Michael M O'Brien’s Reviews

Michael M O'Brien

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Counsel

    Posted by John, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    There is no fluff with Mike, he is direct and knows his craft. His arguments are well thought out and effective. My case was and is child custody which is filled with emotion, Mike is excellent at communicating the game plan and coaching you through the process. In my opinion Colorado is a tough state for fathers but Mike truly gets the connection between a father and son and importance of the relationship. Mike was referred to me by another Attorney I respected and cannot imagine going through this process without Mike's guidance and expertise.

  2. Realistic fathers rights lawyer who helped get a good parenting and financial outcome through a difficult divorce.

    Posted by Chad, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I couldn't have asked for a better lawyer to represent me through the entire divorce process than Michael O'Brien. From day one Michael provided realistic legal advise as it pertains to fathers rights and stepped me through the process to obtain the best parenting schedule possible. Kids need both their parents and Michael ensured the best outcome for my daughter. At a few points I was in jeopardy of dealing with a drawn out court litigation and Michael did not compromise to keep my case on track and get through it as efficiently as possible. Michael was always prompt in dealing with my questions and communicating with the opposing counsel. Rates were great for the level of service I received and Michael saved me thousands of dollars overall in his prompt and to the point communication all around. I would recommend Michael O'Brien to anyone going through divorce.

  3. This guy is good.

    Posted by Don, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was married for 30 years and it ended in a bitter divorce, to make matters worse I pretty much gave in to everything my ex and her attorney asked for. Unfortunately, so did my attorney at the time (I wish I could give his name, so others would not suffer the same fate as I did). I was stupid enough to hire that same attorney to represent me during post-divorce matters. Eventually, I came to my senses and realized my old attorney was not helping me - at all, and sought another attorney's help. My ex-wife's attorney was cut-throat and I needed help with a post divorce decree matter and my old attorney was not helping me and basically rolled-over for my ex's attorney on everything, so I had contacted another attorney who was unable to take my case, but gave me two names of other attorneys she would recommend. When I explained my situation and said, "I need someone who will fight for me and at least have my interests at heart, because my current attorney was not willing to do so", she said "Oh, you want Mike!!". I wish I would have had Mike as my counsel during the initial divorce, as I wouldn't have been taken to the cleaners like I was with my original attorney. I don't usually believe in giving myself or others a perfect rating, but I can't say enough about the job Michael O'Brien did helping me with my post-divorce case. He knows the law and leverages his experience to help his clients (something my previous attorney did not do). I can't say enough about the great job Mike did for me. It felt good to finally win in court against my ex, especially with Mike as my counsel, he wasn't cut-throat either, just objective, no-nonsense and matter of fact.

  4. Performance Review and Recommendation for Mr. O'Brien

    Posted by Kyle, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    In my initial consultation with Michael O'Brien, I asked him 2 questions:
    1.) Your rate is ~$50/hour higher than some others; how do you justify this?
    2.) What would you say to recommend yourself to me?

    To the first question, Michael explained that he does not charge extra for paralegal hours, so his rate is honest, and there are no additional or hidden charges. In response to my second question, Michael said that he would be straightforward, he has 30 years of experience, he knows the Larimer County legal system, and that he would return phone calls within a day.

    After working with Michael for 10 months, I can say that he made good on his self-endorsement. On one occasion, he even called me during his time off because of an emergency situation. I had never heard of an attorney doing this before. Michael always told me exactly what to expect from the legal process; he kept expectations realistic and he did not waste any of my time or his own.

    I had some concerns about the environment my child was exposed to, I wanted to ask the courts to protect my child. Michael told me straight out that I did not have a leg to stand on because I could not testify as to what my son reported. A short time later, a Child and Family Investigator noted the same concerns. At this point, Michael made the motion to restrict parenting time. This showed me a few key points: Michael is not timid, but he is wise. He knows when the outcomes will be positive, he knows when to back off. Most importantly, he understands the way that the courts work.

    Overall, Michael saved me over 50% compared to the previous lawyer/law firms I've worked with. He billed reasonably and fairly, with consideration both to his time/effort AND fairness to the client.

    In sum, I recommend Michael O'Brien wholeheartedly. I am confident that, regardless of your situation, Mr. O'Brien can help you achieve the best possible outcome.

  5. Child Custody

    Posted by Ken, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    Michael O'Brien was very helpful and professional throughout the entire process. He kept me informed from the very beginning and was extremely effective in dealing with the other attorney involved in the case. Michael was experienced and knowledgelable enough to know when we needed to to give a little at times, but was also good at letting me know when the other parties' requests were unreasonable. Michael tried his best to keep my costs to a minimum, yet he was worth every bit of what he charged. I would highly recommend Michael to anyone in need of a qualified divorce and/or child custody attorney.

  6. Very Highly Recommend Michael

    Posted by Chav, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would very highly recommend Michael O’Brien and his law firm for any family law related issues. While going through a divorce can be a difficult time, Michael made it less stressful for me than it could have been. He took the time to explain the entire process and the possible outcomes. His preparedness for court and his courtroom demeanor were very impressive, which showed in the eventual outcome of my case, which exceeded my expectations. I will not hesitate in recommending Michael to my family, friends, and co-workers.

  7. Highly recommend Michael

    Posted by Michael, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael was knowledgeable on issues encountered in my case and offered sound input and advice. With his input throughout the case and representation in court I feel the outcome for myself and kids was excellent.

  8. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My son was going through a painful divorce initiated by the woman. The couple has one young child. We researched and interviewed several lawyers. Michael O'Brien gave us the most confidence. He followed through on every issue. Michael understands the priorities in a divorce case and is not distracted by the "ranting" that came from the opposing attorney. By sticking to what is important, he was able to present my son's case in the best interests of the child. The result was a fair decision for both my son and his ex spouse. I would highly recommend Michael.

  9. Review of Mr. O'Brien in re: child custody case

    Posted by Benjamin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Brien was to the point on all subjects, kept me well informed and did not mince words. His expectations were realistic and I was at no point made to feel I should expect more than what was discussed.

  10. Very helpful, realistic, and knowledgeable

    Posted by Martin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael O'Brien.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been working with Michael almost continuously for the past 3 years on a series of extremely frustrating child custody, child support, and decision making cases. He has a lot of experience and always explains the reality of the situation we're looking at, never sugar coating anything. He seems well respected by the other lawyers in Fort Collins, and has at times urged me to negotiate, and at others to finish the case in court.

    During the time I've had Michael representing me, I feel like all of the outcomes have been close to the best that I could have hoped for.

    With my *PREVIOUS ATTORNEY*, I often felt like I wasn't getting the attention I was paying for, and actually ended up getting completely blindsided in court because of a lack of preparation. With Michael, I've *NEVER* felt unprepared or ignored.

    I will admit that it took me a little time to get used to his personality, as he is somewhat gruff and to the point. If you think about it though, when you're paying for a lawyer's time, isn't that really what you want?

    I highly recommend Michael for any family law issues.