Michael James Wink’s Reviews

Michael James Wink

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Worthy, not worthless.

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Made me feel comfortable immediately, didn't judge or act superior to me. Had a good sense of humor and kept things relaxed. Although I know bankruptcy is a very serious subject, the husband and wife team of Wink and Wink make things less stressful throughout the entire process. I would recommend them to anyone struggling with the idea of bankruptcy. You don't feel "worthless" when you leave their office, you feel informed.

  2. Great Bankruptcy Attorney

    Posted by Beverley, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Mike Wink is a great person he explained everything to me very clearly so I was able to choose the right bankruptcy for me. His staff was very polite and helpful with any questions or concerns that I had. I would recommend Wink & Wink to anyone who is confused and frightened of the process of bankruptcy they made it all very easy for me.

  3. Mike is cutting edge, he stood up for our family effectively and saved our financial future. Thank you! Mike.

    Posted by Erick, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mike saved us our home, we now have a savings plan (we are contributing 5%-10% of our income monthly towards each of our 401K retirement -- that was impossible before meeting with Mike Wink), our direct monthly out of pocket costs have dropped significantly, we were able to get the second mortgage removed (so we will likely a ton of have equity in 5 years - hopefully if the market continues on it's current path). So professesional and truly effective & empathetic.

  4. Just puts you further into debt

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael was impressive in the beginning but that was all. I discovered he was making me do a lot of the work myself yet charging me a very exuberant fee. He would email me to tell me he would be calling on a certain day and time and never follow through. I would call him the next day and there was always some lame excuse as to why he missed calling me AND he would charge me for MY call. Obviously MY time is not valuable but his is. Both he and his paralegal would screw up documents and I would point out the errors and AGAIN I was charged for the screw up time, my calling to point it out, and the time to it took them to fix it. In the end, Michael ended up charging me close to $10, 000 in attorney fees and my Chapter 13 monthly payments are actually higher than what I was paying out to creditors before the filing. I don't dare call him or email him any more for fear he will tack on more money to the bottom $ figure of my bankruptcy. So any thing that comes up, I once again have to handle on my own.

    1. Michael James Wink

      Michael Wink

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am very sorry this anonymous commenter was unsatisfied with my representation. However, Chapter 13 cases--especially for high income filers--can be very complex with multiple objections from the Chapter Trustee’s office and creditors. Unfortunately, there are cases where expectations can be out of line with reality. I do my best to set realistic expectations for my clients, and I also strive to give the highest level of customer service—including giving my personal cell phone number to all my clients. -Michael Wink

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. excellent bankruptcy and business knowledge

    Posted by Darrell, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    tremendous help with my nonstop confusing case... past business dealings made my case a little complex to begin with. Wink and Wink got the best possible outcome for my circumstance!!!

  6. Wonderful Experience!!!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As a person who has an impatient personality, it was so refreshing to have an attorney that answers emails quickly and pretty much answered the phone every single time I made a call. Bankruptcy is not an easy decision, but I felt I had an attorney who was genuinely on my side. Mike handled my case efficiently and I couldn’t have asked for better service. Thank you Wink and Wink!!

  7. Bankruptcy Demystified -

    Posted by David, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mike not only expertly solved some complex aspects of my bankruptcy, he and his firm provided every kind of support I needed to get through bankruptcy. I only wish I had sought his counsel sooner. I felt guilty and defeated by my financial problems. Wink & Wink listened and more importantly showed me how to act and take control again. Throughout the entire process they were responsive, professional, and unfailingly courteous.

  8. just starting.....

    Posted by candace, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Have my second meeting with Mike this coming week; very nervous but to date, Mike has been very informative, responsive and fair. Will review after all papers filed to see what my opinion is after submittal. So far though, very impressed!!!

  9. Bankruptcy made easy

    Posted by Bob, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Michael was totally awesome. He charged me exactly what he told me and never tried to invoice for more money. My BK was a very difficult job because we had to close my company, open up a new company and discharge all me debt all at the same time. Michael was always available when I had questions and his staff was unbelievably nice to me. I really appreciate Michael's help through this whole process.

  10. Excellent advice that resulted in a painless bankruptcy

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Wink.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had spoken with other attorneys prior to contracting with Mike Wink, and choosing him was definitely one of my better financial decisions.

    My bankruptcy was not straightforward. I was filing for a personal bankruptcy, but also had two businesses, one of which was going under. Mike was the only attorney I spoke with that understood how a bankruptcy would affect my LLC businesses, and vice versa. He helped to wind down one of the businesses prior to filing, and he advised me on the best way to manage the finances of my other business so that I would fly under the radar. And, he didn't charge extra for dealing with business creditors!

    Because of Mike's advice on waiting a few months to collect receivables before filing, we saved thousands of dollars. He also provided sound advice on the benefits of Chapter 7 vs Chapter 13, and we sailed through everything.

    I especially like the blog on his website. It is very educational, regardless of whether you are in financial trouble.