James H. Chalat’s Reviews

James H. Chalat

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Caring and Powerful Representation

    Posted by Tom,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Chalat.

    Jim and his partner led us through a difficult process of having to sue a ski resort for injuries my son received on lift accident. Jim was kind to us throughout the process and guided us every step of the way. He is highly effective and knows the ski law. His credibility forced the other side to take us seriously. I would highly recommend Jim.

  2. Costco Bagel Case

    Posted by Nancy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.

    A personal injury case requires an expert in the field who knows the law, has the class and reputation to have credibility with the Court and the insurance defendants, and the patience and compassion to deal with the client who has suffered physical and emotional damages. Jim epitomizes all of these qualities.

  3. Jim Chalat (and Firm) -- Outstanding In Every Way!

    Posted by Katie, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was a Broadway performer, injured on the ski slopes of Aspen while on vacation -- one day seemingly on top of the world, the next day without a leg to stand on. With a limb and career in tatters, Jim Chalat (and his wife Linda and their firm) gave me a powerful legal leg to stand on and so very much more. From the first moment we connected, they handled my long-distance case with skill, passion, compassion, acute understanding of the law, flawless attention to detail, and a manner that was both personal yet impeccably professional. The positive outcome my case (which went to trial) received can be directly attributed to their hard work, foresight, perseverance, and great skill. Jim is a leader, a talented one, not just of an excellent law firm, or in a courtroom handling a case, but he is a leader in his field. Tested through time, Jim Chalat is outstanding in every way and I recommend him without reservation.

  4. Wonderful Attorney

    Posted by Donald, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Chalat helped me with sound advice and went out of his way to assist me even when the problem was no longer in his speciality. He has excellent character traits and I highly recommend him.

  5. Penelope O'Hara client of James Chalat

    Posted by Penelope, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    An excellent attorney. At our initial meeting, Mr. Chalet explained everything slowly,clearly,and thoroughly. He kept us informed every step of the way. He was thoroughly prepared when we arrived in court, again taking the time to make certain I understood everything about the proceedings. His courtroom demeanor and presentation was flawless.

  6. Great First Lawyer

    Posted by Ashley, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Referred from a friend and was not disappointed at all. Always kept me updated with everything going on in my case.

  7. Jim Chalat

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jim Chalat represented me in a ski accident case. I was very impressed with the service I received. He and his associates are very knowledgeable regarding the ski law in Colorado.

  8. Michelle Sutch

    Posted by Michelle, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jim Chalat represented me in a personal injury case that was settled with an insurance company in 2009. I found Jim to be knowledgable about the case law involved in my case and he understood the specifics of my situation very well. I liked that he made a point of coming to meet my family and I in person (we live in North Carolina and he is based in Colorado).

  9. A Great Attorney!

    Posted by Jim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We have had a professional relationship with Jim Chalat for nearly 30 years. Early on, he handled some very touchy issues in court with great skill and sensitivity. At numerous times over the years his counsel on both personal and legal matters has been invaluable. Jim is an individual with a high degree of integrity, legal skill, and personal ethics, and is, without question, one of the finest attorneys we have known.

  10. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Shel, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Chalat.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He took a difficult ski accident case and had excellent expert witnesses
    keeping me informed about the stategy as events unfolded. We received a quite favorable outcome. He is personable and efficient. I would not hesitate to use him again.