Michael M O'Brien’s Reviews

Michael M O'Brien

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Performance Review and Recommendation for Mr. O'Brien

    Posted by Kyle, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    In my initial consultation with Michael O'Brien, I asked him 2 questions:
    1.) Your rate is ~$50/hour higher than some others; how do you justify this?
    2.) What would you say to recommend yourself to me?

    To the first question, Michael explained that he does not charge extra for paralegal hours, so his rate is honest, and there are no additional or hidden charges. In response to my second question, Michael said that he would be straightforward, he has 30 years of experience, he knows the Larimer County legal system, and that he would return phone calls within a day.

    After working with Michael for 10 months, I can say that he made good on his self-endorsement. On one occasion, he even called me during his time off because of an emergency situation. I had never heard of an attorney doing this before. Michael always told me exactly what to expect from the legal process; he kept expectations realistic and he did not waste any of my time or his own.

    I had some concerns about the environment my child was exposed to, I wanted to ask the courts to protect my child. Michael told me straight out that I did not have a leg to stand on because I could not testify as to what my son reported. A short time later, a Child and Family Investigator noted the same concerns. At this point, Michael made the motion to restrict parenting time. This showed me a few key points: Michael is not timid, but he is wise. He knows when the outcomes will be positive, he knows when to back off. Most importantly, he understands the way that the courts work.

    Overall, Michael saved me over 50% compared to the previous lawyer/law firms I've worked with. He billed reasonably and fairly, with consideration both to his time/effort AND fairness to the client.

    In sum, I recommend Michael O'Brien wholeheartedly. I am confident that, regardless of your situation, Mr. O'Brien can help you achieve the best possible outcome.

  2. Child Custody

    Posted by Ken, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    Michael O'Brien was very helpful and professional throughout the entire process. He kept me informed from the very beginning and was extremely effective in dealing with the other attorney involved in the case. Michael was experienced and knowledgelable enough to know when we needed to to give a little at times, but was also good at letting me know when the other parties' requests were unreasonable. Michael tried his best to keep my costs to a minimum, yet he was worth every bit of what he charged. I would highly recommend Michael to anyone in need of a qualified divorce and/or child custody attorney.

  3. Very Highly Recommend Michael

    Posted by Chav, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would very highly recommend Michael O’Brien and his law firm for any family law related issues. While going through a divorce can be a difficult time, Michael made it less stressful for me than it could have been. He took the time to explain the entire process and the possible outcomes. His preparedness for court and his courtroom demeanor were very impressive, which showed in the eventual outcome of my case, which exceeded my expectations. I will not hesitate in recommending Michael to my family, friends, and co-workers.

  4. Highly recommend Michael

    Posted by Michael, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael was knowledgeable on issues encountered in my case and offered sound input and advice. With his input throughout the case and representation in court I feel the outcome for myself and kids was excellent.

  5. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My son was going through a painful divorce initiated by the woman. The couple has one young child. We researched and interviewed several lawyers. Michael O'Brien gave us the most confidence. He followed through on every issue. Michael understands the priorities in a divorce case and is not distracted by the "ranting" that came from the opposing attorney. By sticking to what is important, he was able to present my son's case in the best interests of the child. The result was a fair decision for both my son and his ex spouse. I would highly recommend Michael.

  6. Review of Mr. O'Brien in re: child custody case

    Posted by Benjamin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Brien was to the point on all subjects, kept me well informed and did not mince words. His expectations were realistic and I was at no point made to feel I should expect more than what was discussed.

  7. Very helpful, realistic, and knowledgeable

    Posted by Martin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been working with Michael almost continuously for the past 3 years on a series of extremely frustrating child custody, child support, and decision making cases. He has a lot of experience and always explains the reality of the situation we're looking at, never sugar coating anything. He seems well respected by the other lawyers in Fort Collins, and has at times urged me to negotiate, and at others to finish the case in court.

    During the time I've had Michael representing me, I feel like all of the outcomes have been close to the best that I could have hoped for.

    With my *PREVIOUS ATTORNEY*, I often felt like I wasn't getting the attention I was paying for, and actually ended up getting completely blindsided in court because of a lack of preparation. With Michael, I've *NEVER* felt unprepared or ignored.

    I will admit that it took me a little time to get used to his personality, as he is somewhat gruff and to the point. If you think about it though, when you're paying for a lawyer's time, isn't that really what you want?

    I highly recommend Michael for any family law issues.

  8. Knowledgeable, competent, and efficient

    Posted by Josh, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike was there to help me when I needed legal assistance. The court system can be very intimidating, and it is absolutely necessary to have an attorney present for the very best possible outcome.

  9. Great Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Laurie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I enjoyed working with Mr. O'Brien and felt he was prepared and advised me well.

    One improvement I would suggest is I had a perception that he could have been more aggressive during our court proceedings. However, my lack of legal knowledge may be a result of this perception.

  10. Mr

    Posted by Brad, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Michael handled my divorce very well. Mine was a difficult case with a lot of contention from my ex over child custody and property division. He knew what was likely to happen and made sure I had realistic expectations as well. He was responsive. He had my best interests in mind and coached me accordingly. I was happy with the settlement decreed by the court.