Ellen Giok-Sheu Ma Lee’s Reviews

Ellen Giok-Sheu Ma Lee

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Family Immigration Law Guru

    Posted by Rick, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.
    • I hired Ellen 1-6 months ago.
    • Ellen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    My husband and I want to say a big “thank you” to our attorney Ellen Ma Lee. Ellen is a seasoned counsel with expertise in family immigration. Ellen is not only knowledgeable about the law, but has a deep understanding of those human, but sometimes complex aspects of a marriage, which could become the focal point of a green card interview. Drawing from her experience of having appeared at numerous green card interviews, Ellen carefully analyzed the strength and weakness of our case and thoroughly prepared us for our interview. She astutely focused on the likely questions from the immigration officer in light of the ups and downs of my 15-year relationship with my husband. Ellen answered every question we had, and offered suggestions which turned out to be extremely helpful to our case submission. Perhaps most importantly, with her unparalleled expertise, Ellen guided us through the entire process, making us feel confident and at ease with the often intimating green card interview.

  2. Top Notch !!!!

    Posted by Ron,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.

    " I must say from the bottom of my heart that Attorney Ellen Ma Lee is by far the best and most honest attorney I ever met in the USA. My Wife and I have consulted with many immigration lawyers and have not had a good ending with any of them. Our immigration challenges were growing and time sensitive as well. All until I met Attorney Ellen. She told us the truth and presented the situation with honest options. Our immigration challenges were solved to our complete satisfaction. Our most sincere thanks and gratitude go out to Attorney Ellen and Judith Lu as well as the entire staff at the Law Offices of Carl Shusterman!!!

    Thank you so much!!! "

  3. Professional and Caring

    Posted by Sil, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.
    • I hired Ellen 1-3 years ago.
    • Ellen handled my Immigration matter.

    I have NEVER experienced such professionalism in any other lawyer firm, and a truly caring staff, than Carl Shusterman's. Ellen Ma Lee and Ana Cruz were absolutely the BEST! Ellen and Ana was ALWAYS answering my calls promptly and ALWAYS very helpful! In my case, though difficult, my green card came quick! I cried because now I get to see my Mom, who is in Canada, that I haven't been able to hug for over 20 years! I cannot put into words my gratitude and appreciation for such a very caring, professional and caring Lawyer firm! I love you all!
    Thank you with all my heart!

    S.M.
    Corona, California

  4. Thank you, Ellen!

    Posted by Haitao, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.
    • I hired Ellen more than 3 years ago.
    • Ellen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Our previous immigration attorney completely screwed our immigration application. Carl and Ellen took over our immigration case during that difficult time for us. What a night and day difference! We got our green card in the end. Well, thank Ms. Ellen Lee and her paralegal, Ms. Maria Cobian for their hard work, which brought our dead case back to life. Ellen also helped me obtain a new home loan by answering questions and explaining our immigration status to a mortgage company. Their services even extend beyond regular immigration issue.
    All in all, this is the best immigration service team you can get. Wish we could secure Ellen's help in the first place.

  5. US Naturalization

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.
    • I hired Ellen more than 3 years ago.
    • Ellen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ellen Lee helped me in obtaining my US Citizenship, given a complex situation. Ellen is extremely attentive to my case and treated me like a family member. She is generous with her time, and very dedicated / committed to help me just like a big sister. She is firm, very logical and handled my case very profesionally. She is the best of the best in the field and no wonder she is a called super lawyer. No amount of words can tell me how much I am so grateful to Ellen Lee. I hope God will bless her in all her endeavors immensely.

  6. Great legal work

    Posted by Martin, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.
    • I hired Ellen more than 3 years ago.
    • Ellen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Atty Lee handled my citizenship and family petition wonderfully. Everything went smoothly. Family set to arrive. With years of experience she gives great guidance and support.

  7. Immigration Lawyer Par Excellence

    Posted by Edgar, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.
    • I hired Ellen more than 3 years ago.
    • Ellen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was referred to the Shusterman Law office in California by a sponsoring hospital when I came to the US in 2004 and was fortunate to have been assigned to Atty Ellen Ma Lee.

    Atty. Ellen Ma Lee was instrumental in my acquisition of a permanent
    resident status and eventual US citizenship. Her professional guidance and inputs helped me breeze through the naturalization process. She has put me at ease during consultations as she is friendly and humorous while being straight-forward in answering questions . I appreciate that she makes herself available for discussions even by telephone. She also promptly responds to email queries.

    In addition to Atty. Lee, the firm's paralegal staff, particularly Ms. Ana Cruz, are likewise very efficient, attentive and ready to address concerns immediately.

    The Shusterman Law Office, through Atty. Lee, has handled all immigration concerns for me and my family since my arrival in the US. Though I have transferred to Maryland , I have opted to retain her services to continue the expeditious resolution of immigration concerns that I have come to expect . I believe I made the right decision entrusting my case to Atty. Lee.

  8. Immigration Guru

    Posted by Sylvia, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.
    • I hired Ellen more than 3 years ago.
    • Ellen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ellen saw my immigration case through from start to finish and my family and I couldn't be happier with the results! She is a seasoned professional and extremely knowledgable on all things immigration, having experienced the process from all sides. She is trustworthy and very easy to work with. I am planning on recommending Ellen to all my friends and family.

  9. Very Intelligent and compassionate

    Posted by Paul, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ellen Lee.
    • I hired Ellen more than 3 years ago.
    • Ellen handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We have struggled long and hard to attain our american dream. We've been through numerous lawyers and most of them gave us false pretences everytime. Until we went to one of the best if not the best immigration law firm in the U.S.

    We are very fortunate to have Atty. Lee to represent us. She is indeed a true asset at Atty. Shusterman's Law Firm. Very knowledgeble in immigration's current laws. No beating around the bush. Will tell you exactly what's the real score with your case and will tell you upfront every single details you need. The first time we met her we know
    right away that she will fight all the way for our american dream and she did with flying colors. We felt safe and in golden hands with her. She knows exactly what she is doing. Her advices all through out never put us hanging, and never left us wondering if it's right for us. We felt very safe with all her advices. She is not afraid to fight for what is right. She fought for our rights as compared to some other lawyers who just told us that he would not argue with immigration official and we should just wait for the result of our appeal. In the meantime, time is running out for us. We are so grateful to God that He has lead us to a straight forward, compassionate and intelligent Ms. Lee.

    We have been an immigrant for five years now and it's been awhile since we have made contact with an immigration law firm. We are bound to go out of the country and has encountered a dilemna that my wife and I at first thought of doing it ourselves but during the process we came to a halt and found ourselves with many questions. I was hesitant to call Mr. Shusterman's law firm to find out if Ms. Lee can help because we thought it might cost us more and in this time of economy we are trying to conserve as much as we can. But in the end we decided to try our luck. Ms. Ana Cruz a paralegal in Atty. Shusterman's office was an angel the second time around after five years. She help us get in touch with Atty. Lee without any cost to us. My wife broke down in tears literally for coming to realize how helpfull Atty. Lee is and she treated us like family. She help us all the way answering every questions we have with out hesitations and never ask for any fees. This was after five years of not being in contact with them since we already had our permanent immigrant status with her professional work. Atty. Shusterman's Law firm is the best!!! A lot of immigration lawyers put up an expensive TV, web and paper advertisements to gain trust from people like us. Yes they maybe able to help some, but Atty. Lee together with everyone at Atty. Shusterman's Law firm is uncomparable when it comes to offering a true service. They stick with you even years after you get your permanent immigrant status.

    To Atty Lee and the rest of Atty. Shusterman's law firm we are forever greatful to all you!

    To those who need immigration help one thing I can tell you... There's no other out there like them!!!