David C Colt’s Reviews

David C Colt

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Robert,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Colt.

    Had a speeding ticket coming off a 6% grade, doing 20 over in a commercial vehicle...
    Not only was the violation a disqualifying offfense, it was also 30 points on my CSA, that could have cost my job.
    David fought it for me & got it dismissed & then I was able to successfully challenge CSA...
    His fees are reasonable & communication was excellent.

  2. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I received a careless driving ticket a few months ago. This carries a 4 point misdemeanor criminal record penalty if convicted. This was enough to warrant hiring an attorney in my book. I went online to find traffic attorney's nearby and called a few; some didn't answer, another sounded annoyed by my questions. Then I emailed Mr. Colt with my situation. Within minutes he called me back, asked about the events of the ticket and then told me the possible outcomes and what he would do for me. He was professional, polite and most importantly he calmed me down because I was so worried and upset over a possible criminal record. Over a two month period I sent Mr. Colt several email questions to which he always responded to either by email or telephone in less than an hour (during normal working hours). Mr. Colt went to bat for me and met with the prosecutor to plea my ticket down to 2 points thus avoiding a criminal charge and record. Another great thing about Mr. Colt is that he charged me a one time fee that was very reasonable and WORTH EVERY PENNY. If you find yourself facing a possible criminal charge do yourself a favour and retain an attorney. I have no regrets in retaining Mr. Colt.

  3. Professional, courteous and knowledgeable

    Posted by Eric, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I got a speeding ticket in Denver a couple of months ago. I had never been pulled over before, let alone received a traffic ticket. However the ticket I was facing was worth 10 points on my license, so I decided to retain the services of a lawyer to negotiate for a lower point value. I was hoping to get the ticket to at least 6 points, 4 if possible. After talking with several lawyers, David was one of the few that stood out as courteous and genuinely interested in providing me with a reasonable outcome. Beforehand, he provided a detailed explanation of the process using his great knowledge of the Denver traffic court. He recommended that I aim for 4 points and settle for 6 if the prosecutor was unwilling to budge. He did a great job interviewing me and presenting my case to the prosecutor and judge without my presence. In the end, I got my ticket reduced to 6 points. I would recommend David to anyone with a speeding ticket.

  4. Very fine person and lawyer

    Posted by Antonio, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Really did a good job. I think he got a far better outcome then I ever expected. I will use him again and have recommended him to my friends.

  5. Helped Me Out of a Jam!

    Posted by Daniel, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have a CDL and I got a ticket that would have ended my job. I am glad I hired this attorney. He got my ticket dismissed becasue the officer did not do his job, and he was the best price of the attorneys I called. One that I called would not even talk to me unless I sent him money first but not Mr. Colt. He was upfront with me, listened, and he turned out real good. Five stars to him! *****

  6. Very Highly Recommended

    Posted by Robert, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you find yourself in need of a traffic lawyer, I recommend David Colt very highly. He is extremely knowledgeable about traffic laws and the ins and outs of the courts - even the differences between various jurisdictions and judges. He gave excellent advice and kept me informed throughout the process. First of all, follow the law to the letter (a lesson I learned the hard way!), but if you do make a mistake or an ill-advised decision, you DO need a lawyer; don't think you can represent yourself. Mr. Colt succeeded in getting one charge dropped and the other fine significantly reduced. All in all, the consequences weren't nearly as severe as they could have been - and lesson learned!

  7. I recommend this attorney.

    Posted by domi, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I recommend this attorney. I am from out-of-state and he helped me and did a great job. Highly recommended. I will refer you to others.

  8. A VERY GOOD RECOMMENDATION, A JOB WELL DONE!

    Posted by Ryan, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I can recommend this attorney very strongly! He helped me on my case and I appreciate what he did. He explained everything to me and went to court. He was affordable and knew what he was doing. I would use him again. Ryan

  9. If you need an attorney, Mr. Colt is a good choice

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was invovled in an accident and I needed lots of good legal advice. David Colt helped me and did what he said he was going to do. My case turned out good. I am happy with his professionalism.

  10. I thank Dave Colt for helping me

    Posted by Greg, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Colt.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He keep me informed on my case and almost always returned my calls the same day. I recommend the attorney.