Michael S Baker’s Reviews

Michael S Baker

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Smart and competent lawyer

    Posted by Kristin, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Baker for an application to set aside a guilty judgement in Arizona. I live in Colorado and he kept me up to date with everything. He got my physical presence in the court room excused and filed the papers to have me appear by phone. I never had to appear at any court date and Mr. Baker did everything he said he would. He ended up doing a lot more work than I had anticipated when I hired him. He is affordable and a nice guy.

    He caught mistakes on the paperwork the State filed that I didn't and it helped my case. He's sharp and knows the law. He was successful in getting my judgment said aside and I would recommend him to others.

  2. Thank You Mr. Baker!

    Posted by Stephen, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Baker truly helped me in my time of need. I was in danger of losing my children due to untrue allegations by my ex. Mr. Baker fought for me and stood up to the other party, CPS and even the police! He helped me prove that I did nothing wrong and allowed me to keep my children. I would recommend him to any one.

  3. Exceptional Advocate to his Clients

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    In defending me in this criminal case, Mr. Baker took time to explain to me the facts and the potential outcomes. He did his home work well and represented in all but one of my court appearances, so I didn't have to drive to Phoenix from Tucson often. His staff was always prompt in making sure all court documents were ready well ahead of time. I told him every truth i knew about my case, so it facilitated the built-up of my defense; although ensuring that my case was dismissed wasn't an easy battle. Thanks Mr. Baker, I will definitely be recommending you to others in future! Keep up the good work!

  4. Best divorce lawyer in town!!

    Posted by Patrick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was married for 6 years and had three children with my ex-wife. Mr Baker provided exceptional service in my case. He got me the custody arrangements I was seeking and the financial separation was exactly what I was looking for. He was fast and efficient and took all the hassle out of my divorce. Both Michael and his support staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in every way I needed. My divorce was as smooth as it could have been thanks to The Baker Law Firm. I would highly recommend this firm and Michael to anyone that is getting a divorce.

  5. Great attorney!

    Posted by Paige, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    I hired Mr. Baker to assist me with my custody matter. Mike was very professional, helpful and handled my case efficiently. When I am in need of assistance in the future I will be calling Mike! Thanks again for all of your help!! :)

  6. Got me out of a tough spot

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I was in a tight spot with domestic violence charges that were overzealous and blown way out of proportion. I worked primarily with Kevin from Baker law and they were able to get me into a diversion program as well as getting two of the three charges completely dropped. I had been hoping for outright dismissal, however, they urged caution and, due the harshness of the Arizona justice system, I think it was the right call to go for diversion instead of taking the case to trial. The cost, which still impactful on me at the time, was reasonable, given the quotes I received from other attorneys. I have since moved out of state, partly due to my distaste for the Arizona judicial system but I have to thank Baker law for giving me the opportunity to get out of there with a clean record.

  7. Fantastic attorney!

    Posted by heather-cheri, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great attorney, my boyfriend is facing some very serious felony charges, it is very stressful but Mr.Baker and his staff keep me very informed, he emails me a few times a week! Even though the cases are still on going I am confident that Mr. Baker will give the best defense, I don't think my boyfriend could be in better hands!

  8. Great guy, but came up short on experience

    Posted by Steve, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I had a family law case which Mike took on and soon after, found himself in over his head. He backed out on me the day of trial and left me in a very difficult situation. Mike is a good guy and for most things is probably very competent. In my particular situation, he just didn't have the experience and confidence necessary and didn't seem willing to put forth the "fight" necessary. I wouldn't recommend him due to this scenario possibly happening to someone else.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Michael M., a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Michael this past year and he did an amazing job for me. I was very impressed with the personal level in which he worked with me. My questions were quickly answered and he always made an effort to call me within the same day. I would definitely hire him again if the need arose.

  10. Michael S. Baker is a Very Good Family Law Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Baker.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Mr. Baker about a year ago (and am going back to him again). He is very nice, which is important in family law, as there are many really nasty famly law attorneys out here in Phoenix.. He is a true professional. He is compasstionate and not just out to take your money, he really cares about you and your case.