one of the most honest, ethical people of high integrity I have met in my life.

    There are not enough stars in the ratings above to register the praise Jerod Gunsberg deserves! Because of Jerod's timely legal intervention on my behalf, I've been given a second chance on the rest of my life!!

  3. A Professional, Concerned Advocate

    Posted by D,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.

    Mr. Gunsberg was the first attorney I called after being arrested for a misdemeanor charge in a police sting the previous weekend - based on reviews like these. When he called back we had a lengthy conversation about my options. He walked me through a number of scenarios and he answered all my very naive questions frankly and with absolutely no judgement. We did a follow up, in-person meeting that week where he explained everything I would encounter at court, and the very likely steps that would follow. Mr. Gunsberg and his peer attorney explained every line of every piece of paper we filled out while at court, and even saw to it that my case was heard by the judge first. He was indeed able to arrange a class and conditional sentence that, after some fees and one year of good behavior, saw my original case dropped and my criminal record remain nonexistent. This was a petty case for a first-time offender, but he never treated it that way. He remained responsive to updates and legal questions up to my final court date - for 13 months I felt confident having Mr. Gunsberg on my side and he will be the first person I call should I ever encounter legal trouble in Los Angeles again.

  4. All around great guy

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I found myself in some trouble and got to searching for a criminal defense lawyer in my area online. I happened across Jerod's website from google, and liked what I saw. After speaking to a few lawyers over a few days I gave Jerod a call. I left a detailed message on his answering machine, and was pleased to receive a call back within a few hours. Right off the bat Jerod's domineer was relate-able and comforting considering my situation. We discussed my case and without a doubt I knew this lawyer could help me. Anybody can lead someone to false beliefs to benefit their own being. Not Jerod, he gave me the honesty and reality that I needed to hear and would expect to hear from a law professional.

    I haven't had much experience when it come to law and lawyers, but I do know that my case was handled with utmost professionalism and respect. Regardless the sum of the retainer I feel as if Jerod treats everyone with the same service ''excellent'' nothing less. He certainly made my hard times easier going. His presents/name alone made the DA second guess my case. Absolutely astounding service, Jerod is my ''go-to'' guy when it comes to any legal consulting matters that I might be concerned about. Absolutely without a doubt Jerods presents alone saved me from having a felony on my record.

    From the bottom of my heart, Thank you Jerod!

    -Tyler

  5. Positive experience

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod more than 3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jerod made me really comfortable when I first came to him with my petty theft case. He was clear with me about about how best to proceed. I followed his simple instructions for rehabilitation and eventually the charges were completely dropped and the case dismissed without my record being tarnished. He followed up with me after each court appearance he made and created an experience that was completely stress free. He was easy to reach by phone, text and email. I highly recommend him and am very thankful for his service provided.

  6. I Do Not Hesitate To Recommend

    Posted by a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My family called Jerod and he sent a bail man to get me out of the Hollywood jail right away. Like the reviews on here say he knows what he is doing. He told me to be ready to go to trial otherwise I would not get what I want and he was right. I had an assault with a deadly weapon charge that got dismissed right before the trial started because of Jerod. He tells you the truth and the judge and D.A. showed him respect.

  7. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I first hired Jerod, after a short conversation he laid all my options on the table, and explained to me how we could approach to the case for the least damage. Later on he did inform me at every stage of the case and he really did fight for me, I had no worries at all during the case, he is very trustworthy and communicative. He did end the case with the least damage as promised. I would highly recommend him.

  8. Jerod Gunsberg - Client Review for DUI Expungement

    Posted by Justin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Early this year I needed to hire an attorney to help me get my DUI expunged. I turned to Google to research a couple attornies and that's how I came across Jerod. I called him up and was honestly surprised that he answered his own phone. He was honest with me in that I was making the right choice to hire an attorney for the expungement and that he would be willing to meet with me that very afternoon. I also liked how he mentioned he was friends with most of the judges. I met with him the same day and from the get go liked the way he presented himself. He answered all my questions, reviewed all my court paperwork, and again was honest in stating that while there is a good chance I can have my probation terminated early he can't give me a promise that will happen. I proceeded to hire Jerod and he did everything for me from filling out the paperwork to setting the court dates. I loved how easy it was on my part. All I had to do was show up to court. And when luck of the draw I got Lindsay Lohen's judge and a DA who was adamant I finish my probation (I only had 3 months left) resulting in a denial of my initial request to end probation early Jerod jumped right in and immediatly fought to over turn the verdict. In the end, Jerod got my DUI expunged which is exactly what I wanted when I hired him. Based upon my personal experience I would recommend Jerod to anyone.

  9. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Gary, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thanks to Jerod my life is finally back to normal after a stupid mistake I made one night about a year ago. Not sure how he did it I thought I was for sure going to jail, but here I am sitting at home with no felony, just a very minor charge. He worked hard for me and I recommend him.

  10. Excellent Representation

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerod Gunsberg.
    • I hired Jerod 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerod handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jerod Gunsberg is a man of his word. He promised to do everything possible in defending me against fraud (theft and forgery) charges and he kept his word. I was most impressed with his manner when dealing with the prosecutors and police during court hearings. He was very determined and demanding with them but always calm cool and collected. He is also a smooth negotiator. I did no jail time and do not have a felony on my record because of him